We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood and more”
Review of Abel Brown

Abel Brown
Reserve with OpenTable
Abel Brown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 524 Restaurants in Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$27
Description: Abel Brown is a southern kitchen & oyster bar nestled in Surrey Center in Augusta, Ga. The name, much like our menu, is a nod to and celebration of our blended cultural roots. Authentic, yet refined, our ingredient-driven dishes are prepared and served with thought and respect. We pair clean and modern Southern cuisine with the charm & tradition reserved for high company.
Restaurant details
Description: Abel Brown is a southern kitchen & oyster bar nestled in Surrey Center in Augusta, Ga. The name, much like our menu, is a nod to and celebration of our blended cultural roots. Authentic, yet refined, our ingredient-driven dishes are prepared and served with thought and respect. We pair clean and modern Southern cuisine with the charm & tradition reserved for high company.
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Friends I was visiting took us to this restaurant. I had oysters in every kind of way for the first time in my life....I thought they were great! Wait time to sit down on a Saturday night wasn't bad at all...15 min?? Wait staff were wonderful and very accommodating. Knowledgable regarding wines and beers. I also had gnocchi which was fantastic. A little on the pricey side, but worth checking out at least once. Would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bostonbeans01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 164 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2016

Abel Brown was a great experience for us. Although it was not what we were expecting as far as a "classic seafood" experience, it was absolutely delightful nonetheless. We walked in planning for a night of good seafood. We left after a night of great seafood, but it was packed full of flavors that we were not expecting. We were disappointed a bit when both the oysters Rockefeller and broiled oysters were covered in Parmesan and Asiago cheeses respectively. These are both incredibly potent cheeses and the kitchen staff could have used a bit more restraint when accenting such a delicate bite like an oyster. We also had two of the specials for our entrees, the scallops with beluga lentils and the tuna steak with bok choy. These plates were delicious. When we order a tuna steak, we expect a delicate sesame seed rub with light flavors, etc. This one caught us blind-sided with large, bold Asian flavors. There was a true confidence in the chef that created this dish. It is so easy to over power such a beautiful fish, but the chef took this challenge and really accomplished an unexpected twist on a great cut of tuna.

Throughout the night, Evan our server, was an incredible help. Although we selected our own bottle of wine, Evan told us exactly why it would pair perfectly with our dishes. He was very knowledgeable about the menu and about wine pairings. When it was time for dessert, he brought us our choice of port but then added just a sip of a different port that we immediately wished we had chosen. He was a great addition to our adventure at Abel Brown. We highly recommend this restaurant. It is a risky, although confident twist on classic dishes and we were happily surprised with our time at Abel Brown.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Micanda1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

The visit is worth it alone as long as you get the broiled oysters with jalapeño lime butter. Ridiculously good. Lots of great seasonal specials as well. Entrees are solid but sometimes are overshadowed with how good the appetizers/oysters are. As long as the Chocolate croissant bread pudding stays on the dessert menu you'll always have a winner there. Excellent and knowledgeable service too.

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank mhaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2016 via mobile

Me and a group of girls went on a Wednesday night. When we arrived at 6 it was empty by 7 it was a restaurant FULL. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about wine and helpful also with our dinner selection. Service was great even with a full house. I had the steak which was perfectly cooked. The shrimp and grits was plated very odd and was OK. Someone else ordered Lamb which was a little tough but the Manger came by and asked how everthing was and had no problem fixing the issue. Overall it was a good experience.

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank Ebony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2016

First time going.Really enjoyed everything.Lot nicer than what I expected.Thought it was more of an oyster bar.They do have a raw bar and really good oysters but it is a lot more.I had the smoked ribeye that was excellent The croissant chocolate bread pudding was fantastic. An overall great experience.
Mark Weinberger

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Abel Brown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing