We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Playa Linda
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Regis Panajachel(Panajachel)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Cacique Inn(Panajachel)
US$75
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Porta Hotel Del Lago(Panajachel)
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel El Sol(Panajachel)(Great Value!)
US$25
US$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jardines del Lago(Panajachel)
US$91
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada de los Volcanes(Panajachel)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Utz Jay(Panajachel)(Great Value!)
US$48
US$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$49/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Atitlan(Panajachel)
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villas Balam Ya(Panajachel)
US$390
US$310
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
26
32
23
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
32
23
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge balconylake viewtuk tukthe main streetstayed here for nightscalle santanderenjoyed our stayplace to stayfireplacebedsroomsgardenratespanaplantsspanishdock
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2017

The hotel is quite dated and definitely not quiet! The numerous stray dogs in the area howl and bark all night long and sleeping in after 6:30 is almost impossible as you can hear every noise from outside. The pool is very small, basically a kiddy pool. The door to the large balcony in my room was not fitted correctly and mosquitoes were a constant nuisance at night. I was also charged for a double occupancy when my reservation clearly stated single. When I discussed this with Juan Francisco he argued that I had reserved for two people despite being shown otherwise. He was very argumentative and not willing to compromise at all and kept insisting I was two people??? I had booked through Expedia and had been given a price based on double occupancy but when I arrived at the hotel the rates were posted as single and double which I believe the owner/manager should have honored! (I have also taken this up with Expedia.) When I wrote a review on Expedia the response from the management was still argumentative and not a bit customer service oriented, he ignored all my other comments regarding the hotel. The rooms were clean but the wifi was spotty at best and was often disconnecting. It couldn't even process my credit card at check out, I had no problems with my credit card anywhere else in Guatemala! By the way there is no beach at this spot on the lake despite the name of the hotel. I am sure there are much better hotels in Panajachel in a similar price range.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rainylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaLinda A, Gerente at Hotel Playa Linda, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017
Google Translation

Srita Baker.
Lamento que su estancia no haya sido agradable.
Como le explique cuando hablamos por teléfono, usted hizo una reserva en linea para una habitación doble (dos personas) y aceptó el precio allí consignado, por lo que no es mi responsabilidad que solo se haya presentado una persona. De hecho se hospedo en una habitación con dos camas (una king size y una imperial) que tienen capacidad para tres personas.
Solo para aclararle el problema con su tarjeta de crédito no es nuestra responsabilidad tampoco por cuanto dependemos de la autorización de una compañía externa, por lo que le aconsejo hablar con el emisor de su tarjeta.
Finalmente, nos extraña mucho que si su experiencia fue tan negativa, porque se hospedo cuatro noches, ya que todos los problemas se presentaron en su última noche cuando se le cobro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Hotel Playa Linda is on the edge of town--walkable, or go by tuc-tuc from the city dock. It is pretty basic, but the rooms are clean and quiet, and a hearty breakfast is included int he price (about $10 per night). The staff is very sweet and eager to please. There are hammocks, but be sure to bring insect repellant for the mosquitoes if you decide to hang out in one of these. Shower is one of those "water passes through a contraption attached to shower head on it's way to tepid" types that you see in budget hotels throughout Central America.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank viajera1741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaLinda A, Gerente at Hotel Playa Linda, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017
Google Translation

Saludos y gracias por sus comentarios.
Nos agrada que nuestro servicio haya sido de su gusto. Esperamos poder servirle en una próxima oportunidad, recuerde que nuestro esfuerzo esta dedicado a que esta sea "su casa, lejos de casa"
Solamente una aclaración. Nos confunde con algún otro hotel que usted visitó, porque no tenemos hamacas y nuestra agua caliente es por medio de un calentador central, no tenemos calentadores eléctricos como los que usted menciona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

Matt at reception at the Hotel Sakcari called the Playa Linda to check on rooms and prices and it all sounded good so I took off from the hotel and walked to the dock where I caught a lancha to Panajachel.I was advised to get a tuk tuk from the dock which I did and after 10 minutes we arrived.The gal at reception was expecting me and we agreed on the price,staying 3 nights and went upstairs to view the available rooms:settled on the perfect room,huge king bed with a gigantic balcony overlooking the pool and out to the lake.There was coffee and water free of charge at reception and just wonderful people working at the hotel,including the gentleman owner.

Room Tip: Go upstairs and get a lake view
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoachPaulbball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaLinda A, Gerente at Hotel Playa Linda, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017
Google Translation

Saludos y gracias por sus cometarios. Es muy valioso saber que su estancia con nosotros fue de su agrado, siempre es agradable atender a personas como usted.
Esperamos poder servirle en una próxima oportunidad. Está siempre será "su casa, lejos de casa"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

We were staying for a week. The hotel is a family hotel with very warm and kind service. Rooms are very big, with nice balconies. Fireplace which is very romantic and King size beds are soooo comfortable... very clean, feee WiFi with excellent speed and quality (no disconnections). There is a very nice swimming pool also. The location is not on the Main Street, you have to walk 5 minutes, but there are few supermarkets and restaurants nearby.
Highly recommend (!)

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Yaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaLinda A, Gerente at Hotel Playa Linda, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017
Google Translation

Saludos y gracias por sus comentarios.
Siempre es agradable atender a personas como usted, y nos alegra saber que su estancia fue placentera.
Esperamos poder atenderles en una proxima oportunidad, recuerde, por favor, que este siempre sera "su casa, lejos de casa"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed our first night in one of the non-lake view rooms and it was ok. Tiny and a bit tattered, but clean. The second night we upgraded to a lake view room and it was gorgeous. Clean, spacious, with a large balcony, and the most comfy mattress.

The only con is that they use some tricky photography to oversell the size of the pool.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Caitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaLinda A, Gerente at Hotel Playa Linda, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017
Google Translation

Saludos y gracias por sus comentarios.
Nos alegra que su estancia haya sido agradable, esperamos poder servirle en una próxima oportunidad. Trataremos de darle habitación con balcón desde el principio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews