We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
12
18
11
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
18
11
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

We have already stayed several times there and really like the hotel. It's not special, even not close to the beach. But it's nice and worth the price.

The rooms are simple, the food is good and I also like the service.

The hotel has a small pool, free Wifi, and it's close to the city.

I give 5 stars considering it's a three star hotel with good food and service. Don't expect more neither less.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank petergerman2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stumbled upon this hotel after driving around Puerto Barrios looking for a safe, more modern hotel. Puerto Barrios is usually used as a jumping off point for people going to Livingston, Belize and Rio Dulce. We stayed here both before and after our boat trip across to Livingston.

The hotel is nestled in a relatively quiet area, but right on the main highway as you come into Puerto Barrios. Rooms are very clean with good air conditioning and mini refrigerators. There is a nice pool and restaurant and the reasonable room rate includes the breakfast buffet.

Besides the good accommodations, we really appreciated the friendly, helpfulness of several people at Hotel Puerto Libre. Veronica, one of the managers speaks very good English and helped us make a couple calls to make some changes in our itinerary...having local Spanish speaking assistance was really nice. Byron, (we jokingly called him Lord Byron) one of the owners, also speaks English was delightful...giving us advice and helping us arrange transportation to the port for our boat trip. He also allowed us to park our car at the hotel while we were in Livingston. We felt lucky to have the assistance and safety of this hotel.

There is a handy, huge shopping center right across the highway from the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool are attractive and convenient, but you will have to deal with the music until about 11 pm. We stayed in one of the rooms on down from the front desk and it was very quiet comfortable.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schleuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

It's right off of a main street, so the rooms facing that way tend to be noisy. But if you want a room away from the street, you won't have wifi in your room. But you will have the chirping of salamanders to lull you to sleep at night!

The front desk asks for your marital status & other personal information on check in. If you put "n/a" and smile, they shouldn't give you too much of a hard time.

It's convenient to have a place to eat right on the premises, and there's a pool & place to go dancing. Like most rural places, don't eat anything that might have been washed in water (salads). Or do, but bring Pepto Bismol. The chicken soup is good.

They have a frequent traveler program, but it's only if you visit every month or every couple of months, so it might not be worth it.

My room was musty & the bed was uncomfortable, and I sat in the lobby to be able to connect to the wifi, but this is probably the best place in Izabal.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ksenia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I stayed two nights here, and participated in an event in one of the meeting rooms. The hotel represented excellent value in my opinion, with a clean and comfortable room, good airconditioning, OK food in the restaurant, and included breakfast. I was very happy, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank El-Yuca-Ingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews