We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
124
100
29
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
100
29
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location the owner type chairs front street reggae music street noise great water pressure small room people watch clean rooms great shower double bed air conditioning water taxi sea breeze full kitchen central america
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2015 via mobile

We enjoyed staying in one of the lower units (Sea view room) with private veranda and hammock with a great view. The staff were friendly and helpful and the place was clean.
Downsides were the terrible water pressure and lack of hot water, as well as being pretty noisy especially early in the morning. The noise from the main street at the front wasn't too bad but the dog rescue place two buildings down and the pet park directly behind means there is quite a lot of barking. The noise from the people in the unit above was pretty bad so try and get an upper unit if you can.

  • Stayed: March 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AKR234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2015

We stayed two nights on a lower unit, it was clean and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. Ample hot water, strong wi-fi, fridge, beer/wine opener and coffe maker were a nice extra we didnt get at other places. There a a few stray cats that are friendly that hang out around the hotel. We enjoyed feeding them and I think they are use to travelers giving them love. Only negative for us was the bunk beds, if you are a couple I recomend asking for a room with a single bed. But as three or traveling with friends they would be a plus. I would go back.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Joshua K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2015 via mobile

We found De Real Macaw by luck as everywhere on the island was booked up. The owner was so friendly and helped us move our luggage from our other apartment which meant more time on the veranda people watching.
3 of us shared room 1 which has a long veranda over-looking Front Street with access to 2 hammocks and a clothes line to dry our things after diving.
Ambushman (a local celebrity) has a stand right opposite and there is no end of good music and activity throughout the day - not a room for people looking for total piece and quiet.
The rooms and towels are cleaned/changed daily and the beds were comfortable. The single bed in room 1 probably needs a new spring mattress soon but not impossible to sleep on.
There is A/C and fans in the room and running hot water from the showers.
The small kitchenette has everything you need for a short stay with a good sized fridge/freezer.
There is no safe but a lockable drawer you can keep valuables in, but we barely used this as we felt safe and there is CCTV on the premises.
The communal areas have picnic benches and sun loungers for when the sun is overhead and the leaves are swept away daily so it's always nice and clean.
We loved this room and this hotel - close enough to the split to enjoy the water and close enough to town for dinner or a night out but not in the thick of it so it's nice and quiet at nighttime.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Ellie5723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2015 via mobile

The hotel itself is fine. They keep it clean, the staff is friendly, there aren't any bugs or anything but I wish I had known about the bar across the road that blasts bass-filled reggae music until 2-3 am every night. I am a light sleeper and had to sleep with headphones on (super uncomfortable) to be able to fall asleep to the thumping music. Oh, they also love to play the same song over and over. Just a few buildings down you can't hear it. :(

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Deniseborders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the upper cabana for 2 nights and it was great. Location is perfect, it's right in town, and it surprisingly wasn't loud at night. The owners keep a close eye on their property and are very nice. I even noticed security cameras in the office. The room was pretty small but roomie enough for a couple people. Very clean. There are many friendly kitties that roam the area but aren't a nuisance. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Katie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews