We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
138
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his wife rio cangrejal omega tours perfect hosts the river white water rafting outstanding hospitality short walk fresh fruit comfortable rooms place to stay zip lining the owner delicious dinner arrange activities bird song our favorite place
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

I cannot recommend La Villa de Soledad highly enough. The accommodation is beautiful, the views are breathtaking, and the hosts are second to none. Additionally, ‘Soledad’ is truly located just steps away from the trailhead into the forest. 10/10 will visit again.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank jackson s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Thank you Jackson for taking the time to share your experience through the tripadvisor community. We really enjoyed having you at La Villa de Soledad. We will be waiting for your return trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Wonder husband and wife team. Very gracious, hospitable. Clean linen. Plenty of hammocks. Beautiful landscape. Relaxing hideaway walking distance to Rapids, swinging bridge, water falls, and more! I would advise making direct contact with the owners for lodging and transportation.

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank im1free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers in the tripadvisor community. We are indeed well located to give you access to many beautiful sites nearby. Happy to hear you felt at home and liked our linen! We like to make sure there are plenty of hammocks so that there is always one available for our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

Like visiting a friend. John, the property owner picked us up at the ferry terminal in La Ceiba. He shared with us some background about La Ceiba. Once we arrived, it was heaven. The website and facebook page provide the best description and information you need to feel right at home. You are provided with a beautiful breakfast and when you arrive, Soledad greets you with a refreshing fruit drink. We ate at Omega tours down the road, but if you want to make arrangements with John and Soledad for other meals, talk with them. They will work with you. John arranged for a taxi to the airport when we left. He also arranged a guide for us in the park. If you are looking to get away and reconnect with nature and just clear your head, this is the place. They have internet, so do not fear if you need to connect with the cyber world. But bring your bird book and if you have a tropics plant field guide, bring it. It is a wonderful place to visit. So many birds! And I cannot forget my little friends, Nina and Cowie (spelling). Nina followed us everywhere, including when we went for a swim. First night, she escorted us to Omega tours for dinner. A must to stay with John and Soledad. You will enjoy this experience!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 2013nicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Dear Nicki and Tom:
Thank you very much for sharing you experience with others on the tripadvisor platform. We thoroughly enjoyed having you both at la Villa de Soledad and hope you do come back soon with friends. We would LOVE to see you back. Hope that Tom got his diving certification course finished. Hasta pronto!

Soledad and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

Where do I even start? La Villa De Soledad is amazingly gorgeous. It took me two days to catch my breath after seeing the beauty of this place. Pictures don't cut it, you have to see it for yourself!! The family welcomes you and you instantly feel right at home.

Soledad is an amazing chef! She is warm and inviting and spoils you with her amazing meals! Her beef tenderloin melts in your mouth. Jessica cooked dinner for us one night as well and I've never tasted a more delicious chicken dinner! Breakfast every morning was a beautiful display of fresh fruit and juice, which was more than enough, but then Soledad brought out even more! The eggs and beleadas were absolutely delicious, a perfect start to power you through your day!

John is wonderful at helping you navigate your arrival, your stay there, and your departure. He has great tips for things to do in the area. We never once felt unsafe traveling anywhere in Honduras. It truly is a beautiful country.

John and his nephew, Johnny, were also a huge help to us, translating Spanish to English. Our Spanish greatly improved in our short time there! Only a few chuckles along the way :)

Johnny also gave us a tour of the plants growing in their beautiful gardens. Tasting the fresh Cinnamon and black pepper was so cool!

Their home is perfectly set up for privacy as well as inclusion. You felt free to relax alone with your own porch and hammock, or to take off adventuring. We also felt very welcomed to sit around after dinner and talk to the family as well. We usually keep to ourselves, but choosing their company truly adds to the experience.

We started most of our days with a short walk to the majestic Rio Cangrejal, for swimming, sight seeing, and hiking. We both agreed that even if we didn't get to experience any of the many other things offered here, that would have been more than enough.

We walked to Omega Tours for lunch one day. That was a great experience as well. On the walk there, there is a man with a small home/store who carves beautiful wood art. You can watch him work and that added to the charm of this area. I also highly recommend taking a short trip to Sambo Creek for their zip lining (optional), incomparable hot springs, massage, and a volcanic mud mask!

You get to retreat to your room at night, take an amazing shower (the water pressure was adjustable and comparable to a wonderful massage) and fall asleep to the sound of the Rio Cangrejal rushing outside your windows. Coming from Michigan, we aren't used to hot weather, but it was never too hot to sleep at night.

The bed was so comfortable, the ceiling fan and open windows were a treat! We even took a few naps during the day because it was such a comfortable place to be.

Waking up to bird song every morning was such an amazing way to start your day...and then Soledad brings you your coffee...oh, the coffee!! It can't be compared to any other coffee because it is out of this world delicious! I don't know what her trick is!

I could go on to write an entire romance novel about our 10 day stay in Honduras, but I will leave some surprises for you when you arrive. Don't be afraid to travel here! The country and the people are amazing. So many smiles and warm greetings. We never once felt unsafe.

La Villa De Soledad, the area, the family, and our experience there was truly the highlight of our trip. Magic may be the best word to describe this place, but that might not even be adequate.

5 nights in La Villa De Soledad was not long enough...can we just move in!? Haha! Already planning for our return trip. Thank you so much for your amazing hospitality! We left a piece of our hearts with you.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

Hi There Jessica and Nick!
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at La Villa de Soledad through tripadvisor! We are so happy that you are already planning a trip back! Honduras is a lovely country and our little corner is special indeed! We love opening the doors of our home to guests who want to feel at home away from home. It is a lot of fun and we get to meet many fantastic people in the process! Good luck with all your plans at the farm and looking forward to having you back! Soledad sends her warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

The entire experience was wonderful. Waking up, practically in the middle of the jungle, Soledad's amazing cooking, the plants they have around the grounds, and how nice everyone was! Wonderful place to stay!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cyclist574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience with others through the internet! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our jungle location. Soledad is so happy to hear that you loved her food. We truly hope that all your trip throughout Honduras was up to par with your expectations! Hope to have you back some time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews