We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pavilion Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Portofino Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aurora Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$279
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$324/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$308
US$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 42% below average rates

The price you found is 42% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$341/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$205
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$313
US$302
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mac Rae(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$245
US$237
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$268
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
The Avalon Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$391
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Mariquita Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$313
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Catalina Island Inn(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$268
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,186)
Filter reviews
1,186 results
Traveller rating
851
264
46
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
851
264
46
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitwine and cheesecatalina islandwine hourlounge chairsevery afternoonvoss waterturn down servicezip linecontinental breakfastperfect locationcatalina expressoutdoor seatinggarden areabagelsstarbucks coffeepeople watching
Filter
Updating list...
919 - 924 of 1,186 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We loved the Pavillion Hotel grounds. The rooms are centered around a tropical courtyard sanctuary where you can relax on very comfy chaise lounges and bask in the warm sun while sipping on some cold beers. The courtyard provides a good windbreak from the seabreezes which can be chilly in April...so it was very pleasant and peaceful (no noise from the golf carts either!) Our 2nd floor king size room was extremely comfortable and the amenities are more than adequate. The front of the hotel looks out on the water and main street. We enjoyed having shaded tables/chairs to relax on (an indoor area is also available for cooler temps.) Curious visitors walking past us gazed in on us enviously while we enjoyed ourselves in comfort. Loved the ample breakfast (including made-to-order lattes!) The wine and cheese reception in the evenings was also a pleasant surprise. However, the best deal yet was the Ultimate Package. We were able to zipline (scary but fun!), do the very interesting behind the scenes Casino tour, the Skyline Bus tour (saw a herd of buffallos up close and personal!), mini-golf, and movie. These tours (and more to choose from) were all included and more than made up for the cost of the room! Friendly and helpful staff as well.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EDHMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Pavilion Hotel in Avalon. Not luxurious by any means, but clean and comfortable. No yucky bed spreads - nice white sheets over a duvet. Free continental breakfast and snack around 4:30. But the best part is....we bought the "Unlimited Package" which included boat from Long Beach, 2 nights hotel rental, 2 zip lines, and a whole bunch of other tours and activities around the island. I think that the outfit that owns the Pavilion (and also, the Atwater, but we did NOT hear good things about it) owns or is in cahoots with most of the tour companies so we got special deals. The zip line itself is supposed to cost $113 per person! Our activities:

1. the East End tour -- ask for the guide named Bear....he was the best!
2. the submarine tour (awesome)
3. the City Tour - guide Becky...not so awesome....could barely understand what she said, not friendly at all
4. movie at the 100 year old thearte in the Casino. Be aware there is only one movie per day at 7:30. Organ player only there Friday and Saturday nights and Sundays when "he feels like it" but pretty amazing especially for the little ones. We got there at 6:30 when the organ player is supposed to begin but we were way too early. Half an hour of organ playing is more than enough. Also, no cup holders!
5. added on a Segway trip to the Nature Center -- great, great! (but not incuded in the Unlimited Package)
6. the zipline....guides Denny and Eric were incredible!

When you book tours, ask to see a map of the routes. I know that Avalon is not that big but we ended up hearing some info 3 or 4 times just in the 3 days we were there. There are lots of other free choices!

It was so cold when we were there (April) so we didn't experience any water sports but the beach at Descanso looks great. It is a private beach that the public can go to.....no one seemed to understand what that meant. Drinks and food on the beach. All over Avalon, there is kayaking, snorkeling, scuba diving, paddle boarding, etc. Lots of people were braving the 50 degree ocean water temperatures but we were not among them. Sometimes, we would have to head back to our warm room at the Pavilion just to ward off the chills!

Be sure to go to Monday Pasta Night at the Buffalo Nickle. It was the best meal we had! If you go to the Catherine Hotel, there is a sign in the middle of the street. Call the phone # and they will come pick you up!

All in all....a great vacation for a mom and an 11 year old daughter. I hadn't been there in over 20 years and it sure has changed.....for the better!

Room Tip: I don't honesly think that there are "better" rooms.....maybe one closer to the back so that it is quieter? But I think any room would be great!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGfromtheLBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Had a great time at the Pavilion! The best location, clean and relaxing!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliveol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This hotel and the grounds are amazing. With the best location in Avalon, you are literally looking out on the ocean and about 20 steps from the sand. The hotel entrance is along the main "frontage road" along the shore. The grounds set this hotel apart. The landscaping and gardens are incredible. Fresh oranges and water with lime are available at any time. Starbucks coffee in both the rooms and the eating area. The eating area has sofas, coffee tables, eating tables, books, and beautiful decor. The rooms are immaculate and bright. There are a dozen different types of cheese offered with lemonade or wine in the afternoons. We checked out a DVD player and movie the first night of our stay. There is a closet with shelves, which we used as a pantry, and a mini refrigerator under the sink counter. There is no shortage of hot water. The beds and pillows are extremely comfortable. The staff are friendly and accomodating and treat you like royalty. You can make arrangements for activities at the front desk. The Casino is about a 15-minute walk away, and two Vons grocery stores are within a five-minute walking distance. We were so comfortable here.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs to avoid the sound of people walking around.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

My daughter (age 23) and I visited Catalina Island in March 2012 and stayed at the Pavilion hotel. The recently remodeled hotel was wonderful...tastefully decorated with comfortable rooms, a lovely courtyard with flowering tropical plants and umbrellas and lounges. It has the perfect location right on the beach and is just a short walk (2 blocks) from the Catalina Express pier. The staff was outstanding. Salvador kept an eye out for a movie we were waiting to see and called us directly when the movie was returned! We had inadvertently left two items in our room which Juana made sure were mailed to us at home. We enjoyed all the activities included in the Unlimited Plus package keeping ourselves entertained with the undersea tour, unlimited movie rentals and miniature golf, zip line adventure, and free admission to the Avalon Movie Theater. The complimentary continental breakfast and wine and cheese paring in the afternoon were delicious. I highly recommend lodging at the Pavilion hotel and will definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank txdenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews