We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to Stary”
Review of Terramaya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Terramaya
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Copan Ruinas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2017

This place was just amazing. Six rooms, two young ladies working the whole five days we were there in addition to a security guard who stayed over night. My husband and I were there to visit our daughter, who teaches in the bilingual school. When we arrived she was there to greet us so the young lady who checked us in treated us to beautiful bowls of fruit before we went to our room. I have never stayed in such a clean, calm and beautiful atmosphere. Everytime we left our room, it was cleaned again! Each morning we were greeted with smiles and asked what we would like them to prepare for our breakfast - which was eaten with a beautiful view. I became ill and couldn't come to breakfast and when they realized this, one of the ladies brought me hot tea to my room and placed by my bed. Later they checked on me to see if I was OK. We had a bed brought in for my daughter and they wanted to know what time she had to go to work so they could cook early enough so she would have breakfast before she left. They were just so pleasant and always greeted us with cool rags because it was just terribly hot while we were there. We were always asked if we would like something to drink or eat. These ladies and the night guard were so thoughtful and pleasant. I would recommend this place. We will be staying again. (just be aware that some rooms overlook the street and some the mountains so if that is important to you - might check which room you are getting) We had one overlooking the street and were still so pleased.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

It's a hidden gem, just a few rooms, a small but restful garden with a view of the mountains. The service is warm and friendly and breakfast is fab. A great place to stay to visit the ruins in Copan. The rooms are confortable and we had a spacious one for 3. Will recommend it.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

If you are lucky enough to visit the charming town of Copan Ruinas, a stay at Terramaya is a must. The hotel is small and hidden by small door entry, but once inside it feels removed from the hustle of the city. The grounds and gardens are beautiful. We stayed in room six, which has a large balcony, seating and a hammock. The air conditioning in the room kept the room very cool. This is not what makes this hotel so wonderful. When you meet Mariana you will know why. She has the biggest smile and was the perfect host. Cold towels and fruit when you return. Wonderful coffee and tea. The morning breakfast was the best we had in all of Copan and it is included with your stay. The entire staff was amazing. Also, the communication in advance of our stay was easy and seamless. Lastly, get a massage. It was very reasonable and exceptional. I love small hotels and Terramaya is a perfect example of a great small hotel. Would stay here again and again.

Room Tip: Rooms 5 and 6 are on the upper floor and have wonderful balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KSP-HHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

This hotel will have a very different feel from the other options in Copan. If you wish to have a more upscale hotel experience vs. a hostel, this hotel is worth your money for a variety of reasons.
The hotel itself is beautifully maintained on a quiet street away from all the major traffic of people, yet only a few minutes walk to the plaza and restaurants. After passing through the door you enter a large living room area that leads to a patio and garden. Everything was in pristine condition and it is obvious that the owners and workers take great care to ensure the facilities are nice and clean. We had room number five on the second floor facing the back patio and our room included a large balcony with room for two chairs and a hammock. We took full advantage of our outdoor space. The room itself is spacious with a nice-sized bathroom, desk and shelving for your belongings.
The staff are amazing. The reception staff, the cook/cleaner, and even the night guard were so friendly. They are welcoming, attentive, and work very hard to make sure you have what you need. We were given maps with food recommendations and cheerful service for breakfast. They made us feel very comfortable and relaxed. Even the owners sent some emails when we booked and after we left to make sure that we had a positive experience.
The food was excellent. They provide a generous breakfast with home-made bread and a variety of home-made marmalades. They served it with eggs and fresh fruit, juice and coffee. Upon arrival in the evenings we were offered a small serving of ice cream to finish our day.
As far as the little things...cold towels to refresh yourself when you arrive at check in or after a long day hiking around the ruins. We also got some fruit upon arrival. We were given some tips for getting around and info for local tours. They even gave us a breakfast to go as we had a very early departure for check out.
They do have a small area in the patio for massages, but we did not take advantage of that.
I know this is a long review but we were truly impressed at the standard of service we received at the Terramaya and I highly recommend it if you are interested in staying at a hotel versus a hostel.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back offer views of the patio with a larger balcony. We stayed in room #5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

Normally we are go-go-go people, but Terramaya made it hard to leave the little paradise that is the hotel. Breakfast on the common patio was memorable - sipping delicious local coffee and freshly made fruit juices, freshly-baked bread, and trying house-made sauces and jams, all with a beautiful view of the garden with mountains beyond it. The room was clean and elegant complete with a private balcony with a hammock. The staff were wonderful and warm, even treating us with cool towels and ice cream when we came back after a hot day. It was a wonderfully relaxing and luxurious experience!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julieR6003VQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copan Ruinas hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Marina Copan
Hotel Marina Copan
#2 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
453 reviews
3.3 km away
Clarion Copan Ruinas
Clarion Copan Ruinas
#4 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
431 reviews
0.4 km away
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
#5 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
158 reviews
2.3 km away
Hacienda San Lucas
Hacienda San Lucas
#3 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
261 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Plaza Real Boutique
Hotel Plaza Real Boutique
#15 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terramaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terramaya

Address: Ave Centroamerica, 2 1/2 blks North of Central Park | Copan Ruinas, Copan Ruinas, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan Ruinas
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Copan Ruinas
Price Range: €90 - €92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terramaya is a charming six room property featuring superb panoramic views and the best in comfort, service and value. The architecture is a mix of contemporary and local design elements featuring exposed wood beams, 21 foot cathedral ceilings, granite counter tops, private gardens and terraces. A/C, ceiling fans, queen beds, free internet, library, hammocks, hand crafted hardwood furniture. Full complimentary breakfast. Lovely garden with massage pavilion, outdoor shower. Close to everything, on Copan's most picturesque street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Terramaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing