We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch/dinner spot ”
Review of Down the Hatch

Down the Hatch
Ranked #77 of 1,032 Restaurants in Maui
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Description: Down the Hatch - A Place to Eat Fish has the best seafood around, featuring locally sourced Fresh Fish. We pride ourselves on our Fish n' Chips, Mahi Mahi Tacos, and Ahi dishes.
Restaurant details
Description: Down the Hatch - A Place to Eat Fish has the best seafood around, featuring locally sourced Fresh Fish. We pride ourselves on our Fish n' Chips, Mahi Mahi Tacos, and Ahi dishes.
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

This place is awesome! It’s a great lunch/dinner spot if you’re looking for a quick and decently priced meal. It’s open air dining and staff of very friendly. Very cool environment in the middle of a few stores. We loved it so much we ate there twice on our trip! My husband loved his burger and the tuna melt and the crab and lobster stuffed grilled cheese are to die for. And upgrading to the mermaid fries is a must!

Thank Jillian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caleb H, General Manager at Down the Hatch, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Aloha Jillian,

Thanks for the review! This review is awesome! We are so good you found us a good value and thought we were friendly. Fresh Ahi tuna melt is my favorite too! Thanks again for the love.

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Me and my husband made this one of the first stops of our trip, and boy did we not regret that. We had the fish tacos and even tried the chicken ones. Both tacos were amazing! Very big and filling. The fish was so fresh and tender it melted in your mouth.

The ambiance was also such a great part of this place. It’s outdoor and they had a gentleman named Bryan playing live music and he was awesome! Just adding to the perfect lunch! We will visit here every time we come to Maui.

Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caleb H, General Manager at Down the Hatch, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Richard,

Thanks for the review! You and your husband have fantastic taste! Thanks for the musician shout out too! We look forward to serving you on your future visits here.

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

This is a good place. We really enjoyed our food. The service was great; you order at the counter the food/drink is brought to the table. It is a fn place to try. The calamari is fantastic. Wow.

Thank Victor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caleb H, General Manager at Down the Hatch, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Aloha Victor,

Thanks for the review! We are so glad you enjoyed the calamari and thanks again for the recommendation.

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

This place is perfect and right in the middle of the action. Located in the center court of the lahaina outdoor mall, with live music! The food was good and the atmosphere was fantastic. Highly recommend for lunch or diiner!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caleb H, General Manager at Down the Hatch, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Aloha David,

Thanks for the review! We are so glad you appreciated our charming little abode and live music. Also, thanks for the recommendation, we have pretty rocking breakfast too!

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

Since the famous Guy Fieri was showcasing this place, I decided to drive to Lahaina to check it out. It’s an easy process to order your food, take a number and sit at the table outdoors. It’s on the bottom floor and have a love,t bar area. We were gifted with entertainment. He was a guitar player and a very good singer. I selected a lovely salad. It was called SUMMER STRAWBERRY SPINACH SALAD which consisted of
spinach, strawberries, goat cheese, macnuts, pickled red onions, balsamic vinaigrette. The salad portion was very generous. It was a wonderful combination. Another guest had GRILLED FISH SALAD with seared ahi tuna, spinach, wasabi aioli, mango salsa, red onions, tomato, sprouts, balsamic vinaigrette. Another Winner. The coconut shrimp was also delicious. It’s worth a trip to Lahaina, Maui.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GrammyJ43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caleb H, General Manager at Down the Hatch, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Aloha Grammy,

Thanks for the review! We are so glad you stopped by and enjoyed our fresh garden salad and our fresh fish. Thanks again for the love.

Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Down the Hatch also viewed

 

Been to Down the Hatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing