We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,019)
Filter reviews
1,019 results
Traveller rating
482
293
124
59
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
482
293
124
59
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews san pedro golf cart swim up bar secret beach sea grass beautiful resort laid back beach front relaxing vacation pools concierge belize joel water bartender capricorn units
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,019 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2020

Had only briefly been to San Pedro in 2008 on a snorkelling tour. This time stayed here at Captain Morgan's and was a wonderful choice. Staff were absolutely amazing and friendly (and are now friends). Room was very clean and bed was comfortable. Food was great and reasonable prices. Also was impressed with the efforts to keep the sea grass under control as best as they could. Would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: May 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank consuelor984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations, Agency / Consultant at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2020

We appreciate you taking the time to write such a great review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. From your friends at Captain Morgan’s, see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2020

My partner and I went there with another couple.
Positives: paradise settings.. beautiful beach, coconut trees and soft sand..
Easy to get around. We rented a golf cart.
Recommend daily walks on the beach.. miles of beach... ahhh..

Avoid tourist traps and try local hole in the wall restaurants.

Staff at resort: good folks who do their best every day.

Negatives: Units are extremely dated. Poorly maintained. Excessive Hard water buildup. Bed n comforter are thin and falling apart quality.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Beachbumswannabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainMorgansBZ, Guest Relations Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2020

We’re happy there was so much you loved about Captain Morgan’s, and we appreciate your review! We certainly see Ambergris Caye as an island paradise, and we’re happy that you think the same. We have taken the opportunity to review all your items and go over them with our maintenance and cleaning staff to ensure that these issues are fixed. We hope that when you decide to come back to Belize, you’ll come visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2020

My husband and I were enjoying our 25th anniversary during the 2020 coronavirus outbreak. We were struggling with our airline not assisting to return us to our country - Canada. Canadian Embassy was of no help either. No sooner had we confirmed a rescheduled flight with an alternative airline we were notified the Border was closing and international airport closing. Our Front Desk Rep Joel spent literally HOURS assisting our evacuation from the country. We required a combination of island air and ground transport through Mexico to Cancun. Without Joel's assistance we would still be there wondering if we would ever get to go home. We can't thank Joel enough! All of the staff were super friendly, and still smiling despite the uncertain times. Our cabana was clean and comfortable, we enjoyed our short time there and if we ever go back our first choice will be Captain Morgan's without hesitation. Extremely trustworthy, super kind, helpful. Thank you Joel and everyone at Captain Morgan's!






Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank loribern1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainMorgansBZ, Guest Relations Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2020

Thank you for leaving such a kind review. We have a great team, and it’s wonderful to hear that their service made a difference. We will certainly let Joel know that you were grateful for his assistance. Stay safe, and we hope to see you back at Captain Morgan’s someday soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2020

The hotel was built in stages, our ground floor unit was terrific but a little older, looked out over the palm lined grounds to the ocean. a couple of small issues were fixed immediately. Morning coffee on the patio feeding the Iguana, a little potato chips and Papya. The grounds are well kept and the rooms are large and pristine albeit with a little sand dragged in. Very relaxed and quiet ambiance. The staff is 5 star, friendly, helpful and really happy to see you...the best. Lots of activities can be booked through the activity center, fishing, kayaking, snorkeling, exploring etc. Food was good with ample restaurants within walking distance. One of the few places I would go back to. no disappointments.

Room tip: We were in VC19, one of the older rooms but very nice. Get a ground level room. No extra charge for tje Iguna
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barb1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainMorgansBZ, Guest Relations Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2020

We’re glad to hear you loved your stay at Captain Morgan’s. Our enthusiasm and respect that we have for our guests is show best by our team, and we’re so happy that you had the chance to make connections with them. Next time you decide you need a trip to paradise, give us a visit – we’d love to have you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2020 via mobile

Spent 3 days in Caye Caulker then went to San Pedro and was lucky enough to Find Captain Morgans Resort. Quiet,Peaceful &Laid back. Rented a Beachfront Oceanview Cabana.Staff is friendly and attentive to your needs.Bartenders are Great. Swim up Bar and the Grounds our beautiful. Didnt have cable for 2 days but there was a letter stating they were upgrading to a new system in all units. Sure enough we came back and the cable had been replaced in all the cabana units.I have to say with everything going on in the world not having cable for 2 days was really nice. Great Casino on property played on $20.00 for 40 min on Roulette. Free drinks while playing really only lost $5 with free beer. Secrets beach is 3.5 miles one way and san pedro 3.5 miles the other direction so centrally located. I would come back for sure.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mead203800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainMorgansBZ, Guest Relations Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2020

We’re grateful you took some of your time to leave us a lovely review! We also think that Captain’s offers everything you could possibly need while on a Caribbean holiday – white-sand beach, beautiful grounds, caring staff, and even the only casino on the island! It’s lovely to hear that you’d like to come back, and we certainly hope that you will!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews