We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our kind of place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guanaja
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bo Bush's Island House
Ranked #2 of 3 Guanaja B&B and Inns
mystic
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our kind of place”
Reviewed 27 March 2010

Not for everone, but our kind of place. Laid back atmosphere, comfortable, friendly. Great snorkeling, diving, fishing.. No cell or internet but that is what we were looking for. 3 yummy home cooked meals a day. Long walks on the beach, great hike up to the waterfall. We will definitely going back. All in all, we think it is the best place on the island

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
20
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Dalles, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2009

We headed to Bo's Island House on Guanaja for a change of pace after enjoying visits to Roatán and Utila on a previous trip. The diving was part of the attraction and it really was fabulous - all the sites within a few minutes of the lodge and teeming with color and life, no 2 alike. Bo was an excellent diving companion - he's practically a fish and his ears equilize on their own after 5000+ dives. The week we were there we were the only visitors and enjoyed our meals with family members and staff.

Our cabin was very spacious and comfortable with plenty of hot water. Only downsides were mosquitoes in the room and construction of a new hurricane-proof building right next door - not sure why they didn't give us a room further from the construction but it didn't bother us enough to request to move.

In addition to diving we enjoyed a hike to a nearby waterfall and my husband fished for bonefish with decent success. The snorkeling from shore was really phenomenal.

In spite of being basically leveled by Hurricane Mitch in 1998, Guanaja is green and beautiful. Transportation is by boat as there are no roads to speak of. Island House is on the north side of the island. We visited the main town, Bonacca, for banking and again enroute to Graham's Place which is south of the main island - it's an interesting, packed-in, gritty town on a small island where most of Guanaja's population resides.

I highly recommend Bo's Island House to people looking for a quiet get-away for diving and snorkeling.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hopefulist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manresa, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2009

A great bungalow hotel in the Caribbean where one can enjoy clear crystal waters, colorful fish close to the shore and even a small inland water fall. Bo picks you up at the airport using his outboard motor boat. A trip to relax and enjoy the tranquility of an island.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Cobrecaliente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

My wife and I decided to do something different then most American's and not vacation in the Bahamas. We have traveled extensively through the Caribbean Islands, Europe and Africa but never in our travels have come across anything like Guanaja.

We did not know exactly what to expect and to be quite honest my wife was very nervous about the trip from Roaton to Guanaja. Our itinerary was shady at best because of the difficulty with telephones and internet service and we were not able to contact anyone explaining that we were not arriving with the local air service from Roaton.

We in fact rented a 4 seat Cessna and instead of the traditional sightseeing tour arranged to have them drop us off on the dirt runway and pick us up four days later (what a rush) after wishing the pilot a safe flight back we immediately knew we were not in Kansas anymore. We were at a small run-down airport on the ocean surrounded by sunken ships and outdated buildings. It was a complete ghost town, not a soul in sight.

We stumbled around with our oversized luggage (I blame my wife) and looked for any signs of life... we finally found a local kid who came out from the hills after seeing are plane land and he directed us to a house who ran the concession stand at the airport.
With as much Spanish as we could muster we found out where Bo's house was and that they did not have any way to get us there (boats are the only mode of transportation on the island) we finally gave the guy $20 bucks and he left on a dingy to get gas and with the largest smile ever upon his return we jumped in his dingy not having a clue in the world where we were going.

I crave adventures, my wife I think wanted to kill me-- hehe... we sped along for about 10min hugging the shoreline just nodding at each other (i was in heaven/ my wife not so much) then in the horizon we saw a tiki like hut jetting out into the ocean. It was surreal!

Upon docking we looked up and saw about 10 people hovering around eating, drinking and laughing (God how out of place we must have looked) then without hesitation Bo himself appeared from the bar and introduced himself, "hey guys I’m Bo, welcome!) and that was that... they showed us to our room and after settling in we sat down for our first homemade dinner and met all the other guests and his family. What an amazing life they all live. To this day I’m truly jealous of the simple beauty of the island and the love the family has for each other. I can go on forever about the place and hope to return in the near future. The reefs, snorkeling, food, people, naturally beauty, island of Coral, there was so many special things to do and see.

It’s difficult to describe the island or compare it to others as it’s in a world of its own and Bo's family alone makes your stay that more enjoyable. His daughter’s child was crawling around as we drank our morning coffee, the ice chest was never locked and everyone was on their honor system. We met some very interesting guests whom I lost their contact info or I would definitely have reached out to them upon our return to New York

All in all if you’re looking to get away from the everyday grind and try something different this is the place to go. Thanks again Bo and family, Lauren and I had a great time!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rpost334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2009

We just returned from another spectacular visit to the Island House. We first visited the island of Guanaja in the summer of 2005 after spending about ten days on the beautiful Honduras mainland. I have since lost count of how many times we have been back, but I can say for certain, we have never had a bad experience staying at Bo's Island House.

Originally, we were looking for an out of the way, no snooty tourists, shopping malls or franchise restaurants. We totally scored when we arrived on Guanaja...no roads, cars, obese tourists, or fast food restaurants. Only the sound of soft waves lapping on the beach and the occasional outboard putting by the dock. If you are looking for great diving and snorkeling, superb day hiking, friendly people, interesting villages, beautiful beaches, quiet days in the hammock and really good home made Honduran meals this is a must visit place.

When you fly in from La Ceiba, Bo will meet you at the airport (landing strip) and take you to the North side of the island. The Island House is family owned and operated. The rooms are simple, but clean and comfortable. If you are expecting the Ritz, you're in the wrong kind of place. Each day Bo's wife and daughters prepare three meals for the guests in a really cool, large bar/restaurant/living area located at the end of the dock over the water. Whatever the catch of the day is, is what is on the menu! All meals are included in the per person rate he charges to stay. You only pay extra for your drinks, diving and excursions which are all extremely reasonably priced.

If you are a diver this is some of the easiest and best diving in Central America. Lots of dive locations within minutes from the resort, rarely more than 2-4 other divers with you. Bo is a dive master with over 5000 dives, always in control, and he loves to point out interesting animals, corals, sponges along the way. I've never experienced a strong current or less than 100 foot plus visibility. He has all equipment necessary to dive and snorkel. Snorkeling right off the beach and down the way at Michael's Rock is spectacular (and free!).

Some of our "favorite things not to miss"...check out the water fall close by, a trip to Mangrove Bight for a few cold ones and a peak into the island culture is a must, definitely catch a ride with Bo into town to visit the cay, do an "around the island" tour and a little bar hopping to meet some of the locals and hike the nearby trails for spectacular ocean vistas.

Some of the less appealing aspects would be the no see ums and mosquitos during certain times of the year (nothing bug spray can't take care of though). Communication with the resort can be a challenge, as there are no phones on the north side. E-mail (and patience) is your best bet. If you happen to stay in the main house (Island House) you might have to share the living room and kitchen with other guests. Normally, not a problem, as most people who visit are really cool and interesting. Although, we were there in May and had to share with a couple from New Jersey (I swear it's the girl who wrote the review below!), I felt bad for the husband. She complained about EVERYTHING from the moment she arrived until the moment she left. Nothing was good enough for this girl and we all had to listen to it non-stop (even at night when trying to sleep!) Now, we learned to request the casita at the other end of the property for a little more privacy just in case a spoiled, rude, obnoxious guest shows up.

Put this place on your "must visit" list if you like adventure,culture, a great value and are sick and tired of the typical tourist traps.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CayosPirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guanaja
0.0 km away
Hotel Guanaja
Hotel Guanaja
#5 of 6 in Guanaja
5 reviews
0.0 km away
Roland's Garden Guesthouse
0.0 km away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
0.0 km away
Graham's Place
Graham's Place
#2 of 6 in Guanaja
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bo Bush's Island House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bo Bush's Island House

Property: Bo Bush's Island House
Address: Guanaja, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Guanaja
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Guanaja
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Bo Bush`s Island House Hotel Guanaja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing