We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$202
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$356
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SunBreeze Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mata Rocks Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$170
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$348
US$320
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sapphire Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$236
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mayan Princess Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Sandbar Beachfront Hostel & Restaurant(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$48
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel del Rio(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,169)
Filter reviews
1,169 results
Traveller rating
1,066
85
13
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,066
85
13
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf cartbanana pancakesfishambergris cayecaptain oliverdinner reservationsin townbreakfast was includedswim up barhidden treasurewasher dryerevery morningpaddle boardsblack orchidlong pierfull kitchencab driver
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 1,169 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2018

We loved our unit (#13) at Pelican Reef: spacious 2 bedroom, immaculate housekeeping, ground floor close to pool, bar and office. Thanks to Tristan and all staff for a wonderful stay on Ambergris Caye.
Complimentary breakfast was outstanding, many choices, with light (fruit platter) and hearty (banana pancakes) options. Cocktails and lunch menu really great too. Guacamole and chips, or kale salad perfect!
We appreciated the friendly atmosphere and the organization of our golf cart rental, excursions (snorkeling is so close by, pick up at end of pier for short ride out to reef) and transfers. Day trip to Lamanai Mayan site by plane, short van ride and speedboat was excellent.
The pool is not heated but is beautiful and refreshing.
I am running our of superlatives, so in a word, GO!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatznKidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

Not knowing anything about Belize, I was thrilled when we walked into the courtyard at Pelican Reef Villas. We arrived in San Pedro on Ambergris Caye off the ferry from Belize City where chaos reined due to all the golf cart renters and trip promoters waiting to grab your business, when out of the blue (I really don't know how he did it) Carlos (set up by the villa) found us and whisked us off in his taxi through town and away from the hub-bub of the city out to the quiet of our villa (we were 6 people with just carry-on bags so one of Carlos's vans is enough). We were greeted and presented with a refreshing cool facecloth scented with eucalyptus and a complimentary cocktail as we were given a short tour of the grounds and shown to ours rooms.

Our suite was perfect! All rooms had their own bath and the top floor had a full suite. There was a full kitchen, dining room, and living room with a balcony big enough for a table and chairs where all six of us could be at once. The suite we had (#6) faced the sea and the sunrise. It was perfectly quiet--although opening the screened windows was pleasant if you wanted to hear the beach waves.

Breakfast was included with our rooms and was available all morning starting at about 6:00 (I think, we never ate that early). We stayed seven days so I was able to have a different choice every morning. There is always a pot of coffee in the morning and refreshing fruit infused water available in the afternoon. The little bar (which can even be accessed from the pool) has great drinks at reasonable prices. I never eat 3 meals a day so I never had lunch but the menu looked inviting. To keep us entertained they had bicycles, kayaks, paddle boards, and snorkel gear available free of charge. I only used the snorkel gear to get prepared for a trip out to the reef, but other people in our party used the bikes and loved them! The infinity pool was cool and refreshing. The draw for us was the opportunity to relax, lay in the sun, swim, and read in a beautiful setting and PRV was perfect for that.

It became pretty obvious to us that having a golf cart (most practical means of transportation) was wise for all sorts of reasons like getting to places for dinner, visiting town, exploring the southern reaches of the island, and experiencing the northern reaches (like The (not-so secret) Secret Beach). During our first several days, the roads were pretty potholed, but later they were graded and much smoother. Pelican Reef is about 2.5 miles from the ferry and although it is very walkable (especially nice along the beach) late at night can get dark and a speedier mode of transportation is a nice option. We valued the peace, quiet, and safety of our location much more than immediate access to city streets and noise of the traffic and crowds. Also there is a little mini-mart and two fantastic eateries just seconds down the street from PRV--the Black Orchid (spendy) and the Lone Star (reasonable prices for fantastic food). Also a ten minute walk south will take you to Stax, a small bar (not all that impressive but an option).

Since we visited in March, we experienced a new problem (just started in last few years) that the entire east coast of the island has been experiencing-sargasso debris. It is smelly and if left to itself is very ugly. We felt very fortunate to be staying at Pelican Reef because they were extremely conscientious about clearing it from their beach every single day. This is not an easy task and is almost a constant effort, but the great job they are doing becomes obvious when you walk down the beach toward town and almost all the other places have loads of stinky decaying sargasso hugging their shorelines. The proof of this effort is in the fact that at our beach, people were out in the lounge chairs and on the docks while rarely did we see anyone doing so at other places.

Last but not least, quests cannot visit PRV without noting the wonderful people who work there. The staff was not only friendly, open, and engaging but they were also extremely helpful and pleasant. Never did I feel that my questions and requests were thought to be a nuisance or a burden. People took the time to interact, but also continued to do their job with professionalism and expertise. By the end of our seven day stay, I felt I would remember them as much as I would remember what a perfect time we had in Belize...and we had a perfect time in Belize due in great part to their service.
Thanks everyone!
Kitty Garlock

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Kitty M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Pelican Reef was a great place to stay, perhaps geared more toward families who wish to stay removed from San Pedro town.

- Without golf carts it was 24 USD roundtrip into town (or 12 each way)
- No Pelican Reef restaurant dinner means cooking (condos have full kitchens) or going into town
- Staff will get you set up with activities, very friendly and helpful.
- Beach was pretty gross and smelled. East side of the Caye collects lots of sea grass (you'll find this at all the resorts)
- Snorkeling at the resort was possible, but not really desirable.

Overall the rooms were fantastic, great A/C, full kitchens, great bathrooms, great beds. This is a really good family resort.

3 Stars due to distance from town (on a poor dirt road)
4-5 Stars - if distance and lack of local food/other options was not such a pain

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelican_Reef, General Manager at Pelican Reef Villas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

On behalf of our entire team, we would like to thank you for taking the time to review Pelican Reef Resort.

We are happy that you found Pelican Reef a "great place to stay" with "very friendly and helpful staff, fantastic rooms and great beds." We feel these are all crucial contributing factors towards an enjoyable stay and we take each guest’s experience to heart.

We are disappointed that you rated our property poorly based on our location. After all, we do state our location right on the homepage of our website.

For potential guests reading this, please note that we are located approximately 2.6 miles south of San Pedro Town. The trip to town takes approximately :15 minutes (via golf cart or taxi), and a portion is via hard-packed sand/dirt roads, which can be an adventure and a challenge at times and is indicative of island life in many countries. We enjoy our location, as do most of our guests, as we are accessible to town yet away from the hustle and bustle allowing us to maintain a "beachy" neighborhood feeling.

We have a very small kitchen on property with 2 talented women who prepare delicious breakfasts and lunches for our guests daily. At dinnertime, we have found most of our guests explore the island and its culinary offerings, choose to self-cater, hire a local chef or order dinner in. We just haven’t had the demand to justify offering a dinner menu but will certainly add this to our list of services to consider, thank you.

It is important to us that our guests are aware that the sea beds in Belize have Seagrass or "Turtle Grass" growing, this is harmless and in fact is an important part of Belize’s ecosystem. This grass can grow in our shallow waters as we have such strong protection from the World's second largest barrier reef. This means our waters are warm, calm, and shallow for quite a way out. For guests wishing to swim in the Caribbean, our dock has stairs leading into the water.

Periodically, Belize, along with other areas of Central America, The Caribbean, Mexico, and USA, will experience periods of Sargasso Seaweed washing ashore, we are guessing this is what you are referencing in your review rather than sea grass. Sargasso seaweed comes from the Sargasso Sea in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean and is normally kept at bay by water temperatures and currents. Over the past few weeks, Belize, along with Mexico, the USA, other areas of the Caribbean and Central America, has been experiencing days with Sargasso seaweed washing ashore. Travelers should be aware when visiting coastal areas in any part of the world that seaweed may be present and can emit an odor. Like other resorts during times when Mother Nature strikes we hire extra staff and work diligently to keep our beach clear. In fact, we have been complimented, encouraged and supported by our understanding guests during this time for our efforts and are proud of our staff.

We appreciate that our resort, the island, and indeed the country of Belize may not be the ideal fit for your preferences and are sorry that items such as the island’s infrastructure disappointed you during your vacation. We encourage all potential guests to reach out to us directly if there is any question if our resort, location or destination is right for you - we want you to be happy and enjoy your vacation even if you don’t choose us.

And once onsite, we ask that our guests speak with us and give us real time feedback. Please allow us the opportunity to fix any issues while you are still here!

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

I spent 7 days at Pelican Reef Villas and it was special as always. Room , service , food and staff were 1st class. Have been saying at PRV for 9 years straight and miss it right now . They provide free breakfast from a menu and it is a great way to start the day and meet people. You can book any excursions right there by the cave bar or lay on the beach. They have a long boat dock that has several pads that extend Out to the side and they have cushioned deck chairs on them.You feel like you’re in the middle of the Caribbean and also you have privacy. We stayed in Villa number seven because your front porch is on the beach and you were beside the pool and eating area. The PRV staff are very pleasant, hard-working and helpful. Looking forward to next year!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Mongo5199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

We visited Pelican Reef for my best friend's birthday and my engagement. This resort and their staff are amazing! Tristan and his team were more than willing to facilitate us in our activities, dinner reservations, and anything else you could think of. The food here was incredible and fresh every time. Some memorable things about this resort is how hospitable everyone was; remembering our names everyday. Writing our names on the welcome board when we arrived, and checkin on us everyday as we relaxed by the poolside or beach. Their staff went out of their way to make sure we were fed on our excursion day and setting us up with onsite golf carts for us to get to and from Town. On our last day, they brought breakfast to our villa. Everything was absolutely perfect and I will be visiting this resort again in the near future. If you are considering Belize, also consider Pelican Reef Villa Resort for your stay. They will make you feel right at home.

Room Tip: Best views of the ocean on the back side or middle of the resort.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ajacobsangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews