We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
34
20
11
11
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
20
11
11
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews view of the lake san felipe room was clean rio dulce air con next morning pools skis jet wifi land amenities guatemalan deck sheets bungalow
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Staying in the off season it was just us and another couple. The have duplex style bungalow rooms, that have so much space. The air con was freezing cold which was great for all the humidity, it is right on Lake Izabel and you have great views from the jetty. We got to watch the sunrise which was beautiful. The area itself is a gated resort, with a restuarant, pool and suprisingly a helipad. I think you can also rent kayaks as we saw them on the jetty. There is a sizable parking lot and since there was next to no one we got to park close to the path of our bungalow. WiFi is only in the lobby but it is good WiFi, you will see at night a lot of beige geckos, who make the cutest chirping sounds. And the staff were amazing super helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank IOGWFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

The infrastructure of the hotel is really nice, have many paid amenities such as tours in the lake/river, waverunners, etc. The food is great a little bit expensive but great; the rooms are pretty nice.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Nelson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

After staying at a lot of relatively expensive hotels that were mediocre at best, it was a real treat to stay at the Banana Palms. As some of the other reviews have stated, the rooms are relatively plain and unadorned. There were no light fixtures on the lights. My wife and I had to sleep separately as the 2 double beds were too small for the both of us. BUT, it was very clean. There are screens on the windows so no bugs. Plenty of hot water. The grounds are fabulous. The pool and restaurant were good. It is a short walk to El Castillo de San Felipe (which was amazing!). Private boats to Livingston can be arranged near the castle for only a little more than you pay for the public boats- if you haggle. And you can leave when you want. They will pick you up right from the Banana Palms dock. If you are in Rio Dulce, this is the place to stay.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

This place had great rooms ! Big rooms great for a large family. Food and drinks were also great! The pools were clean and fun to relax and listen to music. Front desk staff was fantastic!? Great tours and very good in price.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank dmsaboya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Banana Palms was one of the best hotels in the area for a great price! The view of the lake, the pools, the food in the restaurant, and rooms (with ac) were awesome. They even had a playground for the kids and a dock where we took our boat ride through Rio Dulce to Livingston. On our boat ride we stopped at some caves and natural hot springs! We got to see fisherman fish the old fashioned way in canoes and the small homes on sticks that make up the town in Rio Dulce. The enormous jungle surrounding us with all of nature ALIVE was amazing! The resort definitely allowed for us to relax after our expedition and enjoy our vacation!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leslie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bananapalms, Gerente at Banana Palms Hotel Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2016

Thank you very much for your comment, we appreciate knowing that your stay was Agard, hope to see you here again. Blessings Guillermo Juarez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews