We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, authentic Belizian food”
Review of Prissy's Place - CLOSED

Prissy's Place
Cuisines: Central American
Description: Prissy's Place, home of good Belizean Food, Safe environment and Friendly staff. Located downtown San Ignacio, on the corner of Far West St. and Bullet Tree Rd.
Restaurant details
Description: Prissy's Place, home of good Belizean Food, Safe environment and Friendly staff. Located downtown San Ignacio, on the corner of Far West St. and Bullet Tree Rd.
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stopped by for lunch and were more than impressed with the food at Prissys. The staff was very helpful and courteous and the food was some of the best we tasted in Belize. We would eat again at Prissy's without a doubt!

Date of visit: August 2013
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Owner at Prissy's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

We are glad to see our staff's efforts and our food pleased you. As one of the many choices you could have made, we are happy that you picked us. Please let all of your friends know and hopefully they too can have the same good experience. Thank you and come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

I didn't actually stay here or even eat here as the restaurant is only open until 3/4 (although there are plans to extend the opening hours in to the evenings - especially at weekends). I'm rating it because the owner was so friendly and helpful, even though I was staying there and every time I walked past the food smelt sooo good.

Date of visit: June 2013
Thank Sm1ler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Owner at Prissy's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you for your kind words. Please come by and enjoy more than the aroma. I can tell you from personal experience the food tastes as good as it smells. We hope you will come back, eat and explore our accommodations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The best part of Prissy's was simply that it was open on Good Friday, when every other establishment was closed for the holiday.
Because of that, the place was full and the service was even more slow than the standard relaxed pace in Belize.
But, when the food came, it was pretty good and moderately priced.

Date of visit: April 2013
Thank GretaZ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Owner at Prissy's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

First and foremost thank you for coming to Prissy's Place, though as you stated we were about the only choice. This is part of our plan to service customers. The response was more than we expected and regret that service was slow. We are, as many others are, struggling in this economy and staffing has been reduced. I gather that most everything else went well and we are glad. Please feel free to offer any suggestions that you might have to improve the experience.
Thank you again and please come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The beans with rice and the pork was very good. I just wish that they were not so stingy with the amount of pork that they service. One "big" piece ended up being the bone of a pork chop. I really liked the sauce, but would have enjoyed more of it. The salad was fresh and good.

This is a nice place to eat. The rest of the menu looked very good with creole and Belizean food. I would return, hopefully getting a bigger portion!

Date of visit: March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank luke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Owner at Prissy's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad to find out where we come up short in giving you an enjoyable experience. The fact that you received a meat dish that was mostly bone or stringy would be an issue that we would like to have been made aware of at the time of your visit.
We always encourage our cutomers to expect a proper meal, and can adjust to or address any problems. Please come again and you should not experience this issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

The owner personally served us a special local dish.... and it was fantastic! Warm smiles, great service and seriously delicious food. Don't miss this authentic restaurant off the beaten path in downtown San Ignacio.

Date of visit: January 2013
Thank Adreanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Owner at Prissy's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

First we wish to thank you for patronage. I am glad that your visit was a good one and hope that you and your friends will return. We are working hard to become a place of first thought.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prissy's Place also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing