We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Refuge for your entire body, LOVED IT”

Review of The Refuge

The Refuge
Beautiful vacation spot close tp RMNP
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Refuge
Beautiful vacation spot close tp RMNP
Fully-equipped Kitchen
Including washer/dryer Sleep well on a comfortable king sized bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
The Refuge
Beautiful vacation spot close tp RMNP
Fully-equipped Kitchen
Including washer/dryer
Sleep well on a comfortable king sized bed
2nd Bedroom
With double bed
Hot Tub 
your own private hot tub in the woods
Elk Wandering Through
Grazing by the shed
Sunrise at The Refuge
An awesome surprise at daybreak
Beautiful Mountain Scenery
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Allenspark, Rocky Mountain National Park, Colorado

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tricia S
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Refuge for your entire body, LOVED IT”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our family stayed at the Refuge in early August. This is the lower level of a cabin, but didn't feel like it at all. Clean, quiet and lovely mountain decor. Sandy is the owner and she is a sweetheart. She greeted us on arrival and was available if we had questions or needs. There are gorgeous flowers and hummingbirds everywhere. The hot tub was super clean and was a delight after hike or in cool evenings. Beds were comfy and cabin had Wi Fi and large TV. Deck is equipped with tables and chairs and perfect for lounging. We loved our time here and in Allenspark. Recommend to anyone looking for a place to unwind and relax in the mountains. Beautiful!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose Ann...
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Buyer beware”
Reviewed 16 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

This was a nice enough property, although as other reviews have noted, it is actually the basement level of a home. The accommodations were spacious and well appointed. HOWEVER - there is a deposit required to rent this property. In my 40 years of renting cabins in this area, I have never been asked to give a deposit. To make matters worse, our deposit was not fully refunded because the manager said we had used Netflix, (we hadn't, but were still charged $15), and also charged us a handling fee to return our deposit. Attempts to rectify this with the manager were unsuccessful, and she has declined to return our calls. I would not recommend this property to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View of mountains
Liked least: Deposit is a scam
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2016
Unfortunately Pinebrook is totally in agreement with this review. The whole thing was a comedy of errors. We were just in our infancy of doing credit card payments on our web site. These guests shouldn't have been charged a handling fee and when we checked back with our satellite TV suppliers we found (after the fact) that it wasn't these guests who had used Netflix. We had been given wrong information. We are extremely sorry for all of this and have since returned the charges and compensated the guests for the inconvenience.
Sandy at Pinebrook
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B
Ham Lake, Minnesota
1 review
“relaxation”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

wonderful vacation rental, very clean and well equipped kitchen. Sandy and her staff are outstanding!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this very nice review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Pinebrook
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
osceola wisconsin
Reviewed 24 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. Yes, we are up in the "boonies" and arriving before dark is a good plan.

Sandy
Pinebrook Vacation Rentals
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kfar Vradim - Israel
Reviewed 19 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We look forward to your next visit.

Sandy
Pinebrook Vacation Rentals
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing