We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (825)
Filter reviews
825 results
Traveller rating
524
209
50
27
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
524
209
50
27
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lagoon side swim up bar paddle boards maya bistro concierge desk full kitchen breakfast and dinner two bedroom suite maya mountains pots and pans hotel shuttle great resort minute ride free shuttle rented a car hotel restaurant complimentary kayaks
Filter
Updating list...
333 - 338 of 825 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Belize Ocean Club on the recommendation of friends, and were glad we did. It is a nice resort with friendly staff. Our daughters, 11 and 16, did their scuba verification dives here and loved it. The restaurant is open air and very nice, and another great restaurant is an 8 minute walk down the road. The beaches in this area are not great, in large part because of seaweed. But the pool scene is fun, with a good swim up bar. Good place for families as well as romantic getaway.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanne88888, Guest Relations Manager at Belize Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Hi Chris,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your great family dive trip! Our onsite dive shop is perfect for unforgettable diving on the Belize barrier reef. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you back very soon for more diving adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

My husband and I decided to take a leisurely trip since our family reunion was cancelled and saw a great deal for the Belize Ocean Club on TravelZoo. We stayed four days and three nights. We arrived about an hour early because of our flight to Placencia which we booked through the BOC, which was great! Once we arrived our room wasn't ready, so we were taken to the beach area where we ordered lunch. We weren't disappointed with our room and were excited to have lunch overlooking the beautiful ocean view. Unfortunately, customer service regarding our food was terrible. We ordered the special of the day which was Bar-B-Que on the beach. We literally saw our food waiting for us to eat it. However, we WAITED for over 45 minutes for it to reach our table. This was disappointing and seemed to be the overall theme of our trip regarding food at the resort.

When we finished, we were taken to what was supposed to be our room, the Lagoon 1 room King Suite, and were "greeted" by two housekeepers who were talking on the couch, who looked rather surprised that we were in "our" room. We walked outside and waited for our guide to get clarification. He looked rather frustrated at them, and apologized to us and made everything right by giving us a Two room Lagoon Penthouse, which was so beautiful!

We LOVED the Lagoon side. There is nothing better than waking up to the views of the mountains, and calming waters. The sunset is beautiful as well.

While there, we visited Ranguna Caye, which was beautiful as well.

The only recommendation I would give is restaurant service. Each time we went to eat breakfast, lunch or dinner, we waited anywhere from 45 minutes to an hour for our food. The only time it was right was the night that a gentleman name "Israel" served us. He knew the menu, was confident in describing the special of the day and was overall a great host. We tipped him well.

Room Tip: Lagoon offers beautiful views, and is quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kendra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanne88888, Guest Relations Manager at Belize Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Hi Kendra,
Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your "relaxed and chill" experience with us at the Belize Ocean Club. We are please to know that you enjoyed your suite and beautiful views. Ranguana Caye is a paradise not to be missed in Belize. We are always looking for ways to enhance the guest experience and will use your insights when considering new ideas. We hope to see you back soon in beautiful Belize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

After spending a week in the Village we moved to the Belize Ocean Club for four nights. Much different area than the Village.

Pros: Large room, pool and beach were nice, dining was good, and they offered free bikes, that we actually used to explore other dining spots in the area. We also tried the kayaks on the bay side. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Cons: Wifi was very poor. No safe in the room. Drinks at the restaurant and beach bar were expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islandexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

I bought this trip at a Charity Event and knew nothing about Belize. I couldn't be more thrilled with the turnout. I stayed for 5 nights in the 2 bedroom Oceanview Suite. The service at this resort is a TEN. Everyone who we met or interacted with was so nice and eager to make your trip the best. It was genuine and so refreshing to have met people who truly enjoy their job and where they live. The resort had great food, drinks were delicious and the massage was the best I've had. You look over the lagoon side of the resort while getting one...you can't beat it. The resort was a mix of family, couples and singles. It's not a loud or crazy resort. We never had to rush to grab a chair or space on the pool or beach like most resorts. A no rush and enjoy lifestyle is what you'll get from this resort and everyone that works there. I didn't want to leave and I will definitely return.

Room Tip: Lagoon side has the main lobby, restaurant and spa. Ocean Side has the ocean and pool. Easy and quick walk from one side to the other.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanne88888, Guest Relations Manager at Belize Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Hi Kate,
What a fantastic way to donate to a worthy cause and enjoy time with friends. Our staff will be so pleased to know they rated a TEN! A massage overlooking the peaceful lagoon is a perfect way to relax at the Belize Ocean Club. We look forward to your next visit with us in beautiful Belize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

The suite was spacious and clean, but not up-to-date or luxurious.
The workers were very friendly and always went out of their way to help!
The beach was nice, and the paddle boards/kayaks were a huge hit!
Very helpful organizing excursions.
We also loved jumping on the bikes and running to the store or to grab lunch somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GRSSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanne88888, Guest Relations Manager at Belize Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Our staff will be pleased to know how much you enjoyed yourself during your stay. The paddle boards, kayaks and bicycles are a great way to see Placencia. So glad you had the opportunity to venture out and explore with the help of our concierge. We hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews