We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
234
27
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
234
27
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool the river ceiba tree the owner pico bonito tree house grounds are beautiful turtle bay eco resort suspension bridge white water rafting jungle paradise enjoy nature heaven on earth minute drive rafting trip omega tours bird watching
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 269 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

We just finished a couples retreat in this beautiful place. Right from the start we were blown away with the friendly service and stunning scenery.

We rented the forest lodge, with an amazing open air balcony/kitchen/lounge bar, overlooking the jungle, river and pool. This was perfect for us, we relaxed after our active days on the balcony, and the staff would even bring our food and drink orders up to us if we didn’t feel like chilling at the bar.

The bar and restaurant has equally beautiful views. The drinks are awesome, Daniel the bar tender knows his way around a cocktail, we enjoyed the whole menu whilst there and never found something that wasn’t top notch.

Sam acted as our concierge and basically sorted everything out for us. On arrival he went out of his way to make sure we had the best experience possible. Booking our activities and helping with our orders.

The activities were all well organized and safe. We hiked the waterfall trail with Henry a fantastic guide. White water rafted through the lodge itself, I believe this is a new addition that they personally provide. Our last day was the canopy zip line and hot spring tour, my girlfriend even got a massage with the staff at the canopy tour after in the middle of the jungle!

If your looking for a secluded beautiful paradise chocked full of adventure and relaxation then look no further. I don’t normally leave reviews but this spot won us over. 5 stars!!!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ollie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard A, Owner at Villas Pico Bonito, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Thanks Ollie D so glad you had an enjoyable stay. Thanks for giving kudos to the staff, they appreciate that very much.
Safe, enjoyable, relaxed and or exciting stays are our quest.
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

Villas Pico Bonito are beautiful. Located directly on the river the villas provide absolute tranquility. The swimming pool and bar areas are lovely and great for relaxing. The decor of our two bedroomed house was a little tired but overall very good accommodation being very spacious and with all the facilities required.

During our stay we didn’t meet the manager and the staff (whilst they tried to help) often didn’t have sufficient information to provide the assistance we needed. Also the closure of the bar/ restaurant at 6.30pm was not ideal given the remote location. So we got used to walking the 1.5km every day to Omega lodge where the restaurant stayed open later. There was also the issue that all prices quoted by villas pico bonito (taxis, excursion etc) were inflated so we ended up booking through Omega at more reasonable rates.

In summary a beautiful place with a bit more customer care would be paradise!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank EmilyFit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard A, Owner at Villas Pico Bonito, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

Hi Emily, Deisy is my manager and I believe you talked to her. So sorry our communication was not as good as it should be. We will check on all your comments and suggestions and hope to do better in the future. It was extremely unusual that the restaurant closed at 6.30pm. This was due to a transportation issue with the staff.
We like to take your food order no later than 7pm and this is normal for the kitchen. The bar usually stays open until all the food orders are delivered and consumed. Normally closing around 8pm or later.
Regarding tours, it is very hard to keep up with our friends in the valley as far as charges for the tours go. Many times when business is slow they will drop prices. We always pass on these lower prices as we work with all of them. However we can only do that if you book the tour through us, so to absolutely guarantee the lowest price please book through us. Thanks and you are right we have a hidden paradise and excellent food if you are around to enjoy it!
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018

Relaxation at it's finest. My original reservation was double booked. Richard graciously offered me the keys to the castle at the same price! How often does that happen? The Tree House was everything we expected and more. Obviously roomy. Extremely quiet. Wonderfully furnished. Soft and comfortable bed. Very little problems with insects. The property is TRANQUILO. Amazing views of the river, the waterfall, and the surrounding greenery. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Tree House!!
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saybarite, Public Relations Manager at Villas Pico Bonito, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Thanks for your review. So glad you enjoyed your visit. Tell your friends about us.
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We have stayed at Villas Pico Bonito twice in the last month and can't wait to go back again. The grounds are perfect and very tropical and the rooms all have a spectacular view. The kitchen serves amazing food and now with a games room and a infinity pool there is no down time. Richard the owner is a gracious host and can not do enough for you. Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Phil-and-Brenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saybarite, Public Relations Manager at Villas Pico Bonito, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Thanks for your 5 star review. It is very much appreciated. I will pass on your comments to our staff.
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Located right on the Rio Cangrajal river with an infinity pool overlooking the river. We only had drinks and munchies but spent 3 hrs there walking around the grounds, a dip in the river and a swim in the pool. Great experience. Beautiful place.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Arlyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saybarite, Public Relations Manager at Villas Pico Bonito, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Thanks for the review. Come on back and stay a few days1
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews