We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every Room Has a View!!”
Review of Mata Rocks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mata Rocks Resort
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Every Room Has a View!!”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We loved our stay Easy beach walk to town. Rained for first three days of our stay. Room was dry and cozy. Beach bar dropped their wind screens and happy hour was still happy. Great BBQ at Robin's Kitchen accross the street and 1/2 block left. Tip - go early and arrange to have it ready later. Snorkle tours picked us up right at the Mata Rocks dock. Lots of reasonabley pirced taxis were decidedly less expensive and more convenient than caring for a rented golf cart. The free bicyle offer was nice; I took awhile to recover from my bumpy cobblestone street ride.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockyMountaintGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    148
    44
    12
    5
See reviews for
49
217
20
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
166 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Our family and our friends' family stayed over Christmas week at Mata Rocks. It’s a clean, nicely maintained hotel located approximately 25 minute walk from the center of San Pedro. The hotel pays for taxi transfers from and to the San Pedro airport.

Our friends stayed at Ocean View Pool Deck Room 9 on the first floor. The room had two double beds, TV, A/C, small refrigerator, and a coffeemaker. Our Ocean View Junior Suite S2 on the second floor was more spacious, had a comfortable king size bed, convertible sofa, small kitchenette with a round table and two chairs, TV, A/C, and a small balcony (with two chairs and a table) overlooking the pool and the ocean. The beach never felt crowded even during Christmas week, chairs and hammocks were always available; the view from the beach is very peaceful and really lovely.

All the bookings and communications were done by emails that were timely and affectively answered. The hotel provides complementary bicycles for your use during you stay.
We shopped at a local Marina’s Market(?) nearby and at nice and clean South Market for yogurt, eggs, and cheese that were great addition to the daily breakfast, and I loved the fruits and vegetables stand, probably another minute walk toward the town from the Markets. The friendly stand owner helped me to choose a ripe papaya and an excellent pineapple. We made coffee with daily complementary package; it was weak but better than coffee at breakfast. If you like strong coffee, I suggest to bring both the coffee and the filters with you. We had lunch a few times across the street at Robin's Kitchen; the juicy grilled chicken is excellent and price couldn’t be beaten.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Honestly, this place is awesome. Clean, friendly staff and everything the pictures show. We stayed for 10 days and got the 10th day free, did not want to leave!! It's located steps from the beach and if your not into sandy bottoms, the pool is great for relaxing too. The tiki bar outside is where they serve a great little continental breakfast with fruit, sweet bread and juices that are great to get your day started, not to mention a delicious pina colada. Go to the lobby and borrow one of their comp bikes and ride it till you can't go any farther ( literally, over the "toll" bridge and thru the new development condos along a gravel road) and you will come to a great little hidden bar on stilts over the ocean.
The hotel is a little bit of a walk to the hub of the city but just take the path along the beach, beautiful day and night. You can even find a hotel renting out kayaks for cheap along the way.
We went on the Manatee Adventure that mata rocks set up, the boat will pick you up right at your dock. This was the best experience ever! Not only do you get to check out manatees but you have lunch on a picturesque private island after snorkeling with tropical fish.
Get pizza at Petros or grab a rotisserie chicken and some tortillas and cheese from the market. Great snack and you can keep in in the hotel fridge.

Room Tip: Upstairs room 10 had great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RipCityRepin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
141 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My Husband and I stayed at the Mata Rocks Resort on Dec 06 thru 13 2011. It was very nice and unique resort. The staff was great and very friendly. We had Continental breakfast every morning at the Squirrels nest, that is the bar on the beach. Complimentary bikes and taxi fair to and from the resort. The Resort is right on the water. The air condioner worked great.
The Banana Beach Resort is next door and we used their Restaurant a lot. Rico's restaurant is right down the beach within walking distance. The Resort at Mata Rocks is clean, crisp and very nice. I used the hammock everyday and it was so relaxing and wonderful. Terry was great the owner and he was very helpful when we booked thru him. Suite #6 is were we stayed and it was awesome!!!!! Low floor and balcony right on the water. The Belkin beer was hmmm good!! I ate so much Lobster , shrimp and fish during our stay.
We loved to rent the golfcarts and go around the island. But the best place was the Mata Rocks and I just love staying right there taking in the view and loving every minute of it.

hbft58@gmail.com viva las vegas

Room Tip: Suite #6 has the best view it is so quite and serene
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hfbt58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

The Mata Rocks resort provides exactly what they say they will. A clean, well located, quite comfortable resort staffed with very friendly and helpful people. My wife and I stayed in suite #6 which is a main level ocean front room. You are right there on the beach. You cannot get closer without getting wet! This place is a 9 out of 10 for the money on everything they have. There are a couple of things missing however. Our room had so few drawers and cupboards that we lived out of our suit cases for the week. Also, other that the outside bar, there is no place to go and sit with friends and talk, or play a game or just get out of the sun or rain. We very much enjoyed out stay at Mata Rocks and we do recommend it. We will be visiting San Pedro again next year but I think we will be staying at the Banana Beach resort for a change.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.7 km away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
790 reviews
2.4 km away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 54 in San Pedro
174 reviews
1.8 km away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
#24 of 54 in San Pedro
279 reviews
1.0 km away
Exotic Caye Beach Resort
Exotic Caye Beach Resort
#40 of 54 in San Pedro
259 reviews
3.1 km away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#22 of 54 in San Pedro
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mata Rocks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mata Rocks Resort

Property: Mata Rocks Resort
Address: 45 Coconut Drive | PO Box 47, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#20 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#27 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Mata Rocks Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate beachfront hotel providing personalized service in a casual atmosphere. Located one mile south of San Pedro on a beautiful sandy beach. All rooms and Jr. Suites have ocean views, A/C, cable TV, mini-fridges, coffeemakers, hair dryers, safes. Some rooms have kitchenettes. Complimentary continental breakfast, daytime use of bicycles, and taxi transfer upon arrival/departure are included in room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Mata Rocks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mata Rocks Hotel San Pedro
Mata Rocks San Pedro
Mata Rocks Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing