We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
49
14
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
14
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We had no idea when we booked Dar Mia exactly what awaited us upon our arrival. We were expecting a clean and well-situated pied-à-terre in the medina and nearly fainted when we entered into what is best described as a palatial and lovingly restored traditional home in the best location in Fes.

I am not one to be overly effusive in a review of a vacation rental, but "palatial" accurately describes this house and here's why: Both the first and second floor ceilings are wooden beamed and at least 25 feet high, with centuries old wooden doors to match. The proscenium of the interior courtyard is lined with hand painted plaster "dentelle" reliefs with mosaic tile pretty much everywhere else, including the largest (functioning) house fountain I have ever seen, again at least 25 feet high. You will also find tastefully arranged traditional Moroccan brass lamps throughout the home. Can you tell I like the owner's attention to detail, tradition and design?

Moving on to more objective matters, we found the beds to be comfortable, the kitchen well appointed, the living room, bathrooms and terrace all to be more than inviting. The terrace has knockout views of Fes in my humble opinion. The location of Dar Mia is truly ideal - you are less than a 5 minutes walk from the R'Cif square which is quite literally the closest you can get by car (and by foot) to the central artery of the medina, including most of the major historical sights. And you will pass by an excellent food and produce market on your walk with Zakariyae from the taxi drop off to the house, which means you have an abundance of food shopping options very close to home.

Speaking of Zakariyae, ("Zach") he is a tremendous asset for the Dar and for you. Born and raised in Fes, he can and will provide you with everything you need to know, starting with a history and description of Dar Mia and the differences between a house and a riad. He hooked us up with a very capable guide for our first full day in Fes and was around and able to answer any questions we had. Dar Mia is the perfect choice for a small family or small group of friends traveling together, as it is a house (with shared bath). There is an adjoining masseria (smaller guest house) that is also available and while smaller, it's still beautiful and much more than what most would expect to find in the way of a vacation rental in Fes.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeTroubadour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sutraParis, Propriétaire at Dar Mia, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thanks a lot !

I'll just resume your keywords :
' palatial and lovingly restored traditional home in the best location in Fes'
'owner's attention to detail, tradition and design'
'objective matters : comfortable beds', 'well appointed kitchen' , ' rooms more than inviting', 'terrace has knockout views (...)
' location of Dar Mia is truly ideal
'abundance of food shopping options very close to home'
'Z is a tremendous asset for the Dar and for you.

Dear guest, I am 100% in agreement with your conclusion : 'Dar Mia is the perfect choice for a small family or small group of friends traveling together'
'There is an adjoining 'Masriya Mia' (smaller guest house) that is also available and while smaller, it's still beautiful and much more than what most would expect to find in the way of a vacation rental in Fes'

...An advertising agency would not be more efficient...!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

the riad is very nice, traditonal, unique, clean, tidy, spacious and fun!
the manager and the maid is very helpful
the food ordered are very nice
the location is good, very close to the main exit,
the manager pick us up at the taxi station and only a short walk can reach the house
many rooms, can use the laundry, can cook yourself...very leisure environment
I would strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisdeanzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sutraParis, Propriétaire at Dar Mia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Following a very wonderful trip in the Sahara desert, not so far indeed, you came and had a rest in my riad and spent a nice time in Fes.
You could realize that our accommodation offer - though strictly traditional in its design - is suitable for all foreigners, whatever country they come from( Islamic countries, Americas, Europa, Australia, Asia or China).
And I acknowledge that Chinese citizen are fully welcome in our house...!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We've found this little oasis by recommendation of a friend. We stayed a full week in this lovely Dar (dar=house) in the center of the Medina. The first time the housekeeper, Zackariyae will come to Place R'Sif and pick you up, otherwise you'll never find it!
Dar Mia has 4 very nice rooms, and we used 3 of them. Actually we had the whole house for ourselves. It's very quite, once you enter, you would not say your in the middle of hectic Fes. The bathrooms are shared, and maybe that is why the owner only rents it to groups. There is one bathroom with a small bath, and the other has a shower.
The couple that bought the house has restored it with patience and with love, and that is what you see. It will add something very special to your trip if you decide to stay in such a wonderfull house.

If you ask, Amina can cook for you. They will do the shoppings and prepare everything. Once you're home all you'll have to do is to heat it, and enjoy the meal. It's easy, tasty, and will save you a lot of money too.
The kitchen is fully equipped, and you can use it to make your own meal too. It even has a dishwasher! There are not many restaurants within walking distance.
The housekeeper, a boy called Zakariyae, is very service-minded. He'll show you directions, and will recommend you restaurants, if you ask so.
We liked his tip for the restaurant "Chez Rachid" which is located near Bab Bou Jeloud!
Zakariyae can arrange transport for you by Aziz, a reliable taxidriver Aziz can pick you up at the airport too.
Overall we liked to stay in Dar Mia very much!
Our own small palace........we will never forget it! If we ever return to Fes, we will choose this accomodation again.We liked the small touches, and the decorations all in Moroccan style.

The breakfast is served on the roof terrace with wonderfull views over the medina. It's quite simple, but enough. It is served with minttea, coffee and (chocolate) milk.
I would surely recommed this hotel to everybody who wants a great expience in an old authentic Morroccan house.
And I want to thank Zakariyae, Amina and Aziz for all there help to make our week fantastic!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boschvertrekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sutraParis, Propriétaire at Dar Mia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012
Google Translation

Vous nous remerciez...mais c'est nous qui vous devons tout.
D'une part votre présence contribue à maintenir cette magnifique demeure du 17ème siècle rénovée, en bon état, et d'autre part vous permettez à notre petite équipe de vivre, et de faire vivre plusieurs familles marocaines.
Bien sûr, vous n'oublierez pas cette expérience unique, mais c'est nous qui tenons à vous remercier pleinement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

This riad is just amazing! Honestly it is the nicest apartment we have ever stayed in. As we travel three times a year we have had some experience with different places.
Our host was great. He was always there for us, organized dinner, breakfast, offered us great guide for day in Fez medina and took us to hammam. This was the best apartment for us in Morocco. Like a palace- third floor terrace, second floor great beadrooms and fist floor dining room, kitchen and place just to hang out. It looks way way better than pictures. Highly recomend!
Thank you Dar Mia ;)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenAdamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sutraParis, Propriétaire at Dar Mia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2011

You're welcome.
Your compliments, sincerely, make us proud and happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Dar Mia is, simply put, a special place to stay and relax within the old walled city of Fes. The owners have carefully renovated an old town house nestled on a tiny alley that rises up four stories around a central court stunningly decorated with tiles, plasterwork and exquisitely carved cedar. Everything is comfortable, from the living room with its long inviting couches to the four bedrooms, especially the two very grand, high-ceilinged bedrooms on the top floor. Then there is the roof deck, which affords sweeping views to the south and east. And the kitchen, where we cooked a great deal and made use of the best food markets in the city nearby at R'cif. Dar Mia's location is perfect. You are near the Bab R'cif, which means that taxis to get in and out of the labyrinthine medina are less than ten minutes away. Very convenient for the Sacred Music Festival, or simply going to other parts of Fes. Yet, you are right near the R'cif market as well as the main mosque and wonderful souks.
The staff are also part of Dar Mia's attraction. Zakariye was especially helpful with everything from negotiating the market to travel arrangements. Amina produced breakfast and cleaned daily. We augmented her breakfasts (fresh orange juice, tea and breads wit jams) with fresh fruit, eggs and yoghurt purchased from the market. The guides and drivers who work with Dar Mia were excellent. If you want your own beautiful house in the heart of the Fes Medina you could not do better than Dar Mia.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sutraParis, Propriétaire at Dar Mia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Many thanks for your nice opinion !
You did understood the whole spirit of our goal : to offer a nice stay in a unique place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews