We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Anchorage Beach Resort(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
De Real Macaw(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Blue Wave Guest House(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Popeyes Beach Resort(Caye Caulker)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Anchorage Resort Hotel Belize City(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
US$98
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barefoot Caribe Hotel(Caye Caulker)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
234
23
6
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
23
6
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaye reefhot tubfull kitchenlocal callsplace to stayrooftop deckliving roomtwo coupleswater taxilocked gatetop floorself cateringcool offlazy lizardgreat rooftoplaid backwell equipped kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 266 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2012

What we were looking for
A nice quiet, comfortable 2 bedroom unit on Caye Caulker. As close to the water as possible.




General location

A very good location. Near the split and close to everything on this small caye. Stores, shops, street BBQ and dive shops. Caye Caulker is a unique little island, not alot of quality eateries, but a few, and although we met some very, very kind locals, the general vibe is that of backpackers, and not super friendly islanders. Caye Caulker is know for the motto “go slow”, but I found it to have a fair amount of street hustlers a la Mexico trying to get get you in to their establishments.
Belize is wonderful and unique, but it has its share of problems like anywhere else. It is not uncommon in Caye Caulker to have buildings, shacks and peirs in a state of disrepair. Caye Reef’s condition is very good.



Cleanliness

Very clean, although our towels were never changed once in our 4 day stay. I had asked for clean towels after day 3, and was told “sure”. It didn't happen.
Also worth noting , the orientation book on the coffee table instructs gueststhat this is a “do not flush your toilet paper, use the trashcan in the bathroom” condo / hotel. We have stayed at one other such place in the past, the “toilet /trash can” was expectedly cleaned out once or twice a day. At Caye Reef we were astounded and very disappointed that the “toilet/trash can was not emptied even once in our entire stay. And for a nightly $180 -$200 US....gimme a break. Please remove my "toilet trash"
A fair price warrants much better attention to potty detail.



The Rooms 

Probably the nicest rooms on Caye Caulker. Very spacious, very tasteful in decor. Bold local art. Modern. Fully equipped kitchen, spices, coffee utensils and clean water. Wifi. Nice tight windows for quiet. Reasonable, moderately effective window coverings for shade. Very good airconditioning system for when it’s just too hot, even with the breeze. Pretty much everything you need. Variable lighting. Our coffee caraffe had a crack and was promptly replaced with new machine. Very nice.

Water pressure and hot water
Perfect.


Sleep and bed comfort

Go for a room with a king bed. Bed comfort good, pillow comfort medium



Amenities

Nice pool, clean pool area, a nice singing man cleans the lounge chairs and all common areas daily. It would be nice if all common areas were non smoking. It would also be nice if all guests observed the “private music devices only permitted with headphones” rule. Props to Caye Reef for putting such a rule in place. Disappointing to see / hear guests ignore the rule. 



Food and Drink
None on site, no problem
Paradiso is the nearest quality breakfast shack, a 1 minute walk. All other food places are very close.
For other good eats, stick to The Rainbow Grill, Sando's Italian and for street BBQ try to catch Otis's jerk chicken...it is sooo good. Skip past Jolly Roger, sorry Roger

The Staff

Quite nice and very helpful. They helped us arrange bike rentals, taxis, flights and as mentioned the coffee machine was replaced in a pinch.

The Crowd

With a condo hotel you get a wide range of people. Sometimes small quiet families like us and some of our neighbors, who just want a nice spacious home base. Sometimes you get large noisey families who cram as many relatives into a room as possible like some of our other neighbors. Their sheer numbers take over and suddenly the common spaces aren’t so common. 



The Vibe
Pleasant enough.


Pros

Stylish and spacious and not run down. Very nice rooftop deck. A “10 local calls” cellphone provided gratis. Great location.



Cons

“Toilet paper trashcan” detail completely neglected.

Suggestions
Have someone attend to the ”toiletpaper trashcans” 1 or 2 times a day.
No smoking.
Remove doorstops from doors, so partiers can party with their doors closed.

Summary
Caye Caulker has a backpacker “rooms for rent” vibe, no luxury resorts. Caye Reef is probably your best choice on Caye Caulker, perhaps also Iguana Reef although I have never stayed there..

Room Tip: Pick a room with a king bed
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DKTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartHH, Owner at CayeReef, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2012

Thank you for such a thorough review DKTravler. Apologies that the towels were not changed when requested. It is our policy to do so and regrettably, on this occasion, your request seems to have been forgotten. All staff have now been refreshed on the importance of delivering on promises.

We have now changed our policy, in-room documentation and guest briefing to allow guests to flush toilet paper. This is made possible by a new brand of TP and our anaerobic digestor system. We agree that the previous system was incongruous with guest expectations.

We hope your next stay is a five star experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed at CayeReef March 10 through March 16th. There were 4 ladies traveling together and the condo was perfect. We had grand plans of buying our own food and cooking but that basically lastest all of 5 minutes. Regardless it was really nice to be able to make coffee (nothing like watching the sunrise in your hammock drinking a hot cup of java) and have a refrigerator for water/beer etc. We stayed in the ground floor condo and enjoyed having easy access to the pool as well as not having to climb stairs after returning from dinner/drinks. Bobbi and Bunny were incredibly helpful...Bobby even let me use her phone to call the USA when I couldn't get mine to work. The condo was very clean. A few things...while we didn't mind that there was no housekeeping at all during our stay it would have been great to have someone offer to change out the towels as well as refresh necessities like toilet paper. However, we did ask and it was taken care of immediately.

We felt very safe and really enjoyed talking to the locals as well as the tourists. This i simple island life where time slows down (stands still really). If you want to go on a vacation and have someone serve you fruity drinks on a tray pool/beachside or you like to get dressed up in heels, makeup and dresses you may want to just skip CC all together. We ate our meals in our bathing suits with cover ups or just threw on a pair of shorts, t-shirt and flip flops. I can't wait to go back with my family.

Room Tip: While the view is spectacular from the 2nd and 3rd floors we loved not having to climb stairs every time we came back (which was a lot considering the location near the split).
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marcy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartHH, Owner at CayeReef, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Thanks for the great review Marcy C, it is appreciated. Freshening the place up on request is in fact all part of the service (see the policies on our web site). With thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at Caye Reef from 2/25/2012- 3/3/2012. We had a wonderful time. The accomodations were 1st rate and the staff was very helpful. We will stay there again. the only complaint I have is that the week went by too fast.... David F Weir

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartHH, Owner at CayeReef, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thanks for the kind words David, we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Overall, these apartments offer great freedom, amenities and luxury to all guests. From the extremely friendly staff to the great location near the "split", it is a great place to stay. With a hot tub on the roof, a pool on the main floor, and hammocks on each patio, it offers plenty of relaxation spots. While I do admit it comes with a slightly larger price tag, it is definitely worth it when comparing it with other accommodations on the island. When booking, Bobbi (the manager) will take great care to arrange pickups from the airport, personal greetings when arriving on the island, and assisting with any personal needs you may have! Happy vacationing in Caye Caulker!

Room Tip: Each floor has a similar layout, but the penthouse suites appear to have a larger balcony if you were wishing to spend more time outside.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank canuck345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Spent a week in Caye Caulker and after spending a lot of time walking around and looking we concluded that this is probably one of the best hotels on the island (we booked here because it was ranked #1 on trip advisor). It is close to everything you need: the beach, shops, restaurants. The suites are spacious with the promised A/C and safes. It was nice to know that the gate was locked every night. The pool is lovely and you just can't beat the 360 degree view from the rooftop patio (with hot tub). There was 13 of us staying at this hotel (in 3 rooms) but there were 8 other people in our group who stayed elsewhere. It was nice to have the flexibility to 'entertain' the whole group on the rooftop.

The only negatives we experienced were minor. The staff only come in to clean every 3rd day (or so) so don't expect daily cleaning like a 'regular' hotel. The beds are very firm and the A/C cutting in and out throughout the night may disrupt your sleep. Also, there are 2 kayaks that are available for use, but we didn't find out about them until it was too late.

If we ever return to Caye Caulker we will definitely book at this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeannaGrenwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartHH, Owner at CayeReef, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thanks for the excellent review and helpful comments. We have now updated our hotel policy on-line to make the maid service provision more clear.

We have found, for most guests, that our beds are a good compromise between too firm and too soft. It is a hard one to get right, but I think we are close.

In designing the AC system we made them as quiet as possible by placing the condenser outside the bedrooms in a cupboard and putting the compressor outside the building. Some sound inevitably remains, though we have never had a complaint. An alternative is to turn off the AC at night and use one of the roof fans - they make, in my mind, a more soporific sound.

Finally, the two kayaks are the property of the manager and not CayeReef, though she does frequently make them available to guests.

We look forward to hosting you again at CayeReef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews