We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A Slice of Paradise....Twice"”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ambergris Caye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tranquility Bay Resort
Ranked #22 of 56 Hotels in Ambergris Caye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We just returned from our second visit to TBR. Our return trip was just as enjoyable and relaxing as the first. Hats off to the staff! Every Cabana was occupied, yet we felt like the only ones there. Perfect water, great service, tasty food...I can't say enough about this place. Step out of your Cabana, on to the beach then straight in to the prestine water. Kayaking, snorkeling, fishing, day trip to Hol Chan/Shark Ray Alley/Caye Caulker...we did it all with zero disappointment. Can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank buster80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 211 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

This review is long overdue. My husband and I stayed at TBR in May 2012 to celebrate our 10th anniversary. We chose TBR specifically for its isolation and because there are only 10 cabanas right on the water. We were not disappointed. The beach is literally right in front of your private cabana and is cleaned daily from the wash up from the sea. The water is crystal clear and the snorkeling right in front is awesome. We saw all types of fish, stingrays and even a harmless nurse shark. Our neighbors saw a manatee. The staff were friendly and accommodating. They set up a private dinner for us on the beach for our anniversary. Our bartenders/waiters (Albert and Hill) were great. Our trips to Hol Chan/Shark Ray Alley/Caye Caulker and ziplining/Mayan ruin with Jamal were unforgettable. We highly recommend this little piece of heaven. With so much to see in the world we usually don't visit the same place twice, but will return to TBR with our 3 boys one day so they can experience paradise!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mom23boys78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Found Tranquility Bay by searching places to finish our PADI scuba open water certification. The price seemed right for what we needed. The website made the resort look okay. But, when we got there - WOW! It the resort was SO much better than what we expected!

- The staff was super friendly and accommodating.
- We were initially put off by there only being one place to eat, but ended up liking it that way; felt more like a community w/ the other visitors. Also, there was plenty to choose from on the menu with daily specials. Loved all my meals (except one, which is pretty realistic).
- The beach and water was truly magnificent! Blue/green warm water. Okay, it's that way all around Belize, but here you could swim to coral reefs within minutes for awesome snorkeling. And, there was lots of sand so you didn't have to swim through seagrass/seaweed.
- Bed was comfortable (and no bed bugs). AC in the bedroom.
- Cabana not fancy, but spacious, clean, & well kept given the humidity (hard to fight rust and decay in this climate).
- Amazing guides: knowledgable & fun.
- No fitness center, but they offer free use of their many kayaks, 2 sail boats, and rent equipment for scuba & snorkeling. They also have items to rent for fishing.
- No swimming pool, but truly not needed given the clear warm water.

We are going to do our best to come back! Many of the other guests we met said the same. I want to give Tranquility Bay an amazing review, but don't want it to become too popular or to get too expensive! It's truly deserving of 5 stars for a quaint relaxed resort, but if you're looking for something modern & sterile (e.g. no rust, lots of up-to-date appliances, TV, stereo, ... ) go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmwernick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Crystal clear water, like swimming in a aquarium. Food and service, they went out of there way. I felt isolated the first night. But by the next morning, felt like home, just relax. Meet some friendly people, good laughs. Clean, all the cabanas are perfect. Like a postcard. Planing on going back there.... Will not be disppointed

Room Tip: Not a bad room on the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank badlab2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

My cousin and I just returned from a fantastic trip here. We had a cute and comfortable two bedroom cabana right on the beach. Not only is this a great location, but it's the people who work here that make it extra special. Everyone was so kind and helpful. We felt like we were staying at a friend's house rather than an impersonal tourist destination. It was very hard to leave. Can't wait to go back. We had so much fun and were able to relax and decompress from our busy lives.

Room Tip: They're all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenwavecr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambergris Caye hotels
7 km away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
153 reviews
25.6 km away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
363 reviews
25.9 km away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 km away
Costa Blu Adults Only Beach Resort
10.1 km away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#12 of 54 in San Pedro
645 reviews
12 km away
Portofino Beach Resort
Portofino Beach Resort
#18 of 54 in San Pedro
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Resort

Address: | Basil Jones Cut, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Ambergris Caye
Price Range: €106 - €268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxing 12 miles North of San Pedro Town, Tranquility Bay Resort is a secluded paradise. 10 Separate cabanas line the nicest beach on the island. The only resort on the island where it is safe to snorkel from the beach to the reef! Relax and enjoy our beautiful setting from our water top restaurant and watch the Tarpon, Barracuda and Eagle Rays swim under our dock lights! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Hotel Ambergris Caye
Hotel Tranquility Bay
Tranquility Bay Resort Belize/Ambergris Caye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing