We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

As expected. I was given a room with a whirlpool bath. I believe it was one of the only rooms left. Never used it. Rooms are large with desk and additional table, frig, and microwave.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMLinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    194
    66
    6
    11
See reviews for
141
222
30
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

We had read the reviews from some months ago which caused concern. Was assured by hotel they were under new management and things were different. We stayed there because the rate was favorable compared to other places. We were not disappointed at all. Everything was clean. The furnishings looked relatively new. Breakfast was good - much like most motels in this price range. If we were to go to the again for a similar trip, we would not hesitate to stay there again. The bad reviews from last fall are definitely old not an adequate description of this hotel as it was for us.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lunderwood, Regional Manager RoHM Hotel Group at BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear DA S,

Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel and comment about your stay with us here at the Best Western Apalach. We are working very hard to improve the service of the hotel along with providing accomodations that are clean and refreshing for all of our guest.

Even though Apalachicola is located on the Forgotten Coast, the area is rich in history and natural beauty. We are so excited to be the new stewards of a hotel in such a warm and welcoming community as Apalachicola.

With spring knocking at the door, we hope that you will be able to return when the azaelas are in bloom and the water is a little warmer so that you can dip your toe in the amazing Gulf of Mexico.

If there is anything I or the staff at the Best Western Apalach can do to assist you, please do not hesitate in contacting us.


Thank you,

Lee Underwood
Regional Manager RoHM Hotel Group


Best Western Apalach
249 US Hwy. 98
Apalachicola, FL 32320
850-653-9131

LUnderwood@ROHMHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

I've stayed here twice and was pleasently suprised to be greeted as a welcomed guest and treated like I really matter. The rooms are roomy and comfortable.

As a road warrior who travels 5 days a week I can honestly say this hotel is on my list of repeats.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadWarrior2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flordia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Room was large, but no internet in room. TV was not a flat screen. Not many choices in Apachicola for hotels.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vaneck2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Griffin, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

This particular Best Western is alright if you're not expecting a lot. The beds were comfortable but the room smelled like a great big ashtray. The breakfast that they serve is "hot" in name only. It consists of some white gravy that is basically plain and that tastes like flour and water mixed, biscuits that are still refrigerator-cold that you have to microwave yourself, donuts, coffee, cereal, and two "hot" items in a warmer that were not freshly made but are from a package and microwaved warm.

If you are looking for a basic place to stay and you don't want a lot of extras, then this may very well be the place for you. However, let me warn you now that you need to keep an eye on your credit card / debit card charges after you leave. They attempted to charge my card a "significant" amount of additional charges despite the rate that I was quoted and that was on my receipt. Called them a couple of times with NO results, one of the owners deferring me to a nonexistant General Manager that wouldn't be back in for several days and telling me that any additional charges would "fall off in a couple of days"; this despite the fact that they were all placed on my card on the same day three days after we left. He also tried to convince me that it was the "bank" that was placing the additional charges. After calling BW Corporate and speaking with my credit cards legal department about the entire incident, they decided to reverse all additional charges (something one of the owners told me that they wouldn't do since they didn't place them).

Just know that there are several better places to stay in this area, including two EXCELLENT bed and breakfast locations. I won't make any effort to stay here again.

Room Tip: There are a couple of EXCELLENT Bed and Breakfast locations in town that don't cost much more th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Timothy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
2.1 km away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
1.8 km away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
14.3 km away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.5 km away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
31.3 km away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.2 km away
Rancho Inn
Rancho Inn
#4 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
Address: 249 Highway 98 West, Apalachicola, FL 32320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this charming hotel in the Gulf Coast community of Apalachicola, Florida known for the friendly people and unspoiled natural resources.The Best Western Apalach Inn, located in the panhandle of Florida, offers hotel guests easy access to miles of pristine beaches, excellent fishing, golf and acres of National and State Forests to explore. Hotel guests are just minutes from St. George Island Beach, the Apalachicola River and St. Joseph Peninsula Stated Park. All well-appointed guest rooms feature high speed Internet access and cable satellite television with HBO®. Hotel amenities include a complimentary full hot breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool, free parking and exterior corridors. While in Apalachicola, hotel guests may choose to feast on some of the fresh seafood that Apalachicola is famous for. Take a day and explore the Marianna Caverns or the Wakula Springs, both situated a couple hours drive from the hotel. Families will especially love the Fun Center, just 7 miles away or spending the day on any of the nearby Florida beaches. Other nearby attractions to explore include the Gorrie Museum and Cape San Blass. Make an online reservation today and save at the Best Western Apalach Inn in Apalachicola, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Apalachicola
Apalachicola Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing