We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Catalina Island Inn(Avalon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,175)
Filter reviews
1,175 results
Traveller rating
843
263
44
15
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
843
263
44
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitwine and cheesecatalina islandwine hourlounge chairsevery afternoonvoss waterturn down servicezip linecontinental breakfastperfect locationcatalina expressoutdoor seatingbagelsgarden areastarbucks coffeepeople watching
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
920 - 925 of 1,175 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The Pavilion Hotel is an easy 5 or 10 minute walk from the Catalina Express pier. It is located across the street from the harbor, along the crescent that connects the pier with the hotels, restaurants, Casino, and Descanso Beach along the waterfront.

The staff is uniformly friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and comfortable, with down comforters and pillows, the wine and cheese at 4 PM each afternoon is great, and the continental breakfast each morning is fine (the toasters are a little slow, allow about 15 minutes if you want toast.)

The garden area is beautiful, and the firepit was nice at night and early morning. We visited in March, before peak season, and the atmosphere was totally relaxing. Like a mini Hawaii.

Save a bunch on the most popular Avalon tours by booking the Unlimited package, we paid about $600 for 2 nights with tours.

Room Tip: Only two levels, ground and upstairs. Upstairs rooms are less expensive, if you don't mind a little exercise.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkBeWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Good breakfast, great service, great location, rooms are cozy, beautiful courtyard, stayed here with our 3 kids and truly enjoyed ourselves. However, way too much money, but hey it's Catalina. Paid approx $750.00 for 2 nights

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lovebeingadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed three nites at the Pavilion, thoroughly enjoyed it and would return. The hotel is a ten minute walk from the ferry dock, was recently renovated and the staff is helpful, courteous and pleasant to deal with. I particularly note Salvador who helped as at check in, check out and several times in between. Jose O. looked after us very efficiently at the breakfast buffet and makes a great cappuccino on request. Incidentally the so-called continental breakfast buffet is one of the best I've had in that category. In addition there is a complimentary wine and cheese tasting; four small samples of distinctive cheeses plus a choice of red or white, and a second glass of wine was usually available. Five of the six wines offered over three days were very drinkable. The grounds are lush, well planted and have places to sit to enjoy the surroundings, the ocean and mountains while loafing, having breakfast outside or during the wine & cheese offering.

A great place to visit and get away from the crush of our modern world

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms have a small patio; upstairs rooms a bit of a view, but also individuals passing your window
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I would like to thank all the staff at the pavilion hotel for giving me and my wife such a enjoyable time.On my wife's birthday when we returned from the zipline tour they had left us champane and flowers for my wife with a card signed by the staff ,i thought this was incrediblie thoughtful of them to do so and showed what a truly freindly and peaceful environment they have created there .I will definetly be making a return trip to stay with them. thank you all very much.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Hotel is one of the closest walks from the Catalina Express dock. Hotel staff was extremely friendly and nice.

Rooms could of been a little cleaner in the bathroom (found hair in the tub).

Complimentary wine and cheese from 4-4:40pm, and fun fire pit to sit and relax. We brought our own champagne and enjoyed it at the fire later in the evening and met other fun guests and chatted.

We booked the package deal for zip line, dinner, and boat and made a great weekend trip out of it.

Once we check out the next day, the great staff held our luggage while we explored the island the following day.

Room Tip: I say no need to really upgrade to the patio since they are not secluded and if you walk a couple steps they have a large open grass area with lounges and tables and chairs anyways for everyone to use.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ARS819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews