We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
88
51
15
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
51
15
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tuk tuk the owner lake atitlan hot tub and sauna fond memories semana santa after dark hard beds garden view local culture an amazing view rooms are clean three nights beautiful place bungalow guatemala boat
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

The hotel is built in the middle of an amazing park area and the view of the Atitlan lake is breathtaking! Relax after a long and hard drive from Antigua Guatemale and enjoy the peace and nature - wonderful!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank steelriver2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bambu S, Gerente at Hotel and Restaurant Bambu, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you so much

was a great pleasure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

A wonderful little hotel to stay at. Just on the outskirts of the town so it is peaceful and quiet. Great customer service at both the Hotel/reception and restaurant. The grounds are absolutely beautiful. The pool is good (thumbs up from our 9 year old daughter.) We stayed in the second floor room with the garden view and you can see our pictures to see how amazing it was. (...and we had the "worst" view)

We ate most of our meals in the restaurant for convenience and great food. The town is "walk-able" but not sure I would do it at night. For those with a little more adventure in your spirit, take the path beside the lake into town. It cuts though little farms, peoples yards as such but that is the way it is done. Great way to connect with the people of the town and lake.

The only downside to the hotel was the hard beds in our room. Traveling around Central America, you just know the beds are typically harder than what we expect in the US. Saying that, these were comically hard.....did not interfere with our sleeping though!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank AaronGringoGrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bambu S, Gerente at Hotel and Restaurant Bambu, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thanks a lot

Hope to see you next time!

REgards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

I stayed a night here with my boyfriend and cousin. My bf and I live at the lake so this was a "splurge" for us, but were so glad we did!! The service was attentive and joyful, all the staff went above and beyond to make us happy and comfortable. Even though the hotel is owned by foreigners, it employs only locals, is environmentally and culturally respectful, and we felt good about its approach to tourism. We loved using the sauna, jacuzzi, and pool at Night, and were delighted that it was included for guests. The grounds are lovely! Fantastic experience! We hope to be back!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank danielle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bambu S, Gerente at Hotel and Restaurant Bambu, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thanks for your visit

Was a great pleasure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

Although we have had the good fortune to stay in many places that I would rate as a "very good", very few rise to an excellent rating. We had a wonderful second floor room with garden views to one side and a lake view to the other. The room was spacious and absolutely immaculate. As many have stated before me, the gardens are very beautiful. The property includes a pool, hot tub and a sauna.
We took most of our meals at the attached restaurant even though Bambu is a short walk from Santiago. We ate there because it is so peaceful overlooking the lake, the food is very good and the service is even better. Our waiter even supplied a little lesson in Tzutujil the local Maya language.

Room Tip: WE very much liked our corner room, numero siete
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don. T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bambu S, Gerente at Hotel and Restaurant Bambu, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thanks a lot

Hope to see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed here a few weeks ago. Great service, very clean room and beautiful gardens! We stayed in one of the lovely bungalows. Sitting on the porch surrounded by bird calls, using the pool and hot tub, eating a delicious breakfast on the restaurant patio - all fond memories. Bambu's right on Lake Atitlan and a short walk to Santiago.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank CPG_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BambuSantiago, Director General at Hotel and Restaurant Bambu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Thank you so much . always is a pleasure to serve our guests. we hope to see you again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews