We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
54
57
12
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
57
12
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cable tv restaurants bars air conditioning awesome location free wifi minute walk split island snorkel caye
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed at the hotel in the off-peak season as Caye Caulker was a last minute end of summer trip. The hotel recently underwent an upgrade with a remodel, and it was very nice. The front desk arranged a snorkel tour for us, as well as providing recommendations for food that were more local in nature, as opposed to the tourist places. We had a fantastic time and will return. The hotel is located across from the water taxi, so you don't even have to walk far once you arrive. The bars and restaurants are all close by, and The Split is at the end of the street. very convenient.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor have a better view of the beach and sea area.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

While the bright exterior and central location of Rainbow is initially impressive, you will regret here. The Rainbow Hotel has the worst customer service I have ever encountered. The management's sole interest is on making a profit regardless of their customers.

In addition to the horrible customer service, the recently remodeled rooms try to disguise inadequate facilities. For example, after taking a shower, the drains would back up with sewage creating the most disgusting smell that permeated the entire room for the duration of our stay. Hotel management were unwilling to accommodate or acknowledge any problems saying they were "a family run business in a developing country." While advertising free internet, they neglect to tell you that it must be accessed in the office due to a weak signal.

For the same price, there are much better choices for accommodations on the island. We wished we would have stayed at one of the other (Sea Dream hotel or one of the other many places).

Room Tip: The rooms we saw on the top floor smelled like sewer, which permeated the entire room. Not sure if this was the same for rooms on the bottom level.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 29209Happytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at the rainbow hotel for a long weekend in February after we had heard that they just renovated.
We're very impressed. Through the renovation, the rainbow catapulted itself in the top range of Caye Caulker.

When we got there, we were a bit taken aback by the outside. Though it did get a nice new paint job, it still looks like a Hotel (as opposed to the beach resorts). But: Don't judge a book by it's cover. It is definately worth checking out the rooms from the inside.

Location, location, location

The rainbow is located about as central as it gets on the main beach strip. Restaurants, Bars and Night Clubs are close enough to easily walk there (even in midday sun) but far enough so that we had no trouble sleeping.

High class rooms

We've stayed in Caye Caulker a bunch of times before and are used to a more pragmatic, rustic set up of hotel rooms. Rainbow just redid their rooms with high class beds, new bathroom installations, a sort of open bar half kitchen, nice floors. Felt more like a Radisson or a Hilton in Europe than a Hotel on the beach strip of Caye Caulker.

But ... it's not a beach resort.

Some resorts on Caye Caulker are right on the beach and it looks like they have a private beach. Fact is (like throughout most of the Caribbean) that nobody can claim private beach access. So you can go anywhere and use any pier to go swimming. Which we did without a problem. There's a very nice dock just opposite of the main entrance of rainbow.

We liked the rooms and service very much - Rainbow is a lot of bang for the buck, even in high tourist season.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated rooms on the second floor!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelinkraut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

The staff was very friendly and had a warm welcome. The amenities were excellent. The room was very clean and the we enjoyed the nice beachfront view. The room had soft beds, mini kitchen, air-condition etc that made our stay very comfortable. Most of the time Mike and I stayed indoor.

Room Tip: Select a room on the second floor so you can enjoy the view rising sun.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shevon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We pulled up in the water taxi without a room. Nothing online was available that we saw.
The golf cart taxi driver took us here first stop.
From the outside, it looks like a basic well kept beachfront motel, but inside the newly
renovated room was 2 fantastic beds, a 40" LCD tv, nice compact kitchen and a great bathroom. There was a new electronic safe in the closet, new quiet ac on wall and everything in the place looked just built. It is located right across from the new sand beach the gov't is building, and across from their shorefront restaurant right in centre of the town essentially.

Overall, for Caye Caulker, it was a very nice room, and worth the very little extra it cost. It had no extra amenities, but for Caye Caulker, the area is so small quaint and communal that there is no need beyond just a very nice room.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TantheManBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews