We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a Handful Juicy Burgers”
Review of Catch 22 Gastropub

Catch 22 Gastropub
Ranked #22 of 452 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 12 September 2018

We stopped for a lunch around noon on a weekday. The restaurant was very busy. We were seated immediately and Jasmine provided drinks and menus shortly thereafter. We ordered burgers with the potato salad. Food came out quickly. Service was outstanding. Food was very good. Only negative is that the strange melamine-like plates are becoming worn and scratched. We will go back.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FredL757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Conviently located on the popular Epps Bridge Pwy in Athens Ga you have the option to dine in or outdoors. Domestic beer selection is limited however many choices of craft beer as well as wine choices. Varied food selection with great appetizers. Always very friendly service and always good food.very moderately priced.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

The tuna is off the hook!!! Fries are amazing!! Looked like a great variety of draft beer as well. Excellent service. I’ll be back!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank bltroll8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

Billed as a gastropub, Catch 22 is the comfortable marriage of grog & grub. Coming through the front door, the words "neighborhood hangout" immediately comes to mind & all three 'F's' apply: funky, friendly & fun. Decor is pub-like with 4-top booths & high tables with community seating. I'm not much of a beer drinker, so I will let that review to somebody else more versed in matters brewed. There is also an extensive list of straight spirits available.

So let's talk food. We've been here many times (often in groups) & between us have had the opportunity to run the menu a couple of times over. speaking of the menu, I would say that it's a worthy representation of well-known classics & old favorites but with C22's touch, re-assembled with fresh new ingredients & served with an innovative topspin; for instance, the Wasabi Slaw; yes, cabbage, but a wasabi dressing twist that makes this simple side come alive with tasty, robust flavors & a little heat on the finish - definitely not your granny's fish-fry slaw. Overall the menu is the concerted efforts of a kitchen staff that has taken on the challange of keeping simple food simple, but doing so in a way that incorporates a fresh new approach of base ingredients coupled with innovative flavor pairings. Throw in a commitment to scratch-building & the results speak for themselves.

These offerings seem to be what we come back for visit after visit: Starters, Roasted Corn Guac & a huge Pretzel; Burgers, The B.A. (use your imagination here) Burger & definately the Animal Style Burger; Sandwich's, the Clucker, Cubano & for a different take on your childhood favorite, Grilled Cheese. In an OMG classification of their own, Takedown Tacos, Blackened Tuna Sandwich & Peachwood Roasted Wings in honey bourbon habanero toss. There have been other standouts that are not currently shown on the menu: an outrageously good burger with blue cheese crumbles finished with a balsamic drizzle & a green tomato BLT. Both were the stuffs that legends are made of. If either one of them circles around again, order one of each.

At C22, you don't want to overlook the sides either: Bacon Brussels, Bacon Potato Salad, the slaw mentioned earlier & most definitely the Mac. Want to lighten it up? Go to the Pub Salad. I am a french fry freak & never go anywhere but what I don't try an order of fries at least once. Our orders of fries proved to be limp & oil soaked which is unfortunate considering the excellent quality of the potato being used & the unique herb finish.

Service can slow down when the place is slammed, so be patient & remember that this food is being prepared to your order. I promise you that it will be worth the wait. Cheers!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TFdaggar03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

I saw the Meat Sweats event post on FB and drove up from Jacksonville FL to attend. And totally worth it. Richard is an amazing host, does the best thing with his food and overall menu, and has a ridiculously attentive staff! Thank you for putting this together and I look forward to seeing all of your future menu updates!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank StJohnsSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Catch 22 Gastropub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing