We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT ATMOSPHERE/GREAT FOOD”

Caroline's Dining on the River
Ranked #18 of 38 Restaurants in Apalachicola
Price range: US$8 - US$26
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Ross, North Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“GREAT ATMOSPHERE/GREAT FOOD”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Food was great, service was great, AA++ We sat in their outside screened in room and had a great view. The service was fast and friendly. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank lorac1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    175
    87
    58
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good overall”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We visited here twice this month for dinner. Overall, the dinner food is very good. Service was a little off on our recent visit. We like to have our app before our salad, but both times the salad came and then our app within minutes afterward. Then we waited quite a while for our entrees. The grouper dishes are fabulous, with delicious toppings, and my husband always orders the boat flambe which is very impressive. My BIL wanted key lime pie and was told at the start that they had it; then the waitress came back and said they were all out of it. The worst part was that the waitress cleared two of our four entree plates and left the other two in front of us while we were trying to talk. Very tacky.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suenedNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thermopolis, Wyoming
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Chef outdoes himself!”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This hotel/restaurant are right on the river....lots of character! Reminds me of "Old Florida".
Our food was exceptional.....delicious and presented well.
Priced right and warm atmosphere.
We definitely would recommend a stop here for breakfast or supper.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maurlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So So”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We were hungry upon arriving in Apalachicola and had not a clue where to eat. My husband instructed me to pull into the parking lot at Caroline's Dining on the River. I was completely unsure about going in as it seemed rather unkempt on the outside. We ate a late lunch there on a quiet Saturday. We took note of the fact that the person who greeted us was not very friendly and welcoming, the tablecloths were stained, and the decor very dated. However, the jambalaya and bread were excellent, our server was efficient and kept our drinks filled. The calico scallops had little taste. Can't say that we will ever return there. One high point is that the restrooms were spotless!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindakenTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“breakfast at Caroline's”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Breakfast is excellent-try the sauteed oysters and the giant chocolate chip pancake!

Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caroline's Dining on the River also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Caroline's Dining on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing