We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveller rating
130
46
20
26
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
46
20
26
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub tropical villa private jacuzzi in town minute boat ride golf cart an adventure bug spray ambergris caye spa services belize city barrier reef miles north of san pedro recommend this resort shark ray alley cave tubing paradise
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 251 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2017

We passed through the beach in front of this resort daily during our recent family trip. We had seriously considered the property for our vacation, but for no particular reason, we chose someplace else.

Thank goodness. This is not a functioning resort. The grounds and setting are indeed stunning, however, it is far from a full service or even a 50% service resort. The beaches immediately adjacent are trash heaps. The resort itself can barely serve a cold beer. It is clear from the moment you stop bye to enjoy a drink they are in over their heads.

There are many other choices in proximity. They are all better.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Phranc68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

The facilities are good, the staff is very kind and they make their best to make you feel comfortable but there are some unpleasant things:
-the insane plague of mosquitoes. It’s impossible to have dinner, it’s better no to leave your room after sunset. I’m aware of the presence of mosquitoes in the Caribbean beaches but this is ridiculous.
- please clean the neighborhood beach. It look really disgusting to se trash just where the hotel ends.
3- the beach is not enjoyable. No swimming only the view.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank MildredMexicocity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

A great hotel with all the luxuries you would expect in a small island. Accessible by boat only and about a 30 minutes ride from San Pedro. A perfect hide away but if you're looking to experience the culture you may be better served staying at a hotel in San Pedro. The swimming pool is gorgeous. The restaurant's menu is exquisite and dinner in the open space next to the pool is a die-for experience.

Date of stay: November 2016
1  Thank SaraLifeStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pabell A, Director of Sales at El Secreto, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Sara,

We are glad you enjoyed our little piece of paradise. Thank you for taking the time to review El Secreto, we work very hard to make our guests live a magical experience.

We hope to host you on your next trip to La Isla Bonita.

Warm regards,
Pabell Alvarez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

We spent three days at El Secreto, having decided to go with the Getaway Package.

As part of this package, all meals were included, including soft drinks and draft beer. It also included a half-day snorkelling trip and a massage treatment, a romantic meal (see the picture) and a trip to some Mayan ruins.

From the moment that we arrived in San Pedro, El Secreto was looking after us. Someone from the hotel met us at San Pedro airfield and organised a taxi to take us to the dock. As we had arrived early in the day, our room was not quite ready. El Secreto offered, therefore, to buy us lunch in San Pedro whilst we were waiting to travel to the resort. We thought that this was a really nice touch.

After our lunch, we were taken in the El Secreto boat to the resort. This is about 11 miles north of San Pedro town centre, and most easily accessible by boat. Arriving at the hotel's jetty, the hotel manager, Estell, came to meet us off the boat. She walked us to the check-in desk and handled the paperwork. She was so friendly, even offering to call our airline to rearrange a flight, when she noticed that we had a large stopover in Belize City.

The resort itself is very well kept and attractive. With only 13 villas, you quickly get to know the faces of the staff and other guests, which makes it a very friendly place to be. The central area has the dining room and pool, and is so peaceful. The resort is at the water's edge and incredibly secluded. You really do feel like you are on your own island.

When we saw our villa, our breath was taken away. It was spacious and with an enormous bed. The bathroom was equally cavernous and we had our own hot tub. All villas have a hot tub; however, we wanted to be close to the sea, so chose a sea-view room. We were glad that we did this as it was fantastic to wake up and look out on to the water, seeing the hermit crabs scuttling along the beach and the palm trees swaying. The room was cleaned to a very high standard.

On one of the days, we went snorkelling. El Secreto staff took us on the speed boat to "Hol Chan" and "Shark Ray Alley". Snorkelling gear was provided, and the captain came into the water with us, so we felt very safe. He swam with us around the reef and pointed out the different types of fish. Seeing the barracudas, stingrays and all of the other abundant fish was very exciting. The sharks were not for the faint hearted, but really do not bite (at least not people, anyway). We really enjoyed this experience. If you are able to get up early, do. We had both locations to ourselves, but hordes of other tourists arrived as we left.

The next day, we had our massage treatments on site. These were done professionally and skilfully and we both felt very relaxed afterwards.

That evening, we had our romantic meal. As you can see from the photo, nothing was spared. I am normally quite cynical about this sort of thing, but even I was won over by the water's-edge location and intimate dining experience. If you're on holiday, why not?!

(We had read about the Belizean attitude to gay people being quite strict, but this was never an issue for us at El Secreto.)

A note on the food: We had all of our meals at the resort and were anxious about the food. However, it was all of a very high quality, cooked to order and fresh. There is a good mix of Belizean cuisine and some more international dishes. One evening, there was a huge thunderstorm, which made for a dramatic backdrop to supper.

On a practical note, it is right next to the water and tropical. Make sure that you have a healthy supply of insect repellant. The hotel supplies a can in each room, but if you have a brand that works for you, bring it.

We were so sad to leave El Secreto. It was a wonderful three days with luxurious surroundings and the most friendly staff. If you're looking for secluded relaxation, this is it.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank JT-says
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pabell A, Director of Sales at El Secreto, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Joe,

We are glad you enjoyed our little piece of paradise. Thank you for taking the time to review El Secreto, we work very hard to make our guests live a magical experience.

We hope to host you on your next trip to La Isla Bonita.

Warm regards,
Pabell Alvarez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL. It is super farm from san pedro water taxi ( where you have to be for all the tours ) and each trip you have to do will cost you more than a day at the hotel. Even though they have a boat they wont provide the free transportation, in my case they promissed via email they would, but every single time we had to use the boat we were charged an absurd amount of money.
We settled one price for a roubd trip, the captain took our money , but wasnt there to pick us up.... so we had to expend extra 100 to shuttle a boat to come back! Aside from all the money we had already payed when we arrived and when we were leaving.
When we complained we were told that they wouldnt refund us AT ALL, we had to fight for over 20 minutes to settle for less than half of what we expend in extras . They just dont care for real and they wont help you , they will rip you off in your face!

And oh! You will be eaten alive by the bugs, they wont even put up some candles to scare them away, you cant ear in the restaurant because of them!

Beautiful place but unfortunattly not worth it!!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
7  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews