We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachfront Rooms are absolutely best place to stay on island”
Review of Colinda Cabanas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colinda Cabanas
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2017

I only stayed at the hotel for two days but I wish I could have stayed longer. The room I had was the Beachfront Lower Suite 1b. The room was very nice and clean. The balcony was great for sitting outside and relaxing the only con is that I was too short to see over the wall when sitting. The room is long shaped so you walk into the living room then straight back you have the kitchen on the left side and the bathroom on the right side. Continue walking straight you have the bedroom. The bedroom is the only room that is air continued but the fan in the living room really helps to keep that area cool. The bathroom is the only room with no real ventilation and gets hot but I just moved the fan to the door of the bathroom when showering. The signs in the room warn about making sure that trash is thrown away immediately and this is for good reason. While I was sitting outside, I left a glass out for just 30 minutes and had a family of ants making their home. I didn't have any issues inside the room but made sure all my trash was thrown away or in a sealed container. If I was too lazy to go to the trash in the evening I put the trash in a plastic bag in the fridge and threw it out in the morning. The pier was located directly in front of the room with direct access to the water.

Juan and his wife were super nice and when you check in, he gives you a summary of the island, some places to eat, where the supermarket is located and times that they are open. The information he gave me on arrival helped me out the first night. Wifi worked with no issues.

The TV is mounted flush to the wall you would be unable to plug in a Firestick but I never turned on the TV (too beautiful to sit in front of a TV).

I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Any of the beachfront rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Abi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2017

We booked here based off the fact that so many of our friends recommended it. We only stayed 2 days before we moved to a different location (they originally didn't have all the dates we needed, so had no choice but to book elsewhere). We met Colin & Linda and they are so very sweet. Juan and Emelita also help manage the property and they too were very nice and helpful. Provided a map of hot spots to hit that we ended up referencing for the rest of the trip. They have a great pier and lots of gear/kayaks/floaties you can borrow. The complimentary bikes were crucial as it is on the more southern end of the island, so in order to get to some of said hot spots, cruising on a bike is way easier :)

We stayed in the smaller of the cabins. The bed was comfy. We did get bitten a bit at night (standard mosquitoes), but that's to be expected when you're that close to the beach with no A/C haha!

Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JENNIFER M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

Just got back from 5 nights stay at Colinda Cabanas. Loved the hotel, in a nice and quiet location just south of the town, with the bikes it only takes like 5 minutes to reach the town. We loved sitting in the sun on the dock and just soaking up the chilled vibes. Juan was super friendly, all in all, a very good spot to stay!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank bay23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for our week, thankful for air conditioning in bedroom as it was very humid. Tips on website were spot on, especially about Avon skin so soft with bug repellent. Juan and his family took great care of us, and was there to help whenever we needed it. This is a quiet place well off the noisy front street. We enjoyed our vacation very much. Ate at Chef Juan’s and Maggie’s sunset kitchen many times. The bikes were great, we used them to go all over.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank kdctravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

A very cozy cabana where everything is foreseen for your stay at Caye Caulker: good bed, water in the room, coffee beans for breakfast, decent shower and bikes to get you everywhere you want on the island!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Martijn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.5 km away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
306 reviews
0.1 km away
Barefoot Beach Belize
Barefoot Beach Belize
#5 of 19 in Caye Caulker
479 reviews
0.7 km away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
107 reviews
1.1 km away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
265 reviews
0.6 km away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Caye Caulker
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colinda Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colinda Cabanas

Address: | On a prime sandy beach facing the reef, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range: €40 - €113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colinda Cabanas is located on a prime safe and quiet beachfront property on the island of Caye Caulker in Belize. Facing the reef on the preferred East side, we are blessed with an almost constant Cool North-Easterly breeze. Most nights star-gazing is amazing while listening to the surf breaking on the reef. Naturalists and children alike will enjoy the abundant species of migratory birds, reptiles and marine life. We currently have twelve units available for nightly rentals. Each of our units are slightly different and offer various amenities depending on your needs and your budget. Prices range from $69.00 - $159.00 per night + tax for 2 persons. Single travelers receive $5.00 off per night. We also offer discounts for 5 or 7 night stays. Some of the Cabanas and all of the beach suites offer ocean views. All units have a fridge,coffee maker, coffee beans and 5 gallon purified water station. Some units have full kitchens and a/c. The bathrooms have a good supply of hot reverse osmosis purified water. Free WiFi in room. We also supply bicycles and kayaks. (Free of charge on a first come basis). A 175' long pier with chairs, palapa and hammocks and safe swimming area completes the picture ! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing