We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room, great location, attentive staff”
Review of Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful room, great location, attentive staff”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I had never been to Catalina Island, but I took a chance on this hotel largely because of the good reviews. I was not disappointed; on the contrary I would stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend it to my friends.
I stayed overnight here with my daughter and we took advantage of the 4 PM wine and cheese tasting, the free breakfast, (which included juices, fresh fruit, breads, muffins, sweet rolls, cereal, yogurt, granola, and Starbucks coffee) and the free Wifi. We sat outside at the patio for our breakfast, looking over the Pacific. There's a pedestrian walkway dividing the hotel from the beach, maybe with an occasional golf cart passing by.
We walked here from the pier. I had rollers on my suitcase and my daughter carried her overnight bag. The hotel kindly stored our bags for us while we went snorkeling because we arrived before check-in. Then a room became available and we were allowed to check in at 1:00. The next day, the hotel again stored our bags for us (since our boat didn't leave until 4:30 PM) and the staff member in charge of the luggage room said that they would take our bags to the pier for us if we wanted. Since it was just a short walk away (about 2 blocks) we took the bags ourselves.
Our room was well appointed with frig, large flat-panel TV, hair dryer, and the best cottony towels I've ever had in a hotel. Comfy beds and pillows, not too hard, not too soft.
If I were to go again, I'd get the package with the Zipline Eco Tour. We did the zip line the second day of our stay, but I had booked it separately. My daughter found out later that we could have booked a package with the hotel and zip line together.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaCrosseLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    245
    39
    14
    10
See reviews for
295
489
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The Pavilion Hotel is an easy 5 or 10 minute walk from the Catalina Express pier. It is located across the street from the harbor, along the crescent that connects the pier with the hotels, restaurants, Casino, and Descanso Beach along the waterfront.

The staff is uniformly friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and comfortable, with down comforters and pillows, the wine and cheese at 4 PM each afternoon is great, and the continental breakfast each morning is fine (the toasters are a little slow, allow about 15 minutes if you want toast.)

The garden area is beautiful, and the firepit was nice at night and early morning. We visited in March, before peak season, and the atmosphere was totally relaxing. Like a mini Hawaii.

Save a bunch on the most popular Avalon tours by booking the Unlimited package, we paid about $600 for 2 nights with tours.

Room Tip: Only two levels, ground and upstairs. Upstairs rooms are less expensive, if you don't mind a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkBeWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Good breakfast, great service, great location, rooms are cozy, beautiful courtyard, stayed here with our 3 kids and truly enjoyed ourselves. However, way too much money, but hey it's Catalina. Paid approx $750.00 for 2 nights

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovebeingadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed three nites at the Pavilion, thoroughly enjoyed it and would return. The hotel is a ten minute walk from the ferry dock, was recently renovated and the staff is helpful, courteous and pleasant to deal with. I particularly note Salvador who helped as at check in, check out and several times in between. Jose O. looked after us very efficiently at the breakfast buffet and makes a great cappuccino on request. Incidentally the so-called continental breakfast buffet is one of the best I've had in that category. In addition there is a complimentary wine and cheese tasting; four small samples of distinctive cheeses plus a choice of red or white, and a second glass of wine was usually available. Five of the six wines offered over three days were very drinkable. The grounds are lush, well planted and have places to sit to enjoy the surroundings, the ocean and mountains while loafing, having breakfast outside or during the wine & cheese offering.

A great place to visit and get away from the crush of our modern world

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms have a small patio; upstairs rooms a bit of a view, but also individuals passing y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I would like to thank all the staff at the pavilion hotel for giving me and my wife such a enjoyable time.On my wife's birthday when we returned from the zipline tour they had left us champane and flowers for my wife with a card signed by the staff ,i thought this was incrediblie thoughtful of them to do so and showed what a truly freindly and peaceful environment they have created there .I will definetly be making a return trip to stay with them. thank you all very much.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
495 reviews
0.3 km away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
490 reviews
0.3 km away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.4 km away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
280 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#13 of 20 in Avalon
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Hotel

Property: Pavilion Hotel
Address: 513 Crescent Ave., PO Box 737, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#1 Family Hotel in Avalon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pavilion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary room amenities include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, concierge service, continental breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese social, outdoor lounge with fire ring, movies, Blue Ray players & iPads for checkout, 37" flat screen TVs, HBO & Showtime movie channels, wireless Internet, iHome music centers, priority cabana/chaise reservations at Descanso Beach Club, priority table reservations at Avalon Grille, priority reservations at Island Spa Catalina, Starbucks coffee and tea, and in-room safes, refrigerators, irons, ironing boards & hair dryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Lodge Catalina
Pavilion Lodge Avalon
Pavilion Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Lodge Pavilion
Pavilion Hotel Catalina Island, CA - Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing