We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
9
0
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
0
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 11 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2010

We stayed for a week at Casa at Last in April and, based on the reviews we had read, we were a little disappointed with our stay.

The location of Casa at Last has mixed blessings. The grounds are beautiful, and its proximity to the lagoon is terrific -- the palapa at the end of the dock was a wonderful place to relax in the hammock and watch rays jump out of the water. Sea kayaks are available for touring the lagoon on your own. However, because the property is actually located in Seine Bight, it is six miles away from the main town of Placencia. This makes it a little difficult to get to town for dinner and snorkeling/diving trips. Without a rental car or phones in the cabinas, we had to either ask Dale and Cat to arrange a taxi for us, try to catch a shuttle or bus (which don't really have reliable schedules), or bike into town. It was very nice of our hosts to provide bicycles -- we did ride into Seine Bight to buy groceries several times -- but it's still a 45-minute ride to Placencia, and we were a little worried about the bikes holding up on the gravel road.

The casa itself was nicely decorated and had a large shower and small kitchen facilities. Unfortunately, we found ourselves sharing the place with some unwanted guests. The windows aren't 100% screened in, and the walls don't rise up all the way to the thatched roof. So the first night, I was in bed when I realized a cockroach was crawling up my shorts. Shortly after I was done panicking, we noticed we were sharing our living room with a small mouse. It took us two days to shoo him out, after he had made a nest in the towel drawer and eaten one of our bananas. Geckos and moths came into the casa, as well -- they weren't bothersome, except that Central American geckos make loud squeaking noises at night.

I will note that the cable TV in our casa turned out to be a fabulous amenity. We hadn't intended to spend enough time indoors to use it, but we ended up with nasty sunburns one afternoon and spent some quality recovery time with HBO movies.

Our hosts were very nice and willing to help with any issues and arrangements, when they were available. Because Casa at Last follows more of a property rental model than a hotel or homestay, you don't necessarily get a chance to check in with Dale and Cat every day. Be sure to make arrangements well in advance with them if you need to schedule a tour, taxi, or breakfast/lunch.

Our general impression of Casa at Last was that it was a little under-maintained these days, possibly due to low tourist volume in the area. If you are looking to "get away", have some quiet, and do your own thing (provided you are equipped to do your own thing), you might really enjoy a stay here. If your priorities are comfort and access to a variety of activities, you might want to check out some of the places closer to Placencia.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank garfsnerky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2009

We looked at a lot of properties in the Placencia/Seine Bight/Maya Beach area before choosing Casa At Last...and it's unlikely we could have made a better choice. This is a very private 4 cabana property run by a pair of quietly efficient Americans: Cat and Dale. It is spotlessly clean, beautifully landscaped, and hauntingly quiet. Aside from an occasional truck passing by on the road far away, the only sounds we ever heard were the wind in the trees, mourning doves and songbirds, and a Belikin beer bottle being opened.

Cat's food is everything other reviewers have raved about, and Dale's local smarts proved invaluable all week long. The pool is perfect for cooling off around the honor bar, and the delicious home cookin' is served poolside. Order your breakfast the night before, and Cat will bring it to your porch in the morning...the perfect place to start your lazy day.

Dale and Cat have bikes to ride and kayaks to paddle so you can explore the extensive lagoon out back. The beach is across the street and there are some good spots nearby. And although the property is in Seine Bight, a few miles north of Placencia, the bus into town is reliable and only $2, and taxis are always available.

Casa At Last may be off the radar and the big-name travel books, but make no mistake, this is a very private, very intimate little property perfect for couples, honeymooners, and anyone who's trying to get away from it all. Perhaps best of all...no kids allowed. We love kids....just not during "our" time. For us, Casa At Last hit it out of the park.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steamboat426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2009

One of the few saving graces from an otherwise over-hyped and ridiculously over-priced vacation spot. Owners Cat and Dale's attention to detail reflects their longtime experience in the hospitality business. The cabanas are well-appointed and spacious with all the creature comforts (kitchenette, cable TV, AC) one hopes for after a bone-jarring ride down the dirt road. The setting along the lagoon is spectacular, and if you feel like going for a swim, one of the peninsula's few 'good' beaches is right across the street. Dinner at the pool is not to be missed and was one of the best meals we had during our five days in Maya Beach.

All in all, a great stay and definitely a better value than most of the all-inclusive resorts that dot the landscape around Placencia. However, the place can be a bit hard to find, so make sure to call ahead for directions.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Swisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2008

This was our first time to Belize and to Casa At Last - what a great resort! One of the most relaxed vacations we have ever had; what a wonderful place to enjoy the beauty and tranquility of the area. Cat & Dale make your stay feel like you are "Home At Last." The food was out of this world; the villas were clean and comfortable. I can't say enough about our stay... we will be back!

Kurt&Deb Hoffman-Grand Haven, Michigan

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank KleoMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2008

Perfect small resort. Gorgeous villas ,beautiful grounds, very private. This was our second vacation at Casa at Last it won't be our last. Sharon and Charlie

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank smac555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews