We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in San Pedro”
Review of The Phoenix Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Phoenix Resort
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in San Pedro”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed here for three nights and have only positive things to say. We had requested a 1-bedroom condo but were placed in a 3-bedroom unit as (I believe) the 1-bedroom units were fully booked. All of the units in the resort have a great view, forming a U-shape facing the ocean. Grounds were immaculate. I felt that we had the perfect experience in San Pedro, as the town feels a bit on the "rustic" side, but the Phoenix, even located in town, was the perfect retreat from the activity in town. Plus, San Pedro offers tons of dining and drinking establishments to choose from. However, if you don't feel like leaving the hotel, food at Red Ginger was very good! Highly recommend the Phoenix.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndreaNChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    911
    40
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
325
381
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

For our first trip with my sister and her family, we decided on Belize, with our first stop being Ambergris Caye. The Phoenix offered a 3 bedroom condo which was perfect for 2 couples and 2 teenage boys (we even had a washer and dryer). We had plenty of room, and a beautiful view from our large balcony. The food at the hotel was good, and the location is walkable to most of the restaurants in Ambergris. The service was great as well. We would definitely stay at the Phoenix again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank uncvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary Alberta
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We 'discovered' the Phoenix on TA and stayed there in Feb 2011. My wife and I and our kids loved it. We found ourselves with an opportunity to stay again in August 2011 (did the ATM tour then…..don't miss that) and when we were deciding upon a location for our Feb 2012 trip, noone could think of anyplace they would rather go to than the Phoenix in San Pedro.

The leadership at the resort is impeccable. They have instilled a great culture in all the staff. Everyone is very pleasant and eager to provide any service they can.

In an attempt to be helpful, I recall when I was first researching San Pedro that it was difficult to understand the merits of some of the other resorts on the north part of the island. To be sure, some of them look very nice. However, we have found many other tourists in town in the evening wishing they did not have to travel so far either by boat or golf cart or taxi to get to town. The Phoenix is located near the north end of town, south of the toll bridge and is easy strolling distance to essentially every restaurant and shop in San Pedro. However, once you cross the threshold onto the Phoenix property, you are completely removed from the quaintness of the small fishing village and transported to a luxurious resort.

If there was any golfing in the area, I would be trying to buy a unit at the Phoenix!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jamielaurenhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed at the Phoenix for 6 days over Christmas 2011. The room was large, spacious and beautiful. The hotel is located right on the beach. We took advantage of the kitchen to cook many of our own meals, which gave us a break from daily restaurant meals. The pool and the grounds are lovely. It was close to everything in town. On that note, I would strongly recommend against staying in hotels located outside the town. Taking taxis and golf carts everywhere is not how you want to spend your time in San Pedro.

What stood out for us at the Phoenix more than anything was the staff. Our initial contact was with the manager Stacey. Our initial travel plans were off track due to an unreliable travel agent. Stacey not only helped us with our booking for the hotel, but provided us with general advice about what to see and do in Belize that helped us organize our two week trip. She was incredibly professional, helpful and patient. In terms of the front desk, a special thank you to Rose and Pamela who looked after everything we needed with a cheerful professionalism that we found impressive. I’ve travelled extensively and the service at the Phoenix was absolutely first class in every way.

Stacey put us in touch with Damion Williams [--] for our transportation needs. Damion operates out of Belize City and we did all our driving with Damion, including to and from San Igancio, the Belize Zoo and the Baboon Sanctuary (in addition to local trips to the airport) in his comfortable, air conditioned green van. We avoided all of the hassles of taxis and local buses (contrary to what you’ll be told, the buses sound like a nightmare if you’re not a backpacker) and used Damion exclusively. He was extremely reliable – if we made arrangements with him, he was always there, on time, to meet us. He’s competitively priced, as well as very likeable and professional. Thanks Damion!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yephuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

fabulous, small, intimate resort. Clean, spacious, well equipped rooms with fantastic views of the ocean. Perfectly located at the top of the high street, everything within walking distance and lots of restaurants to choose from. Loads of things to do for the kids...never stopped snorkeling, deep sea fishing, zip lining, night time diving, exploring ruins, inner tubing through caves, charter a catamaran with Captain Leslie for the day for a truly unforgettable experience.
Rent a golf cart and take a bumpy ride around the island!
Initial disappointment at lack of beaches ala California... small parcels of sand here and there, gentle waves lapping the shore line...no body boarding or surfing possible but ideal for my 6mth old to sit and splash and eat sand!
soooo loved this trip, will definitely return soon!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clarej2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.6 km away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
4.4 km away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
3.2 km away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#9 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
1.9 km away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
3.8 km away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Property: The Phoenix Resort
Address: Pescador Drive | San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort found on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. The Phoenix Resort features 27 beautifully-finished & spacious condominium suites, gourmet food served at on-site restaurant Red Ginger, the on-site services of Sol Spa, San Pedro's original and most popular day spa, a beautiful saline chlorinated and heated main pool & separate lap pool, pool bar, on-site fitness center, business center, front desk & concierge services from 6am to 11pm, free WiFi, 24 hour security, and the perfect location beachfront in the heart of San Pedro, the social center of Ambergris Caye. All suites face the Caribbean and offer plush Serta pillow top mattresses, 100% cotton linens & robes, Jacuzzi tubs & separate showers, Aveda bath & body products, flat screen TVs, DVD players, Bose wireless speakers, in suite iPads, full kitchens, washer and dryer, laptop friendly safes, central air conditioning, twice daily housekeeping, & much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing