We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all the comforts of home”
Review of The Old Turner Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Turner Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Avalon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 October 2012

this trip was a birthday surprise for me , i had a wonderfull time here we"ve been to other bed @breakfeast, but this was the most comfortable, coffe at 7am then breakfeast, we had yogurt every morning w granola that kathleen made herself, we brought every one in the family a bag.we also had bacon,sausages,eggs bagels ,assorted jams, fruits like strawberrys,peaches and kiwi.we loved talking to kathleens mom and dad,stories of thier past was like being home when our family would get together,and tell storys of the past. every where we walked we were never to far from the inn, we were about a block away from the green pier, we had tacos from the santrap for a dollar between 2 and 7pm. we had dinner at antonios, the pizza was pretty good i look forward to returning soon

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DONALDW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 114 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2012

Perfect! Christa, Kathleen, Dave, and Bill make the Old Turner Inn the place to stay in Avalon. They know the Island; especially Bill who recently celebrated his 95th and ran the Sears Catalog Store on the Island for decades until the company ended the catalog. We visited for almost a week - a tasty, filling, and different hot breakfast every morning. Ideal location, a couple of blocks from Avalon's dense "downtown", so it was quiet at nights but not far from the action. The Innkeepers are there for you, ready to help you make decisions about what to do. And there's a TON to do on the island. But back to the Inn. Not twee or fancy, not spare and rustic. Absolutely comfy. And importantly, firm beds. I tried hard to think of something critical to say to bolster the credibility of my review. The best I can come up with is that you have to ask for a hair dryer. Old Turner Inn easily gets a well-deserved Tripadvisor Five.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BirdBikingBuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary on Catalina thanks to our kids. We attempted to book a room for a 1-night stay, but much to our surprise, 99.9% of all hotels require a 2-night minimum. I stumbled across The Old Turner Inn on line, sent them an e-mail late at night inquiring on a room and got a response the very next morning. Our host, Christa asked approx what time we would be arriving and said upon arrival we could park our luggage there until our room was ready. Check-in is 4:00pm and we arrived at 11:30am. Much to our surprise, our room was ready! We had the Garden Room on the 1st floor and were amazed at how nice it was. Very comfortable and homey with all the amenities nessesary and more. We brought our bikes to the island and they let us park them on the side. Christa was extremely polite and made us feel at home. She informed us that there would be some snacks to eat between 5-6:30pm, but we were doing the zip-oine and missed out. The next morning, coffee was waiting, followed by a very tasty breakfast. Check-out time was at 11:00am but our boat didn't leave until 6:00pm. Christa told us we could stow our luggage under the piano in the front room and to come back and relax anytime before our boat departed. We took the H-1 Hummer East End tour for 2 hours, then came back to the hotel to change into beach attire. Christa loaned us hotel towels and a couple of beach chairs! What other place would extend such hospitality after check-out? All-in-all, it was a wonderful stay and we will return to The Old TUrner in someday, in addition to highly recommending it to all of our friends and family. ~Kendall Nix~

Room Tip: Garden Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kendall N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

The Old Turner Inn is a very nice place to stay for those looking for a homey, laid-back inn in Avalon. The Inn is also a great affordable option for those who don't need to be right on the beach, but can enjoy a short walk to get there. My husband and I stayed there for our honeymoon, and found it a comfortable place to unwind from the last few days of busyness.
Both Christa and Kathleen were excellent hosts, and gave us helpful suggestions regarding restaurants and activities on the island. We briefly met the Inn's owners who explained to us the history behind some of the photographs adorning the sitting room, and made sure we had postcards to send to our families. The breakfasts were very good. I had one of the best quiches I've ever had one morning when Christa was hosting.
We stayed in the Wicker Room, which was bright and pretty, with pink walls and honey-colored wicker furniture. This room is a bit small, but was comfortable. I couldn't help but peek into the larger suites (Queen, King, and Seashell), which looked clean and airy. If I return to visit Avalon again, I would stay at the Old Turner again, possibly in the Seashell room.

Room Tip: Many visitors stay for just a couple of nights, so if you plan to stay longer, make your reservation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HikerGatherer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My boyfriend took me on my first trip to Catalina, and due to our schedule (we had a concert that Friday night in LA), it was almost impossible to find lodging for one night during the island's peak season. Luckily, he found the Old Turner Inn.

This B&B is located literally steps away from the main street in town, which makes it super convenient...it's far enough away that there are no tourists loitering underfoot, but close enough to easily run back and forth when your plans change/you forget something.

The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. Christa allowed us to leave our bags with the Inn (and even check in a tad early) due to our schedule. Kathleen was very outgoing and gave good (and honest) restaurant recommendations.

The complimentary appetizers and wine were nice and afforded us an opportunity to socialize with the other guests (and even the sweet owners, who regaled us with tales of their past). Breakfast in the morning was delicious as well (homemade cinnamon granola!) and a welcome break from paying island cafe prices.

The only thing keeping me from giving the Old Turner Inn 5 stars is simply that it is not a 5 star property. It is a quaint, small bed & breakfast through and through...the decor is eclectic and shows its age, and is typical of a small maritime inn. For some this is exactly that for which what they are looking; others may find it less appealing.

We stayed in the Wicker Room, which had tons of light and yet seemed constantly pleasant as far as temperature was concerned (we were pleasantly surprised to find a ceiling fan as well as working floor fans and bathroom vent). Our bathroom tub drained slowly, but that is to be expected in a home of its age.

On a side note: it is very sad that this must be added, but I feel it's important to mention that my boyfriend and I were a little trepidatious in booking a small home inn without knowing any of their feelings about LGBT guests. Any fears were put to shame by the warmth and kindness of the staff and guests. We felt welcome the entire time, and the staff went above and beyond to ensure our comfort and enjoyment of the island.

We would definitely stay at the Old Turner Inn on another trip to Avalon.

Room Tip: Wicker Room is quiet and bright. We also saw King and Queen Suites, which have a separate ante-room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.3 km away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
671 reviews
0.3 km away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
517 reviews
0.2 km away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
317 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#16 of 20 in Avalon
373 reviews
0.2 km away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#15 of 20 in Avalon
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Turner Inn

Address: 232 Catalina Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Avalon
Price Range: €122 - €183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is nothing like the staying at The Old Turner Inn. You'll feel connected to the Island by being hosted by a family that has had roots here since 1878. Located in the heart of Avalon, just one short block from the waterfront, beaches, shops & restaurants, this immaculately kept Cape Cod structure reveals a balance of comfort and elegance to its guests. Sunny sitting porches, in-room fireplaces, private bathrooms, antiques, gallery quality artwork of Catalina scenes, historic family photos, and a grand piano combined with our full, scrumptious hot breakfast and friendly staff... Together, they set the mood for a unique, romantic and relaxing Island getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Turner Hotel Avalon
The Old Turner Inn Catalina Island, CA - Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing