We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveller rating
114
126
45
16
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
114
126
45
16
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location star amenities ocean front karaoke bar catalina island sound of the waves continental breakfast small tv no elevator oceanfront room nice courtyard the staff was friendly and helpful orange juice restaurants and bars patio area the main drag queen bed
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 319 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2018

Older building but clean comfortable and central to everything. We would stay again. Across the street to beach. Staff friendly and efficient. 10 min walk to the port. Lots to do on the island and again all within close proximity to this hotel.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Josephine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMacRae, General Manager at Hotel Mac Rae, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I am glad that my staff took good care of you and that you found our rooms to be clean comfortable and central to everything. Come and see us again soon.
Karen Biery
4th generation "Mac Rae"
President/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

Great little hotel in the heart of Avalon. Clean and inviting rooms. We had one with an ocean view, another room for Grandsons (17 & 13 yrs old) with a garden view. Nice little breakfast station with juices, coffee, and pastries and bagels. You must climb a flight of stairs with your bags to get to the hotel that is above a restaurant and shops. One surprise was below my ocean view room, the restaurant turns into Karaoke central. We were amused, some might be more sensitive to the level of music

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tom m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMacRae, General Manager at Hotel Mac Rae, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I am pleased you enjoyed your ocean view and courtyard view rooms. Thank you for taking the time to share this review. I keep waiting for Karaoke to go out of style. I agree, it can be amusing. If quiet is what our guests are looking for, we direct them to our back courtyard rooms. Be sure and let us know what you are looking for when you book your next visit.
Karen Biery
4th generation "Mac Rae"
President/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

clean, good sized room & bath - Center of everything - will come back again - good wifi - coffee, juice & danish in the AM - bedside lights for reading are important to us - very good - one flight of stairs - 2 minute walk to the tour plaza

Room Tip: we were happy with a "patio" room
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gnehra2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMacRae, General Manager at Hotel Mac Rae, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your kind review and I am so pleased that you will come back again. We look forward to it!
Karen Biery
4th generation "Mac Rae"
President/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

this is a nice hotel right on the main street and central to everything in Avalon. The rooms with the view of the sea are worth it. The only negative is it is not for anyone with difficulty getting around. There is no elevator and it is on the second floor. There is a back entrance I did not check out.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank byron k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMacRae, General Manager at Hotel Mac Rae, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I agree the that ocean view rooms are worth it. Thank you for your review.
Karen Biery
4th generation "Mac Rae"
President/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018

Lovely location on the main drag. Rooms are spotless and staff very friendly and helpful. Before and after check out, hotel will hold your luggage until your boat leaves. When you check out of your room at 11, a changing room and shower is available to you as well as daily beach towels.

Room Tip: There are ocean view rooms available
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Marlene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMacRae, General Manager at Hotel Mac Rae, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for this kind review and I will share this with my staff. I am pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality. We look forward to your next visit.
Karen Biery
4th generation "Mac Rae"
President/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews