We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Ginger root in my welcome drink?!?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Phoenix Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Phoenix Resort
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Cottonwood Heights, Utah
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Ginger root in my welcome drink?!?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Yup, and it was delicious. Developing countries can leave you wanting in the customer service department, but Stacey and crew have raised the bar on Ambergris Caye. This is our second time staying at the Phoenix and 6th time in San Pedro. We have tried Victoria House, Mata Chica, and Belize Legacy Resort. All were away from town which has some advantages if you want to be away from things. These condos are spacious, modern, temperature controlled, and beautiful. The Phoenix condos have well appointed interiors with modern/Western appliances (somewhat rare in Belize). The staff at the Phoenix are responsive, conscientious, and make efforts to learn your name as quickly as possible. The hotel restaurant is called Red Ginger. It is eclectic, local, and creative. They have wonderful seafood and non-seafood options. If you want something cheaper, their are lots of "hole-in-the-wall" spots in town. The front desk provides better concierge service than many 4 and 5 star hotels. Their recommendations on side-trips and their willingness to take care of the details is impressive.
We come to San Pedro for diving/snorkeling, relaxinging by the pool, eating good food, and the occasional sidetrip (ruins, fly-fishing, Blue Hole, etc). This time we brought our 2 kids age 10 and 16, and one of our aunts. Despite a range of interests and ages we all had a great time at the Phoenix.
We LOVE that the cruise ships can't get their people here due to the reef. Their are certain people that will be very happy on Ambergris Caye. Among those people, I think this is your best option right now.

Room Tip: We've stayed on the 2nd and 3rd floor. Both are just fine. If you don't like stairs, stay on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank divelovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    877
    39
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
311
367
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Phoenix for 5 days in the middle of February 2012. I rank the service equal to that of the Four Seasons in Costa Rica which was another great experience that we had last spring. The staff was unbelievable! Stacey Chesnick the manager helped me from my initial inquiry through our departure. She was one of the most service oriented friendly people I have ever met. Upon my daughters departure without a prompt from myself she set up a driver to meet my daughter at the water taxi and made sure she got to the main airport in Belize City. In fact she gave her a complimentary cell phone which the driver brought back to insure she made the connection to the airport, including one last check-in call with her before her flight. This was true beginning to end service with a very personal touch.
Thanks again,

John and Lindsey Cochran

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarrytown, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

I've stayed at the Phoenix twice in the last two years and each time longer than 4 days.

These condos are great if you want all the modern comforts of home while away. They really try to think of everything to make your stay pleasant. For example;

Each condo has a full kitchen so you can save a bit of money cooking meals and doing your own laundry (stackable washer/dryer in the room). They give you laundry detergent too. There's also enough plates and cookware so you can actually cook for a big family. Coffee, Tea, suger, etc.

WIFI in the rooms are the fastest in Belize that I have found.

Easy to use Flatscreen TV's with laptop hookup capability. I hooked up my PS3 to the TV. They also have a DVD player and lots of cable channels. They also have a TV in every bedroom which is great if you are staying in one of their 2 or 3 bedroom condos.

Clean filtered water for drinking/cooking.

Aveda bath products. They even provide Aveda hair conditioner so you don't have to bring travel items from home.

Ceiling fans in every room so you don't have to use the A/C if you don't want to. Also, the A/C is central air and not loud at all.

Very, very comfortable beds with nice cotton sheets and down comforters. Lots of fluffy towels in the room and outside by the pool area.

LED flashlight in the hallway for evening strolls.

Golf Cart rentals onsite

Free transfer from the airport to the condo.

I know a condo setting is not for everyone. It doesn't have that Belize tropical vibe you would find at places like Mata Chica or Rojo Lounge or even Victoria House. The location and staff can't be beat though. Be careful if you want to stay on a higher floor. They have installed handrails on their stairs but they are still pretty steep and slippery when wet for children and older adults. I would not recommend any high floors for small children because of the numerous stairs and large outdoor patios.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadAboutTheWold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed at the Phoenix for 10-days at the beginning of February with another couple. This was our third trip to Ambergris Caye - but our first time staying at the Phoenix. We absolutely loved staying here and would rank it as the best place to stay on the island.

SERVICE: Its hard to say what was the BEST part of staying at the Phoenix ... but the service is certainly at the top of the list. I have to give a shout out to Maurice at Red Ginger. He is hilarious and an AWESOME server. Go in and ask for him - you won't regret it. The management there is also unparalleled. Thanks to Stacey for making sure everything during our stay was fabulous (and for a great recommendation for pizza delivery while enjoying some cocktails at BC's beach bar) - and Thanks to Mark for doing all the upfront leg-work to as we got ready for our trip (including arranging to have a case a Belikin chilling in our refrigerator upon arrival)! Everyone else was fanastic too. The front desk was always accomodating (even getting us golf cart rentals at the last minute any time we needed one). My husband particularly like Rolando - the pool bartender. It is amazing how everyone there calls you by name. We just LOVE the staff!

LOCATION: You have a lot of choices on Ambergris Caye, and if you haven't been there before, it can be difficult to decide what location makes the most sense for you. Let me tell you, this location is absolutely the best on the island. It really is right in the middle of town. You can walk to virtually every great restaurant and bar in San Pedro. While there are a lot of resorts on the north island that are beautiful, they are much more remote than they seem from intenet. Unless you are immediately to the north of the bridge, you will need to plan to take a boat/water taxi everywhere you go. Very inconvenient. It is pretty much impossible to drive a golf cart back and forth because the roads are in extremely poor repair on the north island. If you are looking for isolation, those northern resorts might be perfect - but personaly, we prefer to be more centralized. The resorts more to the south just require more walking and/or driving to get to things. In addition, while the Phoenix is right in the middle of town, it feels very private and quiet when you get inside the resort. Just PERFECT!

ROOM: The rooms are beautiful. Everything you could want - and bathrooms that are big enough to have a dance party in! The beds were very comfortable - although if you don't like big fluffy pillows, you may end up with a bit of a sore neck! I loved the bathrobes and slippers they provide for you. Really perfect accomodations.

Again, A BIG THANK YOU TO THE STAFF AT THE PHOENIX! We will be back!

Room Tip: We were room D-5. This is a third floor, ocean-front, two-bedroom suite. It is nice and secluded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Just_An0ther_Gringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed here for three nights and have only positive things to say. We had requested a 1-bedroom condo but were placed in a 3-bedroom unit as (I believe) the 1-bedroom units were fully booked. All of the units in the resort have a great view, forming a U-shape facing the ocean. Grounds were immaculate. I felt that we had the perfect experience in San Pedro, as the town feels a bit on the "rustic" side, but the Phoenix, even located in town, was the perfect retreat from the activity in town. Plus, San Pedro offers tons of dining and drinking establishments to choose from. However, if you don't feel like leaving the hotel, food at Red Ginger was very good! Highly recommend the Phoenix.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndreaNChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.6 km away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
3.2 km away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
4.4 km away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#19 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
3.0 km away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#8 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
11.1 km away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Property: The Phoenix Resort
Address: Pescador Drive | San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort found on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. The Phoenix Resort features 27 beautifully-finished & spacious condominium suites, gourmet food served at on-site restaurant Red Ginger, the on-site services of Sol Spa, San Pedro's original and most popular day spa, a beautiful saline chlorinated and heated main pool & separate lap pool, pool bar, on-site fitness center, business center, front desk & concierge services from 6am to 11pm, free WiFi, 24 hour security, and the perfect location beachfront in the heart of San Pedro, the social center of Ambergris Caye. All suites face the Caribbean and offer plush Serta pillow top mattresses, 100% cotton linens & robes, Jacuzzi tubs & separate showers, Aveda bath & body products, flat screen TVs, DVD players, Bose wireless speakers, in suite iPads, full kitchens, washer and dryer, laptop friendly safes, central air conditioning, twice daily housekeeping, & much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing