We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location , good sleeps”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barefoot Caribe Hotel
Ranked #13 of 32 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location , good sleeps”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Alittle more money than some others but was clean and we slept well. The owners are very nice ..the only poor thing was they did not have or offer potable water to thier guests. Ac worked well . This property is basically downtown Caye Caulker.. No free use of boats or bikes which we got at another place on the island.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north end of the building at street front have a view of the ocean the rest have a peek...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dktiessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    35
    14
    3
    6
See reviews for
8
29
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
299 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hotel has reasonably helpful staff and a great location. It was relatively inexpensive and a good value for that low cost. Our room was toward the back of the hotel, had two full beds, and A/C. The bathroom was a bit shabby and there were a few small bugs. Unlike many other hotels on Caulker, there were no veranda chairs for the back (cheaper) rooms. I wished the room had more than one lock on the door, but I appreciated that the staff seemed to keep a very close eye on the people coming and going from the hotel. Laundry is also available on-site at a reasonable price and quick turnaround.

Room Tip: Front rooms are right on the main street, so might be a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny_in_Palo_Alto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed for a few nights in december. The staff were helpful and friendly. There we no bugs and it was clean though a bit old it was fine for us. We had a back room with no AC just a fan which was ok as it wasnt too hot. The rooms seems fairly big and the AC rooms looked good too. Good location quiet. Hot water. Nothing fancy. Accepts credit cards.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birdspaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
246 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

I believe this hotel has recently chan ged management. My brother and I walked past it several times on the way to the beach and finally stopped in to check it out. The staff were most accomodating and we eventually changed to this location. Ultra clean and spacious rooms, lots and lots of hot water, a charming balcony out front with 2 chairs and a hammock to relax and watch the street traffic, and helpful staff. The place looked, smelled, and was clean. Hose downstairs to wash the sand off your feet was a nice addition. The refrigerator and TV worked flawlessly. The only thing missing was a coffee maker. This is where I would go back to if i go back to Caye Caulker.

Its only 2 or 3 minutes walk to the Split for snorkelling and there is a bunch of restaurants within 2 minutes the other direction.
Only 3 minutes from The Split

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diverdan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2011

At first it seems a very good and cleary hotel!!! But the bathroom is very old, with smeel and black water.... But very horror is the big cockroachs come in the room at night!!!! Be carefool, don't stay and reserve it!!!! Credit card not function with chip and the staff is not friendly!!!!

The price for cockroach room is too expensive (75 US DOLLARS IN HIGH SEASON and 40 US DOLLARS IN LOW SEASON!!!!

The sea in all island is terrible, don't go to CAYE CAULKER!!!There isn't beach and there are lots of seaweed!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exploited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.5 km away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
262 reviews
0.0 km away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
254 reviews
0.5 km away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
119 reviews
0.3 km away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
253 reviews
1.0 km away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Caribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Caribe Hotel

Property: Barefoot Caribe Hotel
Address: Front Street | Caye Caulker Village, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms have a minimalist Caribbean decor and we pride ourselves on having comfortable beds - very quiet at night. From your private balcony, you will have a view of the Caribbean Sea & the barrier reef which is only 1.25 miles away. The world-famous Split is a 5-minute walk up the beach, Raggamuffin Tours are just across on the beach, and the Caye Caulker Craft Market is literally next to us. We have an amazing private dock over azure waters, giving you plenty of space to swim & relax. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing