We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveller rating
248
46
9
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
248
46
9
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf cart living room and dining room ambergris caye sea grass pier restaurant el divino jetted tub banyan bay the security guard washer and dryer master bedroom full kitchen modern kitchen lovely pool fruit stand great room local airport
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 312 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Grand Colony Villas. The staff was very attentive, and polite. In particular Natalie at the front desk was very helpful. The villa was spacious and well kept - exceeded our expectations. The grounds were well kept. Only exception being the seaweed, which prevented us from using the beach. If not of the beach we would be giving a 5 star review. The location was great. Away from the busy town center but still only a few minutes golf cart ride.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasFSBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBay_GColony, Marketing Officer at Grand Colony Island Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Hey TexasFSBO,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Grand Colony Island Villas. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate our service and staff. We have been, along with the rest of the Caribbean, battling with the Sargassum issue, and we offer every possible apology for this. Our groundsmen work hard every day to tackle the issue but mother nature seems relentless. Despite this minor glitch, we hope to welcome you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

The resort is away from the center of town but still has plenty to do. If you want to rent a golf cart or get a taxi it is easy. Grounds, beach and pool are well kept. Kayaks and hammocks on the beach for guest use every day. The is no elevator but the ocean views from the upper floors make it worth the walk up the steps.

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank rckhrs23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBay_GColony, Marketing Officer at Grand Colony Island Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Hi @rckhrs23,

Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, as well as all the amenities we offer. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

I echo all the latest reviews. The accommodation was good (don’t break anything as they will charge you for a set of anything to be imported!). Only one sachet of coffee provided free. The resort however is rather soulless with limited facilities and they make barely any effort to deal with the seaweed so the beach area is horrific. Therefore the paddleboards etc provided are useless. Pier 66 restaurant is nice in the sister hotel (which has a much better ambiance). So if you get a cheap nightly rate and don’t want hotel facilities as you are doing your own thing all day and night it is worth it.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Katrina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBay_GColony, Marketing Officer at Grand Colony Island Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Hi Katrina J,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to advise of your recent stay at Grand Colony Island Villas. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests.
I was disappointed to read of your experience during your stay with us. Whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, I do extend it with all sincerity. In all fairness though, we have our men daily raking and hauling out the Sargassum as best they could, unfortunately, mother nature has not made it easy for us, so we empathize with your concerns. We hope that this hasn’t put you off a return stay with us again.

All the best,

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

Overall, this hotel was a pretty amazing place while staying in Belize. The weather there can be quite humid and the room we stayed in had AC and airtight doors that kept the cool air in and the mosquitos out. Along with AC, the room was equipped with a modern kitchen, televisions in every bedroom, as well as the living room, a dining space, a bathroom, and two bedrooms. The villa is located on the shore of the Caye giving us easy access to the ocean and putting us within walking distance of restaurants that were also on the beach. And, if you're willing to spend a bit more and rent a golf cart, the hotel is only a couple of minutes from the main town of the Caye. as far as cons, the hotel does not have any restaurants although it is within walking distance of a couple. There was also an incident where the room above us had more people than it could legally hold, which was problematic at nigh, although the hotel did apologize and give us a discount on our stay. All in all, this hotel worked out quite well for a family of four and we would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank sdgirlluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBay_GColony, Marketing Officer at Grand Colony Island Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Hi @sdgirlluvs2travel,

Thank you for taking the time out to provide such amazing feedback about your stay. Please know that your feedback is important to us so we truly appreciate you taking the time out to do so. While we did not have the amenities that you were looking for, we are happy to hear you ventured to our sister resorts facilities and that of nearby locales. We hope to have you back soon for another great stay. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We have stayed - and loved- Grand Colony in 2015 and 2016. Sadly the maintenance on units has gone way down. We stayed in #17 a two bedroom pool side. The blinds in the dining room were broken, the bed left us with backaches, the walls scratched up from the too-big dining chairs and the sofa was ripped up and two living room chairs so uncomfortable. It felt run down and so different from our last visit.

The staff remain lovely, and we noticed they have new bikes. They are working to clear the seaweed but it is beyond their control and affecting many places. To avoid it stay on the bay side of the island or at a resort like Ramon’s which dedicates more workers to removal.

We ended up leaving Grand Colony three nights early to stay in another location which was better maintained. Unfortunately they have a no refund policy, even though staff didn’t offer to have us switch condos. We lost hundreds of dollars.

Our favorite “home away from home” is gone.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank NadaKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBay_GColony, Director of Sales at Grand Colony Island Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Thanks for choosing to stay with us! Sorry to hear that the standard of our villas did not meet your expectation as it did back in 2015-2016.
We do have a cancellation policy, and the reason a room change was not offered is because we were booked for your travel dates. Our reservations team did reach out to you and made efforts to compromise with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews