We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
37
47
28
17
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
47
28
17
22
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2016 via mobile

The staff was the best and room was perfect. Reasonable rates and pet friendly. The staff went out of there to do things for us. Found out they don't rent out to visitors anymore it's only for there people. Have to go Hermos which we stayed only a few hours very dumpy. I want to go back but I hesitate but it's the only place that tame animals. I've gotten to different answers on the Hermosa. Want to go to Catalina In the worst way but I want the Boat House beautiful view from hotel where at the Hermosa no beautiful view of the island. So I'm still debating I'll be calling again.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LYNN ANN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

Room was extremely tiny. Stayed in room 5. When we arrived the room was not clean and there was blood on the toilet.

All that could have been tolerated just to preserve valentines day but the bed was broken. My husband and my backs are still in pain and in need of a visit to the chiropractor.

If this is the last hotel with vacancy, pick a different week to come to Catalina. There was no front desk, if you want an extra towel, you need to bring your own, and the shower/tub is deeply stained with a look of complete and utter disgust.

Like i said, we could have dealt with all of this if just we could have stayed in a bed not 40 years old with broken bed springs.

Stay away from this place.

Worst hotel experience ever!

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Maria7458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermosaHotel, Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Hello Maria,

It saddens us to hear that you had such an unpleasant stay with us. When your party contacted the front desk, many of these issues were not brought up. We hope that readers do not take the inaccuracy of your review to heart as we do have a front desk, we provide enough towels for our guests, and we rarely have issues with housekeeping.

It is true that our front desk will go unmanned throughout the day, but a front desk manager is just a phone call away. You utilized this system to reach us, according to our records. During this call, you only mentioned that the floor was dirty and you were missing the necessities of toilet paper and towels, so these issues were addressed. Had you brought it to our attention that your bed was so uncomfortable, we would have addressed this issue immediately.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Worth going two blocks uphill to have the place almost to ourselves, plus a lovely view of the harbor. Not only did we get upgraded to the nicest room, but also we were welcomed with complimentary tickets to the botanic gardens and glass bottom boat ride. The young men who helped us were as sweet and friendly as could be, even offering to bring us (no charge) to the botanic gardens in their golf cart. I suggest going in off season as the weather is still perfect; Avalon was less crowded; the hotel was quiet, with attentive service. Especially nice was having the kitchenette so we could make a few meals in our room, store cold water, and keep expenses down. As well, with the hotel having the partnership with the Hermosa Hotel meant we had somewhere to store our luggage after check out plus have a base to come to before catching the Catalina Express back to the mainland.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kymberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermosaHotel, Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2016

Hi Kymberly,

It pleases us to hear about your satisfactory stay with us! We're glad we were able to go above and beyond your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and share your experience with others!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2015

I selected this hotel for our party of four for the New Year's Eve holiday 2014/2015, and was amazed to find how unkempt it was, considering that it (and the Hermosa) were offered as a package by the Chamber of Commerce for the New Year's Eve gala at The Casino ballroom. The bed was comfortable and the linens seemed clean. We could see a sliver of the sunrise over the neighbors backyard junk from our room. So, unless all you need is a place to plop your fishing gear for the weekend, there ends what good there is to say. The walk up the hill can be strenuous; the stairway down to your room, treacherous. We could not find the beautiful outdoor patio. What we did find was a material storage patio for unfinished projects. Inside the room, the bathroom was small and grungy and not at all conducive to dressing for a formal occasion. I had a problem jump-starting the shower and called for help that never came. As one other reviewer put it...the staff is disconnected. Literally. There is no "staff" on the premises for a lot of the time, and I can't imagine one's chances for survival if there was an emergency. Bottom line, unless you are on a strictly sporting holiday and do not require aesthetic comforts and intangibles, there are better places to stay.

Room tip: No good rooms here
Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermosaHotel, Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2015

Hello Edward,

It saddens us to hear about your unsatisfying stay with us. The Catalina Boat House Hotel went through a large remodel in 2014 and took advantage of the slower time during the winter to get some more remodeling out of the way before our peak season came around again. We apologize at how this effected your stay with us. We are still constantly renovating our property, but the major remodeling has been completed and we are proud to serve our guests with a more clean and welcoming property! Although we are unable to control our neighbor's backyards, we gladly have a community patio with an ocean view to help take you away from these minor distractions.

It is odd that our staff failed to help you with your issue. We often tell our guests to go out and enjoy the island while we take care of any maintenance needs, so our guests sometimes will not physically see someone fixing things such as showers. Guests will come back and have their problems solved without any further inconveniences or waiting around for someone to show up! We apologize if that wasn't what happened in regards to your shower issues.

We hope that with this knowledge, you give us another chance in the future to see what improvements have been made!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2015

Wow I've stayed in hotels fitting adjectives ranging from Bad to Awesome. Well, sad to report our room at the boathouse was Awful.

My poor hubby had to stay there for 10 days while I arrived at the tail end of his stay.

We had to walk downstairs a couple flights then turn left at the junkyard. The only maintained part of the exterior was the "lobby" aka front porch. The room was as small as small gets which wouldn't have been so bad if it were at least renovated -- per their claims. The room's flooring was only partially wood and it wasn't finished wood either. In fact the floor wasnt even level. The door opens immediately into a smurf size kitchen area which holds a fridge and a two burner stove. The two beds' comforters were dusty. The microwave was oddly in the middle of the room with a box of kleenex on top that was literally had been pulled out and re-stuffed.

The bathroom was dingy and tiny, with a permanent yellow tinge in the toilet which definitely wasn't pee. The hot side of the faucet pushed out rusty orange water which resembled burnt Tang. And the shower was so tight, even I had trouble not bumping into things.

The a/c was temperamental. The window drapes didn't close fully and we had to tape em shut with e-tape.

They had a handwritten sign saying basically that WiFi sucks so don't call the front desk about it, instead you can hang out in the lobby 24/7. You are SOL my friend.

Yes it was a place to shower and sleep but wow, this was easily on my list of worst hotel rooms ever. I know that sounds very elementary but I can't articulate it any other way.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rho K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermosaHotel, Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2015

Hello Rho,

We apologize that your husband's stay (covered by business) was so unsatisfactory that you have decided to repost this review months later. As explained in a previous response, there were some things that made you uncomfortable that could have been brought to the front desk staff's attention. We would have solved your issues as best to our ability and you and your husband would have had a more comfortable work trip. Thank you for taking the time to leave another review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews