We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colibri House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Placencia
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaspray Hotel(Placencia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Ranguana Lodge(Placencia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cozy Corner(Placencia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Chabil Mar(Placencia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Turtle Inn(Placencia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
242
47
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
47
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssleeping loftupstairs suitestayed upstairslower apartmententire housefew minutes walkbeach houserestaurants and shopssea breezequiet locationour home away from homenight lifeown mealsair conditioningcaribbean seaclose to townfull moon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2017

My husband and I decided to go back to Belize and stay in Colibri House for our honeymoon. We had such a great experience the first time we stayed at Colibri House, and the second time was just lovely as well! We did review it the first time as well (but I've forgotten my old username and password, haha.)
Needless to say, Stefano and Nicoletta truly care about their guest's experience. They check in regularly to ensure that everything is going well, yet they are not overbearing. They've lived in the area for a long time, and are really great at giving their guests helpful tips about the village and getting around. As a bonus -- I had told Stefano that it was our honeymoon, and he presented us with a bottle of champagne upon our arrival. That was so nice, and it was SO great to begin our Belizian honeymoon by sipping champagne on the balcony.
The house itself is beautiful, and located right on the beach. We rented the upstairs, and were able to sleep very comfortably every night with the door open and the sea breeze coming in. Stefano and Nicoletta have added some air conditioning that you may use for a nominal fee, but we did not feel the need to use it -- after all, if you're in Belize, you should be prepared for some heat, right? The house is clean, quiet, and safe. We cannot say enough about Colibri house, and we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

Our first time to Placencia and we love it. We actually have a couple more days left and do not want to leave. Upon arrival, Nicoletta was there to greet us. She checked on us periodically to see if we needed anything. The Colibri house was perfect for us, right on the beach and right on the walk way to the town. We rented the upstairs and it was perfect. We will be back next year and will be renting the colibri house. Thanks Nicoletta

Mike and Victoria

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

We loved the location because it was quiet at night but close enough to walk down the beach or sidewalk to town. We had fabulous views of the Caribbean Sea from two upstairs decks and enjoyed swimming and playing on the beach - just steps from the door!

Nicolette and Stefano were always available and helped us navigate the area with recommendations for tours restaurants, etc. Colibri was very reasonably priced. We did pay extra for the a/c and would recommend it for comfortable sleeping.

I can't wait to return to Placencia and would definitely stay at Colibri House again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

We stay here every year for 3-4 weeks in Mar/April. We consider it our home away from home. It has all the essentials. Much more than most accomdations in the area in this price range. We love the lower apartment. This year we had friends staying in the upper one bedroom house for most of our visit. They loved it. Colibri is close to everything happening in town but far enough out to not hear all of the bar and town noise. With the beach a few steps from your door and chairs to lounge in who could ask for more. We will definitely return next year.

Room Tip: Either unit is great for couples.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Csmazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

Have been using Trip Advisor for years and the is the first time have disagreed with the majority of the rating. First the good things:
1. Great beach front location
2. Owners are really nice and very helpful
3. air conditioning works well and was needed 8 out of ten nights
4. new fridge and micro

Now the not so good:
1. this is an old house in disrepair
2. needs a very good cleaning
3. the mattress on the bed upstairs must be 20 years old (it is all ripped up)
4. the mattress upstairs is on a toe mashing structure that is 6 inches off the floor
5. although warned you will smash your head on the ceiling upstairs
6. the deck is rotten with nails that should be pounded in
7. the "windows" are wood frames with plastic panes

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank humptus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColibriHouseBelize, Owner at Colibri House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Hello Brian and Ann, thank you for your input on Colibri House. We appreciated the positive remarks. Because of the negative part of your review we will replace the four years old mattress. We feel that the pictures on our website clearly show the bed position in the loft. The plastic windows are exclusively for the use of the AC, the mahogany shutters, even if nice, were not enough to keep the units cool. We had to invent a sliding windows system to optimize the air conditioned use. That is the reason why it is working good. It is a harsh Caribbean environment plus it is a Ocean front building, it is a constant job to maintain any and all properties here. What you see in the shower floor is the Portland cement that should be under the grout, not mold, we have to replace it when necessary, usually every three months. We are close to the end of the low season and we had many happy parties of guest so we could not grout it as yet in a proper way nor replacing the mattress that is the only issue you brought to our attention during your visit. Here in Belize, especially here in Placencia, ordering a new ergonomic King size mattress is a few week process. Nothing is easy. Had you come to us regarding any other problems we would have been happy to address any and all issues with you and come to a solution as we always do. We feel all the genuine reviews on Trip Advisor are honest, fair and accurate. We apologize for your inconvenience but we hope your overall stay in Belize was pleasant.

Thank you, all the best,
Stefano and Nicoletta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews