We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place. Great food, nice staff. Extra info here re: day trips in the jungle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge
Ranked #3 of 33 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place. Great food, nice staff. Extra info here re: day trips in the jungle”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We wish we had maybe a few extra hours at DuPlooy’s to look around the gardens, but our schedule was just too packed! The people there were wonderful, specifically Jose and Shirley, the wait staff.

Info for our day trips in that area: ATM cave and our tour guide, Danny Portillo was awesome. I would highly recommend him to any future guests. He was very knowledgeable, responsible, respectful and careful. Also, we spent more time in the caves then any of the other groups that day and even got to some special areas because our group was so great. We were supposed to meet him in town that morning, but somehow he came to pick us up instead. On the way back to DuPlooy’s we wanted to stop for dinner, so he took us to Sanny’s restaurant outside of town which was fabulous. The shrimp ceviche was amazing and the rest of the food and service also. I would recommend it although watch out since their ice isn’t purified. I have to say that cave tubing was a little disappointing (and really crowded) after ATM, so I would recommend to people to go cave tubing first. I guess we would have but didn’t really have the time. We also did the jungle tumble at Jaguar Paw which was cool but a really short ride. They let us each go twice though. I would tell anyone else going to re-apply bug spray in between events as the bugs up in the jungle there were awful! Our Tikal trip was fun, but really expensive compared to the other day trips. We really enjoyed the view from the tallest temple and were lucky it was partly cloudy that day.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NormaJean2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    72
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
137
157
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Lovely lodge in the middle of the jungle. It was fascinating all the birds you could observe. Great dinners. The staff was wonderful, very attentive. The day trips were excellent with great guides. The Belize Botanical Gardens are next to the lodge and are very well maintained. It is a dirt road back to the lodge but very manageable. Spent an afternoon down by the river, very peaceful and relaxing. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: I was there myself and jungle lodge room 4 was great. Perfect location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DEY41185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Had a great vacation and found the duPlooys staff very helpful. Vacationed with a large family group of 14. The best part was literally just telling them what we wanted to do the next day and then they made all the arrangements. The guides they sent us with were all knowlegable and safe. We went to the ATM, horseback riding, cave tubing ,zip lining, rafting, shopping and a trip to Tikal all in 5 days. I think the trip to Tikal is a must. ATM was hard but well worth the effort. Our guide Juan Carlos could not have been better. He led a group of 7 of us through( including my 75yr old father) safely and on our time frame. The horseback riding was a little scarey since it had just rained and we were all novices. We should have started with a gentle walk through the garden.
The food was delicious, healthy and fresh.Must say the coffee in Belize is not special as it is in other Central America countries. We tended to use our Starbucks via's since we are coffee snobs. Loved the soups! The rooms were clean and comfortable. the only compaints we had were the car rides were hard and long, especially for those in the group that get car sick, but nothing to do with duPlooys. The vans they used were clean and comfortable.
Thanks to Judy and her staff for such a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego, ca
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I love an adventure, and this was certainly it. Carlos picked us up in his totally beat up little Chevy (love it) (included in resort price, something that is a HUGE bonus!) and off we went. It was a 3 hour ride from the airport to the lodge, something we missed in our planning :) Carlos kept saying "30 more minutes" (like they do in many parts of countries). We turned off the main road and headed down, and up and down again along a VERY bad dirt road... in the dark. It had rained so the car started sliding backwards down the hill! We had to exit and walk up the hill, in flip flops in the dark jungle. So cool!!! Carlos was able to turn the car around and we went the rest of the way ... backwards!

We stayed in the Mopan Suite which was bigger than we needed but they put us there at no extra cost. All was well but it was a bit...scary... being alone in the front room of this large casita in the middle of the jungle. And in the middle of the night a huge crashing sound with flashlight streams of light flashing everywhere; I thought I was in the beginning of the E.T. movie when he was running through the forrest. We all woke up and as soon as we decided to investigate and go outside, it was all gone and nothing there. I kid you not, this noise was so loud, and then just gone, that we started to believe in flying saucers! No one knew what we were talking about in the morning either. I found the night security guard and he said a large limb had broken off of the tree and rolled down the hill. "What hill?" I asked and he smiled. WhoooooEeeeee, creepy!

The kitchen staff stayed late just for us upon arrival and during our other late adventures! You can use their refrigerator too, very cool. GREAT bar with a veranda and friendly staff. Water for the taking, so don't need to worry about where you will fill your water jug up at. The tucans come here to feed and it is very cool. One ate from my hand! Binoculars and bird books sit on the bar bookcase and free to use. Very nice.

Food ok to me, but my bff's LOVED it. I am picky :( and don't eat fish or much meat.

Dont forget, you get 2 tours for the price too when you stay here. This is another can't beat it deal. Suggestions? Takal Ruins a MUST, and for the fit and adventurous kind: the ATM Caves. Both of these are all day gigs and waaaaaaay cool.

My only complaint is that being without a phone or computer access, we had to depend on the office to quote us an airline fare and make the reservation. The fare was double what he quoted us because he read the web site price incorrectly. Marlon, the manager that did this, refused to admit his error or meet us half way on the issue. I also wrote the main office and never even received a response. Poor taste I thought. Be prepared to plan most of your trip ahead to avoid Marlon's help on the computer.

Room Tip: Makal and Mopan suites adjoin. If you have a noisy neighbor (for example, kids that run around and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wahinisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We stayed in the Macal Suites and they were very nice--comfortable beds, nice bathrooms, lovely family room. The staff was helpful and nice. Continental breakfast is 2 different breads every morning with a glass of juice and coffee/tea. You can order from a breakfast menu for an additional price. All the food was generally delicious but perhaps a little pricey. Get up early the morning, sit at the bar, and watch the birds come to the feeder they put out. You won't be disappointed! There's an easy walk down to the river bank where there are free canoes/tubes for your use. The grounds are well-kept and have nice features (jungle overlooks, etc). Your stay also includes free admission to the Belize Botanical Gardens which are on site and worth a walk around. You can lock up your valuables in the main office if you like while you are out. They will arrange tours for you through the main office if you don't set something up on your own.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Macal Suite which was about the size of 1/2 a house--3 bedrooms, living room, screened...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
2.1 km away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
4.6 km away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
1.4 km away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#2 of 33 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 13 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
0.2 km away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
6.2 km away
Maya Mountain Lodge
Maya Mountain Lodge
#6 of 33 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to duPlooy's Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about duPlooy's Jungle Lodge

Property: duPlooy's Jungle Lodge
Address: Chial Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2 star — duPlooy's Jungle Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge Resort, on the Macal River, an organic property since 1988, now powered by the sun, may just be the Eco-Lodge you are looking for.duPlooy's offers the original "Create Your Own Vacation' package as well as set packages for individuals and groups and custom packages which include other locations in Belize. Whatever you are looking for, we offer a great venue for your Belize Vacation for Families,Romantic Getaways and Honeymoons, Adventure Holidays and more. There is excellent Birding on and around the property as well as many on-site activities.Included with your room: continental breakfast, entrance to adjacent Belize Botanic Gardens, access to trails, use of canoes and tubes from our beautiful Macal River Beach,incredible bird watching from the deck with complimentary morning coffee, delicious meals from locally-sourced meats, eggs and produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your duPlooy's Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duplooy`s Jungle Hotel San Ignacio
DuPlooy's Jungle Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing