We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveller rating
358
88
20
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
358
88
20
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstackle boxsan pedrohol chan and shark ray alleyfishmexico rocksdive masterdive shopbudget roombarrier reefbaby oilboat trafficnurse sharksaquarium restaurantremote locationminute boat ridesea grassgreat snorkeling
Filter
Updating list...
237 - 242 of 483 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This review is long overdue. My husband and I stayed at TBR in May 2012 to celebrate our 10th anniversary. We chose TBR specifically for its isolation and because there are only 10 cabanas right on the water. We were not disappointed. The beach is literally right in front of your private cabana and is cleaned daily from the wash up from the sea. The water is crystal clear and the snorkeling right in front is awesome. We saw all types of fish, stingrays and even a harmless nurse shark. Our neighbors saw a manatee. The staff were friendly and accommodating. They set up a private dinner for us on the beach for our anniversary. Our bartenders/waiters (Albert and Hill) were great. Our trips to Hol Chan/Shark Ray Alley/Caye Caulker and ziplining/Mayan ruin with Jamal were unforgettable. We highly recommend this little piece of heaven. With so much to see in the world we usually don't visit the same place twice, but will return to TBR with our 3 boys one day so they can experience paradise!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mom23boys78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Found Tranquility Bay by searching places to finish our PADI scuba open water certification. The price seemed right for what we needed. The website made the resort look okay. But, when we got there - WOW! It the resort was SO much better than what we expected!

- The staff was super friendly and accommodating.
- We were initially put off by there only being one place to eat, but ended up liking it that way; felt more like a community w/ the other visitors. Also, there was plenty to choose from on the menu with daily specials. Loved all my meals (except one, which is pretty realistic).
- The beach and water was truly magnificent! Blue/green warm water. Okay, it's that way all around Belize, but here you could swim to coral reefs within minutes for awesome snorkeling. And, there was lots of sand so you didn't have to swim through seagrass/seaweed.
- Bed was comfortable (and no bed bugs). AC in the bedroom.
- Cabana not fancy, but spacious, clean, & well kept given the humidity (hard to fight rust and decay in this climate).
- Amazing guides: knowledgable & fun.
- No fitness center, but they offer free use of their many kayaks, 2 sail boats, and rent equipment for scuba & snorkeling. They also have items to rent for fishing.
- No swimming pool, but truly not needed given the clear warm water.

We are going to do our best to come back! Many of the other guests we met said the same. I want to give Tranquility Bay an amazing review, but don't want it to become too popular or to get too expensive! It's truly deserving of 5 stars for a quaint relaxed resort, but if you're looking for something modern & sterile (e.g. no rust, lots of up-to-date appliances, TV, stereo, ... ) go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmwernick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Crystal clear water, like swimming in a aquarium. Food and service, they went out of there way. I felt isolated the first night. But by the next morning, felt like home, just relax. Meet some friendly people, good laughs. Clean, all the cabanas are perfect. Like a postcard. Planing on going back there.... Will not be disppointed

Room Tip: Not a bad room on the place
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank badlab2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

My cousin and I just returned from a fantastic trip here. We had a cute and comfortable two bedroom cabana right on the beach. Not only is this a great location, but it's the people who work here that make it extra special. Everyone was so kind and helpful. We felt like we were staying at a friend's house rather than an impersonal tourist destination. It was very hard to leave. Can't wait to go back. We had so much fun and were able to relax and decompress from our busy lives.

Room Tip: They're all great.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenwavecr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Well I was the groom at the wedding that had most of the resort rented out from March 9th to the 16th. My wife did have a fair amount of communication issues with the resort prior to getting to the resort and while at the resort ( to read on those issues read her review below). Being the typical husband i tried to stay out of it as much as possible and didn't let it stress me out. In return I, as well as pretty much all of our guest really enjoyed ourselves while at Tranquility Bay Resort.

Here is my basic overview of the resort for the week that we were there.
Cabanas were more than adequate. We had a 2 bedroom just for the 2 of us which was nice. We like the attached bath and overall feel of the upstairs bedroom the best. One thing to watch out for is the stairs! They are steep! We had 3 air conditioners in our cabana (#6) which made it nice where ever we were. We both slept very well on comfy beds. The sheets were very nice and a good assortment of pillows. One down fall is that the beds are queens. The only king beds i saw were in the prime minister cabana.

Restaurant had very good food with a large menu to fit anyone's taste buds. The bar was a little expensive on mixed drinks. We bought some liquor in town and brought it to the cabanas. Bottle and mixers in town are pretty cheap. There is another restaurant at the resort just down the beach that we would kayak to which was pretty good and gave a change of pace to the same old thing over and over again. That resort was closing down, not sure if it has yet or not. Beautiful place! OK, back on track...

The Beach in front of the resort is a nice white sand beach that is picked up every morning. The beach could use a little more sand up top by the cabanas, where the ground is down to the coral base in spots. If you travel down the beach, wear some shoes. There is a fair amount of garbage that washes up around the island.

The scuba diving was some of the worst i have done. Don't get me wrong scuba diving is always fun. Having been diving in Belize before, it just left me disappointed and wanting more.
Yemen the dive master is extremely nice and a fun guy to dive with.

The snorkeling at the resort reef is nice. Watch the tide as it gets really shallow a certain points. We seen some nice schools of fish, not a whole lot of colorful fish. Seemed to be lacking the Juvenal fish, could be the several lion fish we saw throughout the reef eating the up. I would say great for beginners to learn to snorkel and see fish up close and personal. For me it was lacking. I have had the great fortune to travel the world and hit some of the best diving spots in the world and see amazing fish. Most would not be disappointed here.

As for the wedding. We had a great time! Everything turned out just fine. We played some games before the wedding that got the staff involved, the hermit crab races were a blast. We had sand castle building contest, relay races with the kayaks. Ceremony went great. Horderves and drinks in the prime minister suite before going to reception down at the bar/ restaurant. We brought our own little Bose Speaker which helped keep things interesting and fun. Dinner was all prearranged as to what everyone was having. The staff did a great job getting all the food out very quickly. We did the cake cutting and toasting before the band took center stage. Gino and the shack shakers did a great job. Everyone was dancing and having a great time. Staff joined in with the dancing and celebrating, one even sang with the band. As we were finishing up the whole wedding party did the jump into the sea with the Tarpon. The next day was spent on excursions, Shark ray alley and Ho Chan Park, read those reviews.

On a final note, We all enjoyed our trip! The wedding was great! A word of advise, sign or pay your tab daily. Weddings with an open bar give your guest drink tickets or something so you can track the number of drinks. The staff were all great but somebody made up some crazy impossible numbers on how many drinks were consumed at the wedding party.

Thanks for reading, hope it was helpful!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasonh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews