We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar”
Review of La Palapa

La Palapa
Ranked #13 of 95 Restaurants in Panajachel
Price range: US$4 - US$10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: La Palapa is a thatched roof bar in the center of Panajachel nightlife. Popular with gringos during the day, night time activities attract travelers and locals looking for fun. Monday is game night, Tuesday karaoke, Wednesday open mic, Thursday trivia competition (free tequila shots for round winners) and Friday and Saturday nights live music with local and national bands. Saturday afternoon is BBQ with Smokin' Joe.
Reviewed 6 October 2017

We were in Pana for a week and hung out here a few nights. Really welcoming bar with good staff and a great bunch of locals to chat to.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RamblinTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groucho123, Owner at La Palapa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thanks for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

We spend way too much time in this bar- it is the expat hangout during the day and gets a pretty good diverse crowd in the evenings with frequent live music and always Q5 tequila!

They now have Mexican beer on tap.

Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

A fantastic place to meet and great; right on the main drag in Panajachel. I ate at the barbecue this past Saturday and enjoyed the grilled Mahi Mahi very much! The side dished could use some improvement. I would definitely come back for another Saturday barbecue. It is a wonderful place to meet locals and people who are passing through town.

Thank auroraedserv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groucho123, Owner at La Palapa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Thanks for visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

I spent a rainy afternoon here and was well entertained by the lovely staff and others customers. The hamburger was absolutely fantastic. I do not thin it changed my life as some claim the burger does but I definetely left full and happy. Happy hour was good with several old Pana hands in attendance. I WILL BE BACK!

Thank taniaturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groucho123, Owner at La Palapa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thanks for your kind comments. We cannot guarantee our burger will actually change your life but we guarantee they are GREAT!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

Simple and nice place to stay the night while in town. Hot water for the showers always and good internet!

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Elleangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groucho123, Owner at La Palapa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Thanks for your kind comments. Hot water and clean sheets are important.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Palapa also viewed

Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
 
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
 
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
 

Been to La Palapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing