We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK maybe good.”
Review of Hotel Las Americas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Las Americas
Ranked #4 of 53 Guatemala City B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“OK maybe good.”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

After following the gringo trail, we were going to see ruins in Tikal so we stop here for the night before our flight. Our main reason was the shuttle to the airport in the morning. It was a bit expensive since we had just walked up and received a rack rate. I believe it was $120.

The room was clean and nice. Nothing to write home about. Internet worked. There is a casino down in the first floor. We didn't use much since we came late and left early. They gave us a to go Breakfast since our flight was early.

IN MY OPINION, IF YOU ARE ON A LAYOVER OR ONE NIGHT AND WANT TO BE NEAR THE AIRPORT. IT IS A VALID OPTION BUT ONLY IF IT IS AT A REASONABLE PRICE. If you want to sight see or want better options then getting a taxi (which are cheap) closer to what you want to do, look at other hotels.

Room Tip: Haggle the room or breakfast if you can't get them to lower the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momdadsefi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    156
    83
    43
    31
See reviews for
67
65
39
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed here just the one night awaiting a flight to Mexico & for this the hotel works.
The pick-up and drop off went well. Unfortunately our early flight meant we had to leave before breakfast started and the bagged one we recieved for early departures was pretty awful. The room was ok and the room service food fair but not great. A good hotel for access to the airport especially considering the free airport transfer service, so if its for one night between or awaiting flights its a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westhorp-Modi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, IHGCARE at Hotel Las Americas, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear Westhorp-Modi,

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Guatemala. I am pleased you did like the location of our hotel, the room you were placed in and the room service. I apologize that you did not like the bagged breakfast that was provided for you. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.
Respectfully,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vlierden, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
419 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Stayed in the crowne plaza for 3 nights, the hotel is a bit dated but it is kept clean. The staff is very welcoming and nice. We had quite a good rate but with taxes and all it did sum up. The crowne plaza is a bit away from everything, only a few fastfood restaurants across the road. A decent chinese restaurant is about 300 m away. If you want to stay in a more lively area I would reccomend not to stay here. The rooms are of a decent size and a big advantage have free internet, the bathrooms are small. I stayed on the 7 floor which is stated to be a silence floor. No houskeeping from 7pm to 10am, no children, no tourgroups no animals. That is a very big advantage! something more hotels should have! All in all a decent place to stay for a few nights, however if I have to choose for next visit and the prices would be OK I would stay in the area where the westin, radisson, holiday inn and intercontinental are.

Room Tip: Ask a room on the silence floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterEijsbouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I booked this hotel on-line through the Crowne Plaza website. It was just a one-night layover stay...that could not have gone worse. Simply put, management made ZERo effort in trying to make up for mistakes (they never received my booking, the shuttle never picked us up from the airport, etc. However, I must say, the breakfast buffet was fantastic with a good mix of local dishes and other classics. Overall duw to the fact that the MAIN reason we booked here was for the airport shuttle, the hotel and management staff failed.

Room Tip: Just make sure you book with plenty of time to ensure th airport shuttle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 260mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The Crowne Plaza Guatemala is located on a main fare but in a mostly residential area. It is very close to the international airport, but not too close that your room rumbles everytime a plane lands or takeoff. Actually, it would be advisable to have a room that faces the airport since the room will have a great views of the volcanoes and mountain range in that part of the city.
The hotel and surrounding area is very quiet. Getting to sleep at night was not a problem.
The room is large but a bit lived in. It is hard to believe the room was refurbished in 2004-2006. In addition to a queen bed, the room had a small table, work desk, refrigerator, TV and one chair. I thought the one chair was a bit odd. The refrigerator is not stocked and not plugged in. You will need to plug the refrigerator in. I would suggest going to the supermarket around the corner from the hotel (and behind the adjacent Burger King) to stock the refrigerator.
The hotel staff was exceptional. They gave outstanding advice and recommendations. And always with a smile.
The breakfast buffet, which was included in my room rate, was diverse. It included locally specialties as well the standard fare. Of note was the bacon. I have never had more consistently crispy bacon than during the five days I stayed at the hotel. I would return just for the bacon.
The fitness center is on the top floor with an outstanding view of the surrounding area. The fitness center caters to hotel guests and club members. It had relatively new treadmills and elliptical trainers. Stationary bikes were in the form of spinning bikes. The weight machines were not state of the art.
None of Guatemala City's popular restaurants are nearby. One needs to take a short taxi ride to get to those restaurants.
Wireless internet access was included in my room rate. For the most part, the connection work well.
All in all, I would stay at the Crown Plaza again due to the value and service provided by the staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newco12001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
1.1 km away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#4 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,419 reviews
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#10 of 49 in Guatemala City
425 reviews
1.5 km away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#6 of 49 in Guatemala City
567 reviews
0.4 km away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#11 of 49 in Guatemala City
192 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Biltmore Guatemala
Hotel Biltmore Guatemala
#9 of 49 in Guatemala City
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Americas

Property: Hotel Las Americas
Address: Avenida Las Americas 9-08 | Zona 13, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Las Americas 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 3 kms. From La Aurora International Airport and very close to the main commercial and financial area of ​​the country. It offers 183 comfortable rooms, Gym, Heated swimming pool, Spa, Restaurant of Local and International food, Bar, Internet without cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Guatemala Hotel Guatemala City
Crowne Plaza Guatemala City
Guatemala City Crowne Plaza
Hotel Las Americas Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing