We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little History walk”

Ashcroft Ghost Town
Ranked #16 of 102 things to do in Aspen
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once a prosperous silver mining town, the silver disappeared, the people moved out and the ghosts moved in. Twelve empty buildings stand as an eerie reminder of the community that was.
Snowmass Village, CO
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A little History walk”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Its a great way to see and enjoy a little history. Lots of old stuctures and beautiful scenery all around. Easier to see in summer or grab a pair of snowshoes and wander the area in winter for an entirely different experience.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank timlankins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    56
    24
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A history lovers delight”
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We enjoyed the mystique of the old mining town. Like a time traveler going back to the mining days, a time when you had to arrive on a stage coach, it congers up so much to the imagination. There is no food or amenities, so plan accordingly before heading up. We love history and we took the time to read the plaques and discuss the bygone era.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank fiercetravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“surprisingly really interesting!”
Reviewed 8 September 2011

unfortunately we couldn't bring our dog b/c they are not allowed to walk through the town. it doesn't look like much but it ended up being really interesting! beautiful part of colorado, only need about 30 minutes to walk through

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ssmith082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Going Back in Time”
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Ten miles south of Aspen on Castle Creek Road is the historic ghost town built in 1880 for silver mining. The children love walking along the trail past the old buildings. Call [---] if you are interested in a tour. No dogs allowed.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank AspenRealLifeAspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Go with a guide”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

What made this place great was the guide - in my case Dan - he is extremely knowledgeable and really made the ghost town come alive. I would not have liked it without him because I don't know all the background. He was from ACES - and was a biologist. So not only did he know a lot about the town, he also knew a lot about the flowers. Admission was $3; the guide was free.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank PupLup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ashcroft Ghost Town also viewed

 

Been to Ashcroft Ghost Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing