We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paya Bay Resort
Nearby Hotels
Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas(French Harbour)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$100/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pirates Den Hotel(Roatan)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Splash Inn Dive Resort(West End)(Great Value!)
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Upachaya Eco-Lodge(Roatan)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cocolobo(West End)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Seagrape Plantation Resort(West End)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Caribe Tesoro(West Bay)(Great Value!)
US$156
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$600
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradise Beach Hotel(West Bay)(Great Value!)
US$242
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveller rating
325
73
14
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
325
73
14
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspigeon cayblack iguanayoga pavilionbuccaneer landingsecret covecliffside roomcaptain tomnude beachclothing optional beachplunge poolday passsnorkeling tripsau naturelwest endgrilled shrimpnatural beautygarden of eden
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 422 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2018

The attraction of this resort is also its nemesis, the remote location. It is in a fabulous, secluded setting. However, it took nearly 2 hours to get there from the airport. The island's crumbling infrastructure, including the main highway, contribute. The climate makes most items biodegradable, so maintenance is an issue. New structures and new trails have been developed at this resort, but sustaining them will be a challenge. The yoga pavilion roof has holes in it, and the deck boards are beginning to warp. However, the mats, the cushions, and the massage tables were in good shape. During my stay a workman replaced worn out hammocks. Beach chairs were in good shape. There could be more safety equipment, considering some places to swim are rough at times. Electricity and WiFi were available over 95% of the time (neither is 100% where I live in the U.S.). Since there are few guests, you never feel crowded. Weekends attract some non-guests, but they are not too bothersome. Everyone was considerate and enjoying the peaceful surroundings. The insects weren't too bad. I had a hilltop room, which is over twice the size of a cliffside room. It was in good, clean condition. Housekeeping had my room made up by 8:30 am every morning. I did not need air conditioning. The food served was consistently good, with a variety of choices, and in reasonable portions. A real strength of this resort is the friendliness, helpfulness, and positive attitude of all the employees. This is the place to go and feel like you are family.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank FT313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

We had friends visiting us, so we rented a car and went on a road trip. We ended up at Paya Bay, so we stopped and had lunch. The service and food were outstanding! The views of the bay and the Caribbean sea awesome! Definitely worth the drive!

Stayed: March 2018
3  Thank dianebrugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

Drove across island for something different from busy West Bay. Though the road was long and bumpy, we were very happy to find ourselves at Bliss Beach. The drinks and lunch were excellent! Best Rum Punch on the island! The grilled shrimp Greek salad was refreshing and the quesadilla was yummy. The option of having drinks delivered to us on the beach was on point! Honestly, for $5 per person, this was an amazing deal!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank lovestotravel013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

This was my third visit to Paya Bay and I had a wonderful time. The location is still beautiful and the staff among the best. Even the insects were especially kind during this trip. I even saw some nice improvements since last time. Breakfast is now served at 7am and lunch is available on the beach, so beach time is maximized! For the most part, the resort has become more naturalist friendly (such as zone 3 is now naturist only…mostly) and they have even turned off man made music in favor of the music of nature, which is much better for relaxing (I wish all resorts in the Caribbean would learn to do this). I also loved all the new areas that were crafted into the resort (like Fire Island).

There are three areas which I wish Paya would address in order to be awesome:

• Maintenance – snorkel boat engine is on its last leg, hammocks have big holes, shower have hot water issues (even at 4am), internet in rooms was down almost the whole time (consider investing in NETGEAR Orbi Outdoor Satellite (RBS50Y))

• Guest Passes - Don’t sacrifice the comfort of your repeat guest for a measly $10. First, most resorts charge about a $100 for day passes. Secondly, the day pass guest don’t respect the rules of Paya and the owner doesn’t enforce them. Example: Zone 3 is designated as naturist only, yet on Sunday while I was there, there were about a dozen day pass visitors who were not naturist in zone 3 and the owner even swam with them, instead of enforcing the rules. This made not just me but the other repeat guests unhappy. If you must offer day passes during naturist weeks, perhaps consider offering a naturist discounted price of $10 and much higher for others, in order to maintain the balance.

• Food – often bland but getting better. Luckily they are very accommodating and happily allow off menu ordering. Consider having fresh homemade desserts. Offer boiling water for tea, not just hot water from the dispenser (tea does not brew well). One very positive thing about the food is that it is very safe – zero stomach issues in any of my visits!

But overall Paya is still one of my favorite places in the world to escape reality and relax. There is a reason why almost all the guests are repeat guests!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EkiAndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

Our wonderful taxi driver got us to Paya Bay Resort despite the terrible roads! What a beautiful property greeted us along with the friendly staff serving us a cool drink. Our room that was located over the cliff was so quaint. The lapping of waves lulled us to sleep. It was very clean and nicely decorated. The shower was hot and lots of pressure but the shower stall could use some TLC. The food at the restaurant was excellent. We looked forward to eating each night to see what the special was. I wish the chef would put together a cookbook for all the delicious dishes that we were served. The guys at Iguana Bar were the best! Made great drinks and were so friendly. We had a wonderful time at Happy Hour every day. The waiters/waitresses at the restaurant were wonderul! So polite and pleasant. The restaurant was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. One of my favorites was the coffee! The housekeepers were so efficient! The beach....ahhh....beautiful and relaxing! The trails so well kept up and so fun to explore. The chairs set up along the trail we always a fun find. We had a nice trip to Marble Hill to taste the jams/jellies, took snorkeling trips and a hike into the mountains plus hours on the beach! What a fabulous vacation! Will be back again.....

Room Tip: Cliff rooms had such a great view and the sounds of waves was calming.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank basketcase71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews