We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of Hermosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hermosa Hotel
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“great location”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

we had a wonderful time at the Hermosa hotel, clean room, next door to grocery store and walking distance to shopping and sight seeing.

Room Tip: good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    79
    37
    48
    48
See reviews for
77
132
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My wife and I have been staying at the Hermosa Hotel and Cottage nearly every summer for a decade now and love the place. We're well-traveled, spoiledare lucky enough to have lived abroad or vacationed in some of the world's great places--Bali, Tuscany and Liguria and Umbria, Mexico, Virgin Islands--and we wouldn't stay anywhere else on Catalina (which is, by the way, the cheapest trip to the Mediterranean any West Coaster can take). Do we stay there just because it's cheap? Sure, but that's not the main reason: It's "period" Catalina, its funkiness is history, and the point of going to Catalina, for us anyway, is to get away from the fast-food-contemporary/franchise-hotel lifestyle of the mainland. Besides, it's central located in Avalon--everything within an easy walk--and the staff is as friendly and efficient as the staff at Johnny Rocket's on Melrose.

Room Tip: If you're worried about street noise at a touristy time of the year, stay in the hotel or get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank americanb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Our first stay at this hotel-- found a good deal on Groupon. We brought our 7 month old Brittany Spaniel with us. The first night they assigned us to a cottage at street level. (the hotel is on one of the major streets of Avalon). There was also a lot of foot traffic (the hotel is just a couple dozen feet from the neighborhood Vons-- both a plus and a minus). Guests staying at the cottages uphill from us would hang out just outside our door waiting for their party. Needless to say it was a long and sleepless night for us between all the street noise and our puppy barking and growling.

We asked to be moved to a different room the next morning, and the staff were very helpful and moved us in to a "no pets allowed" room inside the Hermosa Hotel itself (because it was the only available room). That was really nice of them. We returned 1 month later with the dog and 2 teenagers in tow. We were given 2 cottages at the very top of the stairs (as far from the street as they could give us). We were warned though that "sound travels up", however we did not find that the street noise bothered us this time.

The cottages are very simple & utilitarian-- bedroom and bathroom. The linens are threadbare. The tv is not even worth watching, as reception is sometimes poor (who goes to an island to watch tv anyways?). The ceiling fans are hit or miss-- one of the rooms we stayed in had a really noisy/creaky ceiling fan. Dont expect airconditioning here, as all cottages dont have them. In the summer it can get hot in the middle of the day...

One of our cottages had a kitchen which was very basic-- stove, sink, small refrigerator. It was a good idea though for bigger groups hoping to save money on food (remember the Vons grocery is just a couple dozen feet away)

The staff is always friendly and very helpful when you ask for directions or assistance in booking activities. Very pleased with the customer service.I would recommend this place to people looking for very budget friendly accommodations in Avalon, and also those traveling with a pet.

Room Tip: Make sure to stay away from the cottages at street level
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank alhambramd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangevale, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Back in October my girlfriends and I who had never been to Catalina finally made our trip possible. One thing I for sure wanted to do was to see if the Hermosa Hotel was still there. Back in 1955 my parents stayed there for one of their many anniversaries. I had a picture of the hotel as well as one of my mother by a fountain taken that year (1955) It was so exciting to see that it was in fact there. The staff at Hermosa were extremely helpful and kind. They showed my picture to the owner and he gave me a short tour of the cottages that had been added, his unique golf cart and gave the four of us free tickets to the museum.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank oldmotherhubbardx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Very helpful and accommodating staff. We stayed in the cottages, which are small but adequate. The cottage was clean and comfortable. We loved the package that we got. The hotel is very close to everything. We will return to Avalon.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoGuysInTahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
488 reviews
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.3 km away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
485 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
354 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#13 of 20 in Avalon
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermosa Hotel

Property: Hermosa Hotel
Address: 131 Metropole Street, PO Box 646, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hermosa Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hermosa is Catalina’s friendly, quaint, economy hotel located in the heart of Avalon half block from the beach and a short, flat walk from the boat landing. The Historic Hermosa Hotel has been serving guests of the island as far back as 1896 and, as was the style then, our rooms are small and simple. No thrills or frills- ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hermosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermosa Hotel Avalon
Hermosa Hotel Catalina Island, CA - Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing