We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not long enough”
Review of Sea View Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea View Suites
Ranked #9 of 27 Placencia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We didn’t plan as much time as we should have to really enjoy this little place. The hotel was beautiful, clean and well managed with someone almost always inside the office. Sara helped us arrange our monkey river tour. The room was large and even had a tub/shower. The rooftop was pretty windy when I was up there but I loved the view from the hammock. There is a wonderful Swiss bakery next door and the best gelato way too close by. Tutty Fruitty is not to be missed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank got2goGot2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
placenciaseaview, Front Office Manager at Sea View Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Thank You for your candid comment. We wish you could have stay longer with us and to see what the beautiful village of Placencia have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for Sea View Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2012

My husband and I spent several nights here and would highly recommend SVS.

We visited mid-October, so we were the only guests most nights. As others have said, the staff is terrific--very friendly and helpful, on call 24/7 to answer any questions, help with transportation, call local businesses for you, etc. The room was spacious and clean, the AC worked really well, the bathroom was great (terrific water pressure!). The water in the jacuzzi was not heated when we were there, so it was extremely pleasant to sit in there and cool off. The view from the rooftop deck is fantastic.

Location can't be beat, SVS is right in the heart of the village on the sidewalk. As others have mentioned, it's a short trek to the water.

We thought this place was great, and reasonably priced. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElaineLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This is a small (12 rooms) 'guest-house' hotel with most of the amenities needed. Immacuately clean, has a mini-kitchen area with refrig, micro wave and coffee maker -- but no coffee. Priced at $70 (including tax & fees) for three of us (two double beds), small bathroom, all the essentials - shampoo, conditioner, soap, nice towels. Within easy walking distance of town and/or beach. Attentive, helpful 24-hour staff. One evening my grandson cut his toe and the young man manning the office immediately provided an emergency first aid kit which had the essentials needed. Hotel is located right next door to a b'fast/bakery. Hot tub on roof. Since it was July, Palencia's low season, we were the only guests ini hotel. The beach leaves a lot to be desired, actually, almost all the beaches in Palencia leave a lot to be desired. Filled with seaweed and driftwood. We were there for a week and only went onto the beach once or twice. Unfortunately - no swimming pool; practically none to be found except far, far away from town.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladysheil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We traveled through Belize for 13 days and stayed at 5 different places, and this hotel was by far the most comfortable that we stayed at. It had the best beds, the best showers, the best air conditioning, the best tv, and the best wifi! It doesn't have a lot of character and it is not right on the beach... but it is very close to the beach and it does have a hot tub on the roof which we enjoyed every evening! It is also close to the docks and all the tour operators, lots of restaurants and bars. I would happily recommend this hotel!

We took took the Monkey River tour, across the water, up the river and into the jungle... lots of bugs, dress appropriately, and quite an experience hearing the howler monkees! The meal provided at Alice's Restaurant in Monkey River Village was a little lacking, but we had a good time.

We also took a snorkling tour to Silk Caye, a tiny island that is a long ways out, and is surrounded by reef! It was beautiful and fun..had a lunch with fresh grilled fish and chicken prepared on the island, delicious! And on the way back swam with huge turtles, nurse sharks, and sting rays....

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homeonrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at Sea View Suites for three nights April 6-8, 2012 after booking a king bed, non-smoking, sea view room three months in advance. The online service was prompt and friendly, and we felt the $75US plus 9% hotel tax rate to be reasonable. At the time of booking a 50% deposit of the total value was required which I found to be typical of most Belizean transactions. If driving be sure to ask for specific instructions to access the behind-hotel free parking lot. We never saw the owners while there but the on-site staff were courteous and conscientious. The hotel is well located centrally in Placencia village and is also ‘beach front’ as there is an empty lot between the building and the sea. Many restaurants and shops can be accessed with a short walk from the hotel. We were given room #1 on the ground level which was spacious and very clean with two moderate sized windows which when standing afforded a ‘sea view’ but not if seated or lying in bed. For such a huge room the bathroom was disproportionately small but well appointed with good quality towels and fixtures, and toiletries were restocked daily. The room furnishings (bed, tables, dresser, loveseat, chairs), linens and window treatments were attractive and of good quality. The air con worked great and there was free wifi access in the common hallway but not in the room. There was a microwave, coffee maker (but no coffee), bar fridge, mugs and glasses. Good quality beach towels were provided. We swam in the sea in front of the hotel; the water was pleasant but the beach not so much with lots of seaweed and litter. There was a second level with a few rooms that shared a balcony with nice views. We enjoyed the roof top deck very much; the views and breezes were inviting and the loungers and chairs plentiful. There was a fresh water shower which was useful after sea swimming and before using the hot tub. We also used the clothesline on several occasions. The staircase to access the deck was a small spiral one which may prove difficult to access if you are elderly or carrying a small child, etc. The common hallway of the first level can echo with extraneous noise totally dependent on the courtesy of your neighbours; one night we were woken at 3:30am by returning partiers and again at 7am by toddlers allowed by their parents to run up and down the hallway length. Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Don’t count on actually seeing the sea from your room but make sure you enjoy the wonderful sea view...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
11.5 km away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
643 reviews
0.2 km away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.8 km away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#12 of 20 in Placencia
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Caribbean Beach Cabanas of Placencia
0.9 km away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
777 reviews
0.4 km away
A Belizean Nirvana
A Belizean Nirvana
#1 of 27 in Placencia
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Suites

Address: Pt. Placencia | Stann Creek District, Placencia, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Placencia
Price Range: €55 - €63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 6 units suites with microwave, coffeemakers, FREE WiFi access, air conditioning, hot & cold private bath,complimentary beach towels and daily maid service. After an exciting day and fun day of water sports or touring, relax at our "Mile High: Rooftop observation deck, or lay under a shady palapa, enjoying the Maya Mountains, the Harbor, the Lagoon and the breezy breathtaking Caribbean Sea. The hotel features and offers each guest relaxation, comfort and convenience at an excellent value. All amenities are walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea View Suites Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing