We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“relaxation”

Review of The Refuge

The Refuge
Beautiful vacation spot close tp RMNP
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Refuge
Beautiful vacation spot close tp RMNP
Fully-equipped Kitchen
Including washer/dryer Sleep well on a comfortable king sized bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
The Refuge
Beautiful vacation spot close tp RMNP
Fully-equipped Kitchen
Including washer/dryer
Sleep well on a comfortable king sized bed
2nd Bedroom
With double bed
Hot Tub 
your own private hot tub in the woods
Elk Wandering Through
Grazing by the shed
Sunrise at The Refuge
An awesome surprise at daybreak
Beautiful Mountain Scenery
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Allenspark, Rocky Mountain National Park, Colorado

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lisa B
Ham Lake, Minnesota
1 review
“relaxation”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

wonderful vacation rental, very clean and well equipped kitchen. Sandy and her staff are outstanding!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this very nice review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Pinebrook
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
osceola wisconsin
Reviewed 24 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. Yes, we are up in the "boonies" and arriving before dark is a good plan.

Sandy
Pinebrook Vacation Rentals
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kfar Vradim - Israel
Reviewed 19 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We look forward to your next visit.

Sandy
Pinebrook Vacation Rentals
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wisconsin
Reviewed 27 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kathy W
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An OK stay, with problems.”
Reviewed 18 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

The refuge is the lower level of a lady's house. Lots of natural light for a basement - every room has windows, but it is still a basement and smells a little musty. The bigger problem is that you can hear the owner, she has a small dog which barks often (odd she doesn't allow pets in the rental), and while we were there she had numerous social functions with lots of guests. It was quiet in the evening, and when we complained about the dog, we got a sincere apology. We got a 2 BR as we wanted not to have to share a room, but the mattress in the smaller BR is old, worn out, and at 4 am on the first night i gave up and moved into the comfortable large bed in the master BR with my friend. This wasn't really a problem, but we paid for 2 BRs, so it would have been nice to use it. The whole rental is quite large, has a hot tub ( which we didn't use) and satellite tv. Nice kitchen, but oddly few glasses. The weather wasn't great when we were there so we had to spend more time in the rental than we would have liked, which probably led to a more critical review than we normally would have had we been out hiking all day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Horrible Mattress, barking dog.
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2011
The homeowner was mortified that her dog barked while she ran an errand when the guests were there. When the guests told her, she took her dog with her after that. He is getting old and she won't be leaving him at the cabin alone any more.

Haven't had a complaint on the smaller mattress before this but will certainly consider getting a new one. Thanks for telling us more glasses are needed. That has been taken care of.

The owner hosts a knitting group of 4 or 5 women on Tuesday mornings. Usually the weather is good and guests are enjoying the park etc.

Sometimes the weather doesn't cooperate and we're sorry that had to happen.

Pinebrook
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing