We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love to give gif certificates to Taberna del Bario and here's an example of why”

La Taberna del Barrio
Ranked #12 of 92 Restaurants in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$2
Description: A couple minutes out of town, in the Barrio Norte neighborhood of Panajachel, you will find our tranquil oasis and a wide variety of culinary delights. All of our products are top quality imported and domestic and made to order. Additionally, we have a carefully selected wine list that pairs beautifully with our dishes.
Restaurant details
Description: A couple minutes out of town, in the Barrio Norte neighborhood of Panajachel, you will find our tranquil oasis and a wide variety of culinary delights. All of our products are top quality imported and domestic and made to order. Additionally, we have a carefully selected wine list that pairs beautifully with our dishes.
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Heavy rains soaked my guest and me recently getting there. Owner Lori greeted us as we arrived..suggested a fire in the dinning room, allowed us to shed shoes and socks for drying there and found sweat pants to replace my soaked jeans. Alex and Osman pampered our sorry souls with hot rum, port barbecue and French onion soup. A dreary day turned into a memorable one.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JoaniePana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori L, Owner at La Taberna del Barrio, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

That was a memorable day; you were cold and drenched to the bone, I couldn't build that fire fast enough. Hopefully, we will have one of our normally beautiful sunny days on your next visit. It is always a treat to see you! Thank you for sharing your story and writing such a lovely review :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

A wonderful dining experience away from the fray of Pana. The food is excuisite. Lori makes everyone feel welcomed. And, the ambiance is super relaxing!!

1  Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori L, Owner at La Taberna del Barrio, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Thank you, your review is very appreciated. It is my pleasure to welcome everyone. We look forward to seeing you and your charming family again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Incredible food. Best I've had in Guatemala. Very friendly staff & owner! Highly recommend!! Tender steaks & great appetizers.

1  Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori L, Owner at La Taberna del Barrio, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Thank you for your five-star review. It was a pleasure having you here and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal and took the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

We love this restaurant. The meny is great, we can either have a wonderful 2-3 course dinner, or have a really yummy tapas dinner by choosing a few of the entrées, like the calamares, fried Camembert, etc... mmm getting hungry!

1  Thank Unni_Rykhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori L, Owner at La Taberna del Barrio, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. Yes, choosing different things, sharing and making a meal with lots of variety is a great option. We love having you here and look forward to next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

La Taberna is a recently opened restaurant in the northern part of Panajachel, up the street from the market. Lori Legator and Axel Mull are its owner/operators, both with extensive restaurant experience.

I dined on the beautiful comfortable garden patio with a friend. Osman, the server speaks English and offered dining suggestions. We chose an Indian chicken dish and a lamb dish, both of which were excellent. The rains began at about 2pm and we moved under the roof to continue our meal.

As I sit here in the U.S. thinking about this luncheon, I am reminded of how relaxed I was. Often, here in the states, I feel rushed in restaurants. That was certainly not the case at La Taberna. If you want great food, a quiet place, and excellent service, then La Taberna is the place for you.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Guatewilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori L, Owner at La Taberna del Barrio, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Thank you! Your positive review is very appreciated. We are pleased you enjoyed your experience and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Taberna del Barrio also viewed

Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
 
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
 
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
 

Been to La Taberna del Barrio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing