We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay was really good here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catalina Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catalina Island Inn
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Burbank, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stay was really good here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

The location of this inn is the best! Just a 10 minute walk from where you board on/off from the Catalina Express.

This was the only hotel/inn on the island that I could find that would book for one night. Most places on Catalina are a 2 night minimum stay. Stayed here over the weekend. Check in time was 2pm so we went to the inn around 11:30 to drop off our bag for storage and to my surprise our room was ready for us. BIG plus. Check in and check out was a breeze.

We reserved a room with a queen bed and for $89 (taxes included), you can't beat that price! The room was small but very clean and very cute. I mean for as much as we spent time in the room, size didn't matter. There is no closet, iron, or ironing board. There was a little shelf with some hangers and a spare blanket on one of the walls. There's a small fridge in the room which was nice. The room also has a hair dryer. We didn't have a view but that didn't matter to us. We were on the 3rd floor next to the stairs and I thought it would end up being noisy from foot traffic, but to our surprise, we didn't hear anything throughout the night. Overall, a good night's sleep.

There is a small patio on the 2nd floor that over looks the street which is cute. There is also a Vons right next door in case you might need anything.

The inn had a free continental breakfast that consisted of small pastries, coffee, and orange juice. It looked really good, didn't try it since we were on our way out and headed to a restaurant to eat breakfast.

I really don't have anything negative to say about his place. I would surely stay here again if I ever visited the island again.

Room Tip: Seems like the rooms on the 3rd level towards the back of the inn. We were towards the front, room 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel4funBurbank_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    191
    54
    25
    12
See reviews for
73
297
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

The decor was very charming & in good taste (I love nautical themed decor) & the paint was fresh & the rooms clean & nicely decorated. The room was small, but perfect for what we needed (small fridge, clean, cozy room, bathroom, etc). The shower water fluctuated, but this wasn't a big deal. I liked that the rooms had tall ceilings; really helped open it up. I also liked the green apples in the hallways, although the continental breakfast could have been better, it was fine. The hotel staff seemed a little annoyed at various points of interaction. The hotel itself was ideally located, although it's a tiny island so everything in Avalon is pretty central. If I can get a fair rate, I'd definately like to stay at this hotel again. It's a great couples getaway.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Houkie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Everytime we go to to Catalina Island we stay at at Catalina Island Inn. The only gripe we have for this trip was the hot water. We were on second floor, and hot shower water was alternating from warm to cold. For 15sec water was warm, then 15sec cold,...you get the idea. Other than that, good stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bogdan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

This old Victorian property was very tastefully renovated a few years ago. You can believe the photos on their website - it's beautiful! We booked a small suite that was terrific - balcony, sitting area, very comfortable queen-size bed, 2 TVs (one facing the bed, one facing the sitting area). We were on the third floor which has a lovely center hallway with skylight (apparently the fourth floor is reachable from another stairway in the rear of the property). My only real negative would be that the massage that's offered at a discount next door is not very good.
This hotel offers great value - it's much less expensive than hotels of similar quality in Avalon.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street and was pretty noisy at night (the hotel is only 1/2 a block from the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abkinla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My wife and I stayed one night here on presidents day weekend. I booked over the phone and said I wanted a king room with bay windows, however when we actually got into our room it had only one window which looked over the top of the vons next door. Also we got off the flyer around 1030 and went to the hotel to try and check in early but no luck, which is fine, the part that wasn't fine was when 2 o clock rolled around our room still wasn't ready.
So some pluses were the cleanliness and the over all decor and theme were nice. The bed was comfortable.
But some negatives.
The room wasn't ready on time, and it was the wrong room. The shower was tiny, tiny tiny. And there was no bath tub. In fact the sink is actually in the room. Also it's quite bright through the shutters even on a cloudy morning. So bring a mask of you wanna sleep in.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jfrederick89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 km away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
0.1 km away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.1 km away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#12 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Island Inn

Property: Catalina Island Inn
Address: 125 Metropole, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#2 Best Value Hotel in Avalon
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night at one of the best Catalina Island hotels, the Catalina Island Inn. Catalina Island is only a short sail away, twenty-two miles, from the California mainland, but a world away from the hectic pace. Catalina Island Inn hotel is located in the heart of Avalon, California, steps away from restaurants, shops, tours and the beach at Catalina Island. Walking is a wonderful way to explore our safe and charming town. Visitors don’t need a car to get around. Almost everything is within walking distance. Enjoy a special Catalina Island vacation in one of the Catalina Island Inn family rooms that accommodate up to five people. Catalina Island Inn is large enough to host family reunions & weddings and intimate enough for a romantic getaway.Whether you are on a solo-adventure or traveling with a crowd, the Catalina Island Inn has something for everyone. Rooms ranging from moderate priced twins or queen bed to luxury, harbor view, kings are available. The rooms are beautifully decorated in a clean, contemporary island motif. We are one of the most romantic Catalina hotels. Treat yourself to a relaxing getaway at the Catalina Island Inn hotel.The Catalina Island Inn is pleased to announce the opening of its new ground floor Patio Rooms!!! 5 spectacular new King bedded rooms and private patios with custom fireplaces, nurturing textures, spacious tiled showers, free wi-fi, flat screen TVs, quiet comfort, and lush contemporary décor. A handicap-accessible guest room is also available. It features unique luxury and also meets all ADA guidelines for wheelchair guests needing special conveniences. It includes easily accessible thresholds, widened doorways in addition elegant amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Catalina Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Island Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Inn CA - Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing