We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay was really good here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Catalina Island Inn
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2012

The location of this inn is the best! Just a 10 minute walk from where you board on/off from the Catalina Express.

This was the only hotel/inn on the island that I could find that would book for one night. Most places on Catalina are a 2 night minimum stay. Stayed here over the weekend. Check in time was 2pm so we went to the inn around 11:30 to drop off our bag for storage and to my surprise our room was ready for us. BIG plus. Check in and check out was a breeze.

We reserved a room with a queen bed and for $89 (taxes included), you can't beat that price! The room was small but very clean and very cute. I mean for as much as we spent time in the room, size didn't matter. There is no closet, iron, or ironing board. There was a little shelf with some hangers and a spare blanket on one of the walls. There's a small fridge in the room which was nice. The room also has a hair dryer. We didn't have a view but that didn't matter to us. We were on the 3rd floor next to the stairs and I thought it would end up being noisy from foot traffic, but to our surprise, we didn't hear anything throughout the night. Overall, a good night's sleep.

There is a small patio on the 2nd floor that over looks the street which is cute. There is also a Vons right next door in case you might need anything.

The inn had a free continental breakfast that consisted of small pastries, coffee, and orange juice. It looked really good, didn't try it since we were on our way out and headed to a restaurant to eat breakfast.

I really don't have anything negative to say about his place. I would surely stay here again if I ever visited the island again.

Room Tip: Seems like the rooms on the 3rd level towards the back of the inn. We were towards the front, room 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel4funBurbank_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 398 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

The decor was very charming & in good taste (I love nautical themed decor) & the paint was fresh & the rooms clean & nicely decorated. The room was small, but perfect for what we needed (small fridge, clean, cozy room, bathroom, etc). The shower water fluctuated, but this wasn't a big deal. I liked that the rooms had tall ceilings; really helped open it up. I also liked the green apples in the hallways, although the continental breakfast could have been better, it was fine. The hotel staff seemed a little annoyed at various points of interaction. The hotel itself was ideally located, although it's a tiny island so everything in Avalon is pretty central. If I can get a fair rate, I'd definately like to stay at this hotel again. It's a great couples getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Houkie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Everytime we go to to Catalina Island we stay at at Catalina Island Inn. The only gripe we have for this trip was the hot water. We were on second floor, and hot shower water was alternating from warm to cold. For 15sec water was warm, then 15sec cold,...you get the idea. Other than that, good stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bogdan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This old Victorian property was very tastefully renovated a few years ago. You can believe the photos on their website - it's beautiful! We booked a small suite that was terrific - balcony, sitting area, very comfortable queen-size bed, 2 TVs (one facing the bed, one facing the sitting area). We were on the third floor which has a lovely center hallway with skylight (apparently the fourth floor is reachable from another stairway in the rear of the property). My only real negative would be that the massage that's offered at a discount next door is not very good.
This hotel offers great value - it's much less expensive than hotels of similar quality in Avalon.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street and was pretty noisy at night (the hotel is only 1/2 a block from the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abkinla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My wife and I stayed one night here on presidents day weekend. I booked over the phone and said I wanted a king room with bay windows, however when we actually got into our room it had only one window which looked over the top of the vons next door. Also we got off the flyer around 1030 and went to the hotel to try and check in early but no luck, which is fine, the part that wasn't fine was when 2 o clock rolled around our room still wasn't ready.
So some pluses were the cleanliness and the over all decor and theme were nice. The bed was comfortable.
But some negatives.
The room wasn't ready on time, and it was the wrong room. The shower was tiny, tiny tiny. And there was no bath tub. In fact the sink is actually in the room. Also it's quite bright through the shutters even on a cloudy morning. So bring a mask of you wanna sleep in.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jfrederick89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 km away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
517 reviews
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.2 km away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,163 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#16 of 20 in Avalon
373 reviews
0.1 km away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#15 of 20 in Avalon
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Island Inn

Address: 125 Metropole, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Avalon
#3 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: €108 - €167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night at one of the best Catalina Island hotels, the Catalina Island Inn. Catalina Island is only a short sail away from the southern California mainland, but a world away from the city life. Catalina Island Inn hotel is located in the heart of Avalon, California, steps away from restaurants, shops, tours and the beach. Walking is a wonderful way to explore our safe and charming town. Visitors don’t need a car to get around. Almost everything is close by. Enjoy a special Catalina Island vacation in one of the Catalina Island Inn family rooms that accommodate up to five people. Catalina Island Inn hosts family reunions & weddings and is still intimate enough for a romantic getaway. Whether you are on a solo-adventure or traveling with a crowd, the Catalina Island Inn has something for everyone. Rooms range from moderate priced twins or queen bed non view rooms to luxury, harbor view, king rooms and suites. Accommodations are beautifully decorated in a clean, contemporary island style. We are one of the most romantic Catalina hotels. Treat yourself to a relaxing getaway at the Catalina Island Inn hotel. The Catalina Island Inn is pleased to feature its 5 spectacular ground floor King bedded rooms with private patios, fireplaces, nurturing textures and spacious tiled showers. All rooms have free wi-fi, flat screen TVs, quiet comfort, and lush contemporary décor. A handicap-accessible guest room is also available. Its unique luxury also meets all ADA guidelines for wheelchair guests needing special conveniences including easily accessible thresholds, widened doorways and a bench in the large tiled shower. Come "home" to Catalina Island Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Catalina Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Island Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Inn CA - Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing