We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible - worst service in 4 months”
Review of Hotel Puerto Libre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Puerto Libre
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Puerto Barrios
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Hands down the rudest staff and worst check in experience of my holiday and we have been away for 4 months. We arrived (walk in) at 11pm at night after a 10 hour drive from Semuc Champey with our 70 year old parents and were treated so badly that my girlfriend went from furious to in tears in seconds. The rooms were not cheap ($75 USD) but after such a big drive I couldn't go any further. The music at the bar pumped music till after 1am the TV didn't work then we woke up for breakfast and the staff were just as rude and un accomodating. We went to talk to management this morning to complain and apparently there is no manager around and the girl at the front desk lied about her name as when we explained how we were treated on arrival there was no one by the name she gave us. I would confidently say that the worst service I have had in 4 months of travelling.
I would never recommend this place to anyone!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Rod J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

We have already stayed several times there and really like the hotel. It's not special, even not close to the beach. But it's nice and worth the price.

The rooms are simple, the food is good and I also like the service.

The hotel has a small pool, free Wifi, and it's close to the city.

I give 5 stars considering it's a three star hotel with good food and service. Don't expect more neither less.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank petergerman2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stumbled upon this hotel after driving around Puerto Barrios looking for a safe, more modern hotel. Puerto Barrios is usually used as a jumping off point for people going to Livingston, Belize and Rio Dulce. We stayed here both before and after our boat trip across to Livingston.

The hotel is nestled in a relatively quiet area, but right on the main highway as you come into Puerto Barrios. Rooms are very clean with good air conditioning and mini refrigerators. There is a nice pool and restaurant and the reasonable room rate includes the breakfast buffet.

Besides the good accommodations, we really appreciated the friendly, helpfulness of several people at Hotel Puerto Libre. Veronica, one of the managers speaks very good English and helped us make a couple calls to make some changes in our itinerary...having local Spanish speaking assistance was really nice. Byron, (we jokingly called him Lord Byron) one of the owners, also speaks English was delightful...giving us advice and helping us arrange transportation to the port for our boat trip. He also allowed us to park our car at the hotel while we were in Livingston. We felt lucky to have the assistance and safety of this hotel.

There is a handy, huge shopping center right across the highway from the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool are attractive and convenient, but you will have to deal with the music until...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schleuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

It's right off of a main street, so the rooms facing that way tend to be noisy. But if you want a room away from the street, you won't have wifi in your room. But you will have the chirping of salamanders to lull you to sleep at night!

The front desk asks for your marital status & other personal information on check in. If you put "n/a" and smile, they shouldn't give you too much of a hard time.

It's convenient to have a place to eat right on the premises, and there's a pool & place to go dancing. Like most rural places, don't eat anything that might have been washed in water (salads). Or do, but bring Pepto Bismol. The chicken soup is good.

They have a frequent traveler program, but it's only if you visit every month or every couple of months, so it might not be worth it.

My room was musty & the bed was uncomfortable, and I sat in the lobby to be able to connect to the wifi, but this is probably the best place in Izabal.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ksenia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I stayed two nights here, and participated in an event in one of the meeting rooms. The hotel represented excellent value in my opinion, with a clean and comfortable room, good airconditioning, OK food in the restaurant, and included breakfast. I was very happy, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank El-Yuca-Ingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Barrios
5.8 km away
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
#1 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
182 reviews
22.7 km away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 8 in Livingston
100 reviews
22.7 km away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 8 in Livingston
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hotel Marbrissa
Hotel Marbrissa
#3 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
36 reviews
25.2 km away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#1 of 8 in Livingston
365 reviews
23.7 km away
Dos Arboles
Dos Arboles
#8 of 8 in Livingston
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puerto Libre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerto Libre

Address: Ruta al Atlantico, Km. 292, Puerto Barrios 18001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Puerto Barrios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Puerto Barrios
Price Range: €63 - €102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Puerto Libre 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Puerto Libre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing