We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday with baby”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Club Med Agadir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Agadir
Ranked #9 of 77 Hotels in Agadir
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great holiday with baby”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We just got back from a great 10 day holiday in Club Med Agadir. It was our second Club Med holiday since we had our baby who is now almost 1 year old. GO staff was very enthousiastic and helpful, there was enough to do (sports or just relax around the pool), food was great.
The best thing for us was the Baby club med. With mixed feelings we left our baby there the first day, nervous about how it would go. But Isa and her team were so well equipped (numerous staff), so warm, helpful, interested and friendly, that our confidence was there after the first day and became bigger during the week. They do so many nice things with the children, sportive and creative, and so enthousiastically it was fantastic. We could therefore really take our own time, read a book peacefully, take some golflessons while our daughter had a beautiful playground and superb attention.
All other baby facilities were also great as always at Club Med, fresh cooked baby food in the restaurant twice a day, always enough baby chairs, a baby snackcorner opened 24hrs a day and always well filled everything a parent could wish for for a holiday without worries.
What we liked a bit less in this Club is that 80% of the people were quite old and some really really old. I have nothing against old people and they were friendly, but for us it would have been nicer if there were more young couples with babies like us. We asked about this and it seems that Agadir is well known to older people, who come here since 30 years and feel like a tradition to return here especially to go play golf.
An important recommendation from us to this club is the service in the restaurant. The waiters (all middle aged men) were very friendly, but not pro active. You had to ask for wine all the time, while I would expect a waiter to come up to you and ask if you want some wine (we are use to this in other clubs). Another thing that was worse is that they were very very slow in cleaning the tables after people left the table so you could not sit anywhere if many people already finished eating. This process looked extremely slow and inefficient. Next to that it was inconvenient, the sight of all the dirty tables does not really encourage your appetite.
So this was actually our only point of critic, but important.
It was a great holiday and we will definitely book a club med holiday again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Agadir, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Agadir Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your family had a good time, and that you enjoyed the way your baby has been welcomed in the Baby Club. We are really happy to read that you found our Baby Club Staff dedicated, trustworthy and friendly, and that it enabled you to take your own time without concerns.

We would also like to thank you for your comments regarding the service in the restaurant. It is only with constructive criticism such as yours that Club Med will be able to improve the standard of its offer. We can assure you that those comments have been forwarded to the relevant departments within our organisation for their perusal.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our Resorts.

Kind Regards,

Your Club Med UK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,021
    1,044
    317
    135
    59
See reviews for
1,280
461
272
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
99 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

My husband is a golfer and I love tennis. We both enjoy a lot the Club Med in Agadir. Training and matches in the morning for me , 18 holes for him, lunch, beach. Perfect ! 3 hours flight from our old Europe , no jet lag. What else would you ask for? The team of the club is nice and does its best.Of course some people like to criticizes, it could be better if..., it used to be better before, food could be better ... Well the formula remains perfect if you like a mix of sport, socializing , rest and night dances if you wish . Instead of criticizing people should enjoy their time and their holidays !

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Londra_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Agadir, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Great Member,

Thank you very much for writing this great and positive review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Agadir Club Med Resort. We are very happy to see that you and your husband enjoyed practising Tennis and Golf in the morning with our well trained G.O.s, and resting on the beach in the afternoon after a great lunch!

We hope to see you again soon in one of our Resorts.

Kind Regards,

Your Club Med UK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

As previous comments have clearly attested, Club Med Agadir is by no means the crown jewel of the world famous franchise. In some respects this resort would be lucky to be called "Camp Med" if properly rated with other Club Meds. To be fair, it is the oldest Club Med in the world, operates at nearly full capacity year round, and is in an environment challenging for even routine maintenance, much less a full remodeling. That said, it operates fairly successfully despite these challenges and even excels in some areas as every Club Med must.

Let's start with the positive. The beachside setting is beautiful as are the pristinely cultivated grounds. The architecture, although only modestly adorned with classic Moroccan features so as to distinguish it from concrete bunkers, works well with the collection of garden rooms and suites that populate the large compound. It's a good layout that offers a sense of privacy for every group of suites in every unique garden.

We found the food at the open buffet during the entire week to be outstanding -- a tribute to the Club's and Morocco's French heritage. Breakfast was the consistent exception to this, which was ordinary at best, but perhaps most Club Med visitors would not count breakfast as a real meal anyway. The daily menus varied sufficiently to make them interesting and nearly everything tasted freshly made. The daily specials, of which there were 2 or 3 at every meal, were exceptional and every evening featured a "themed" menu of regional or international cuisine. House wines were always Moroccan and actually quite good. On balance, the food was 4+ stars in quality, selection and taste.

Another plus was the staff, which was, almost without fail, approaching Disneyland-level in their constant friendly and courteous demeanors despite occasional language barrier problems. Also, the selection of programs and range of facilities was impressive, particularly for children. As for services and equipment, all of the essentials were easily available and working, although perhaps not always at a standard of excellence expected from Club Med.

Now, for the areas for improvement... Upon our arrival we were offered no tour of the large compound and no printed information about the facilities or programs of activities during our stay. They did not even provide us a map to help us navigate. Many things we did not discover until nearly the end of our visit. No one explained to us how to make purchases at the Club not covered by the all-inclusive booking (which require a Club Med card), and of the deluxe rooms we were shown, only one was actually available. Even the upgrade we were offered turned out to be unavailable in the end. In any event, despite the apparent management problems, our deluxe room was adequate for our needs.

Although our room was small for a "deluxe," it was nicely appointed with Moroccan fixtures, architectural touches and handicrafts, but it was the small details that took it from shabby chic to just shabby. Torn cushions, poorly fitted drapes, broken tiles and electrical fixtures, and damaged furniture, not to mention the pest control problems – ants and roaches -- combined to rob the room of any rustic charm. I do have to admit, however, that the bed was quite good. Our very nice cleaning lady was as helpful as she could be with the pests, but it seemed nearly impossible to get our minibar stocked or toiletries replaced regularly. We learned in our desperate hunt for instant coffee, for example, that such things were kept under lock and key and only one person had the key, so it was nearly impossible to get it stocked daily.

The age of the 1965 complex shows, but the lack of proper external maintenance makes many of the aging buildings seem even older. Minor architectural improvements, more attention to painting, and regular replacement of rusting fixtures and broken tiles could make a big difference. Similarly, many of the so-called amenities needed substantial updating. For example, the antiquated washing machines and outdated fitness equipment should be replaced, and the primitive Wi-Fi, only available in the bar and which barely operates at a dial-up speed, definitely need upgrading. Also, it is unclear why optional services offered on the compound, such as the spa, recreational and excursion services, must be priced up to 10 times the rates offered just outside the gate. Many visitors considered this among the most serious problems. Many believe the quality is no different and the outside services are easier to book. During our stay the majority of visitors seemed to be divided between young families and retirees, although a number of hip 30 and 40 somethings were out and about as well.

Would we come back and recommend it to friends in spite of the shortcomings? Probably, but with some appropriate warnings. It does not seem to deserve to be a three trident Club Med, but the friendly staff, good food, beautiful grounds, and family friendly environment make it a reasonably good value and, overall, an enjoyable stay. We had the good fortune to make some new friends there as well.

Room Tip: No matter what kind of room you book in advance, ask to see other rooms before you settle in. Avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank salazarej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Agadir, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Great Member,

We would like to thank you warmly for writing this detailed and well-informed review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Agadir Club Med Resort.

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the quality and variety of the food, our staff friendliness and involvement, and the family friendly environment of our Resort.

On the other hand, we would like to inform you that your constructive comments in respect of the lack of information, the problems in your room, the lack of external maintenance and the cost of non-included activities have been taken most seriously and forwarded to the relevant departments within our organisation for their attention.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our Resorts.

Kind Regards,

Your Club Med UK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

We went here on our 1st Club Med holiday together with our two boys aged 1.5 and 3. We arrived in February not really knowing what to expect. Our two boys were booked into the baby and mini club respectively. Unfortunately neither were quite interested in the clubs, but the facilities for the children and the level of supervision was excellent. This left us with the two for most of the week. This was the only slight negative. If they were a little older it would have been great for them. In relation to everything else, we couldnt find fault, the quality of food was excellent throughout the week and the effort made at the evenings entertainment and various theme nights was fantastic. They were non intrusive but very entertaining and really made you feel like the staff were making great efforts on each night. There was a great atmosphere there we felt. We all had limited enough french, but most staff could assist and we never found it a difficulty.

If you want a spanking new modern hotel/resort then this is not for you, if you want a break in a resort that is spotless, has character, some french/african charm and warm weather this is for you. We were extremely slow initially to roam out of the resort, but by the end of the week we were happily walking along the promenade which was at that time very safe, but clearly you need to be aware you are in Africa and when given friendly offers of being shown one thing or another - just be sure to refuse their offer kindly!

We would return without hesitation again but perhaps when the kids were a little older or if you had children who are used to creches. It was nice to be back in Africa.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Agadir, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Agadir Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your family had a good time and that you enjoyed our staff dedication, the quality of the food and the variety of the evening entertainment and parties.

Although you wrote that the facilities and level of supervision of the Kids' Clubs were excellent, we are sorry to read that your two sons did not really enjoy the Childrens' Clubs. We can assure you that we try to offer activities which suit every age category. We will make sure to forward your comments to the Kids Club Managers in our Agadir Resort for their perusal.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our Resorts.

Kind Regards,

Your Club Med UK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
150 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

We've known Agadir since 1999 and we witnessed its slow fall in quality, unfortunately. Once upon a time...it used to be the smartest club of the Club Med. The buffets were fantastic, really good food. Now...it's quite the oposit : tasteless salads, meat, even tajines ! The fruits, especially, are rooten, badly presented (just unloaded on the table called "buffet" and you can choose between aples, grapes, bananas and clementines. That's all folks !
The bread, the pizza and some vegetables are the only tasty food.
The atmosphere is quite dull. They announce events like oriental dance and the GO supposed to do it doesn't show up, the musical program is awful, just some noise (was there any DJ ?).

Yet, in the middle of this you can find a VERY telented young man, JOSS who does hiw best to cheer up the GM. It's a terrible waste that this guy so funny and smart is there and not in a real theater, for a one man show !

It's a pitty for this club, for the people who still work there. WHY such a decline ???? I let the Club Med managers to find the answer.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank VisitorFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agadir hotels
2.2 km away
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
0.4 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
2.3 km away
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Robinson Club Agadir
Robinson Club Agadir
#2 of 77 in Agadir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
#26 of 77 in Agadir
3.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Agadir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Agadir

Property: Club Med Agadir
Address: Route de l_Oued Sous, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Agadir
#10 Family Hotel in Agadir
#12 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Agadir, shielded from the noise of the town, another world thrives, quickened by the rhythm of the day's sports, lulled by the "art de vivre" of Morocco. A world that's brightened by oleanders and scented by eucalyptus, where parents and children meet around the infinity pool to share the day's adventures, their exploits on the tennis courts, the golf course, or just a ride along the beach. The Village's medina-style lead you down to Club Med Spa* for an invigorating treatment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Club Med Agadir Hotel Agadir
Agadir Club Med

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing