We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sort of like a science project”

The Raney House Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
323 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Sort of like a science project”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Very interesting fellow, Mr. Raney, but the place itself is way too ordinary so don't plan to spend more than 10 minutes.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    25
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tour Guide was one of the best ever”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Tour at the Raney House was excellent. Don, tour guide was one of the best I have ever had.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank BobnGailThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLEMING ISLAND
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A trip back in time.”
Reviewed 31 December 2011

What a find? If it wasn't for tripadvisor, we would have missed this. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable. He made you feel that he was part of the Raney family.

Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“what an experience!!”
Reviewed 12 October 2011

This was a fun return back in time, the tour guide was so very friendly and so knowledgeable and loved sharring the histopry of the old house he made us feel like we actually knew them buy the time he was done!!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank calthea52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, SC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really nice!!”
Reviewed 30 May 2011

This place is GREAT. It's hard to belive it still stands. If you like old houses and history don't miss this one (we had a great docent) but the house tells the story ( columns out front are each a tree!!) Some don't like the Confederate stuff here ; but its a a side story. . I own a summer house in Maine and expect to tip my cap to the Yank Stature in each town I drive through there.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank CatcherAiken_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Raney House Museum also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to The Raney House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing