We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Posada El Delfin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada El Delfin
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Livingston
Reviewed 14 May 2017

Beautiful place, very quiet. The rooms are spacious and clean, and there is hot water in the shower (not obvious in Guatemala). Rooms are equipped with air conditioning and ceiling fans.
The owners speak excellent English but the staff hardly speak English.
The landlady is the chef, we did not have dinner, but the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nettup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

3 - 7 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2017

The accommodation is okay though the bathroom is on the small side. The air conditioning had only one temperature -cold - and one sound - very loud.

Late on day two I asked the manager if breakfast was included and he reluctantly admitted it was, even though he had told us nothing about where it was or when it was or that we could have it the previous day. So we missed out on a breakfast to which we were entitled and which we had paid for.

Also, though there is a pool, it looks very unhealthy and I suggest the chemical balance is all wrong.

Room Tip: No, I haven't got any suggestions
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pkinbne2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

We have stayed here several times and always enjoy the hospitality. Our groups have always felt safe and taken well care of at Posada Delfin.

Gus recently added Thai food to his his restaurant menu. It's delicious and authentic. Try the Thai!

Stayed: October 2016
Thank atcolyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016

This is a wonderful clean, comfortable hote right on the waterl! The boat ferry dropped us off right on the dock of the hotel. The rooms are very comfortable and colorful. The food is excellent. Gus is a wonderful owner who really is concerned with the comforts of his guests. We have stayed here twice and will again.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MaryJo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2016

Very nice room, food, and staff, as well as pleasant common areas with books and couches for all. The owner, Gus, spent a long time in the US and is very interesting - listen to his stories if you get the chance! Maybe ask him about the photo of himself as a kid with a young Sugar Ray Robinson.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
0.5 km away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#3 of 8 in Livingston
296 reviews
1.3 km away
Dos Arboles
Dos Arboles
#5 of 8 in Livingston
136 reviews
6.5 km away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#1 of 8 in Livingston
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 km away
Hotel Puerto Libre
Hotel Puerto Libre
#2 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
42 reviews
20 km away
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
#1 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
187 reviews
33.8 km away
Hotel Mansion del Rio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada El Delfin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada El Delfin

Address: Barrio Mario Sanchez Diaz | Barrio Mario Sanchez Diaz, Livingston, Rio Dulce 18019, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range: €57 - €165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada El Delfin 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As of October, 2016, Posada El Delfin has a Thailandese masseur by appointment only. Also, with our in-house staff, we can answer in Spanish, English and Thai languages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Posada El Delfin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada El Delfin Guatemala/Livingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing