We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Tropical”
Review of Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
irvine
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Warm and Tropical”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed at the newly remodeled Pavilion Hotel in Avalon Bay during a weekend getaway for two nights. Like the other reviewers said, this place is very clean and one of the nicer hotels by the beach (and by the beach, it literally is only steps away from the sand) and on conveniently located on the strip where all the shops and restaurants are (Crescent Dr.) and a 10 minute walk from Catalina Express harbor. The staff was real friendly and the facilities were always very clean. Very well maintained. Lots of outdoor patio seating with a BBQ pit, lots of tropical trees, a wine bar, and I love how they always had chilled water outside for guests, daily continental breakfast, and cheese/wine in the afternoons. The unlimited package is very worthwhile, as it includes a free eco zipline per night of your stay, some tours, tickets to the movie theatre (we watched Hunger Games) and you also get free movie rentals/ipad rentals. I would have given this place 5 stars, but we had some issues with the toilet that kept on backing up after maintenance fixed it (i think the toilets might be older) and the beds were smaller than we expected. Otherwise, I would stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frances c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    789
    245
    39
    14
    10
See reviews for
296
490
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We loved the Pavillion Hotel grounds. The rooms are centered around a tropical courtyard sanctuary where you can relax on very comfy chaise lounges and bask in the warm sun while sipping on some cold beers. The courtyard provides a good windbreak from the seabreezes which can be chilly in April...so it was very pleasant and peaceful (no noise from the golf carts either!) Our 2nd floor king size room was extremely comfortable and the amenities are more than adequate. The front of the hotel looks out on the water and main street. We enjoyed having shaded tables/chairs to relax on (an indoor area is also available for cooler temps.) Curious visitors walking past us gazed in on us enviously while we enjoyed ourselves in comfort. Loved the ample breakfast (including made-to-order lattes!) The wine and cheese reception in the evenings was also a pleasant surprise. However, the best deal yet was the Ultimate Package. We were able to zipline (scary but fun!), do the very interesting behind the scenes Casino tour, the Skyline Bus tour (saw a herd of buffallos up close and personal!), mini-golf, and movie. These tours (and more to choose from) were all included and more than made up for the cost of the room! Friendly and helpful staff as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDHMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Pavilion Hotel in Avalon. Not luxurious by any means, but clean and comfortable. No yucky bed spreads - nice white sheets over a duvet. Free continental breakfast and snack around 4:30. But the best part is....we bought the "Unlimited Package" which included boat from Long Beach, 2 nights hotel rental, 2 zip lines, and a whole bunch of other tours and activities around the island. I think that the outfit that owns the Pavilion (and also, the Atwater, but we did NOT hear good things about it) owns or is in cahoots with most of the tour companies so we got special deals. The zip line itself is supposed to cost $113 per person! Our activities:

1. the East End tour -- ask for the guide named Bear....he was the best!
2. the submarine tour (awesome)
3. the City Tour - guide Becky...not so awesome....could barely understand what she said, not friendly at all
4. movie at the 100 year old thearte in the Casino. Be aware there is only one movie per day at 7:30. Organ player only there Friday and Saturday nights and Sundays when "he feels like it" but pretty amazing especially for the little ones. We got there at 6:30 when the organ player is supposed to begin but we were way too early. Half an hour of organ playing is more than enough. Also, no cup holders!
5. added on a Segway trip to the Nature Center -- great, great! (but not incuded in the Unlimited Package)
6. the zipline....guides Denny and Eric were incredible!

When you book tours, ask to see a map of the routes. I know that Avalon is not that big but we ended up hearing some info 3 or 4 times just in the 3 days we were there. There are lots of other free choices!

It was so cold when we were there (April) so we didn't experience any water sports but the beach at Descanso looks great. It is a private beach that the public can go to.....no one seemed to understand what that meant. Drinks and food on the beach. All over Avalon, there is kayaking, snorkeling, scuba diving, paddle boarding, etc. Lots of people were braving the 50 degree ocean water temperatures but we were not among them. Sometimes, we would have to head back to our warm room at the Pavilion just to ward off the chills!

Be sure to go to Monday Pasta Night at the Buffalo Nickle. It was the best meal we had! If you go to the Catherine Hotel, there is a sign in the middle of the street. Call the phone # and they will come pick you up!

All in all....a great vacation for a mom and an 11 year old daughter. I hadn't been there in over 20 years and it sure has changed.....for the better!

Room Tip: I don't honesly think that there are "better" rooms.....maybe one closer to the back s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGfromtheLBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Had a great time at the Pavilion! The best location, clean and relaxing!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliveol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This hotel and the grounds are amazing. With the best location in Avalon, you are literally looking out on the ocean and about 20 steps from the sand. The hotel entrance is along the main "frontage road" along the shore. The grounds set this hotel apart. The landscaping and gardens are incredible. Fresh oranges and water with lime are available at any time. Starbucks coffee in both the rooms and the eating area. The eating area has sofas, coffee tables, eating tables, books, and beautiful decor. The rooms are immaculate and bright. There are a dozen different types of cheese offered with lemonade or wine in the afternoons. We checked out a DVD player and movie the first night of our stay. There is a closet with shelves, which we used as a pantry, and a mini refrigerator under the sink counter. There is no shortage of hot water. The beds and pillows are extremely comfortable. The staff are friendly and accomodating and treat you like royalty. You can make arrangements for activities at the front desk. The Casino is about a 15-minute walk away, and two Vons grocery stores are within a five-minute walking distance. We were so comfortable here.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs to avoid the sound of people walking around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
497 reviews
0.3 km away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
490 reviews
0.3 km away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.4 km away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
281 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#13 of 20 in Avalon
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Hotel

Property: Pavilion Hotel
Address: 513 Crescent Ave., PO Box 737, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#1 Family Hotel in Avalon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pavilion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary room amenities include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, concierge service, continental breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese social, outdoor lounge with fire ring, movies, Blue Ray players & iPads for checkout, 37" flat screen TVs, HBO & Showtime movie channels, wireless Internet, iHome music centers, priority cabana/chaise reservations at Descanso Beach Club, priority table reservations at Avalon Grille, priority reservations at Island Spa Catalina, Starbucks coffee and tea, and in-room safes, refrigerators, irons, ironing boards & hair dryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Lodge Catalina
Pavilion Lodge Avalon
Pavilion Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Lodge Pavilion
Pavilion Hotel Catalina Island, CA - Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing